All parent member reviews for Degrassi

Parents say

(out of 66 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byTruthBeTold August 5, 2011
 

Not appropriate, nor educational, nor truly 'realistic'.

Many will advocate for the show, claiming that the depictions of such off-color and "gritty" themes as drugs and sex are "realistic". I think otherwise. While there are occasional consequences for actions, the simple fact that the show is depicting such drama at all as a means for entertainment is what's truly disturbing. This show is not educational in a realistic way. Many parents are getting confused, thinking that this show, meant for the entertainment of teenagers, has an educational undertone. The kids are not watching the show to learn that sex is wrong, or that drugs are bad -- on the contrary, they will be watching to see these depictions of sex and drugs. The drama in the show enraptures its audience, yes, but it's that same dramatic overtone that teenagers may be seeking out. They could see the drama brought on by such actions depicted on the show, and feel compelled to add that 'enriching' drama to their own lives by following suit. Let us not forget the 'invincibility fable', which states that young people feel that dangerous behaviors and actions won't have the same, or any, consequences for them. Those who advocate that the show is educational for teens, let alone appropriate, assume that teens who see the consequences of sex and drugs will be less likely to emulate, when the opposite is true. When teens, who often are plagued by the invincibility fable, watch such material, the likelihood of emulation is increased. Their peaked curiosity in the show's material combined with the innate feelings that tell them, "that won't happen to me; I'm different," leave the door open for the teen to replicate what they witness. Don't be fooled by parents who state that the show is educational or appropriate. It isn't true. Such subject matter should be taught at length in a constructive manner by caretakers, one-on-one, not by relying on this skewed show to teach them the "realities of the world".
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byactive parenting 101 April 9, 2008
 

Too Much Too Soon

...A beautiful high school girl drinks alcohol so that she could relax enough to have sex with her boyfriend. The boyfriend just got out of jail, and as a result of being in jail, the boy dropped out of high school. Also, the girl throws a party when her parents were out of town. The party got out of control and a boy was stabbed, then later died. Overall, the show has bad messages it sends to kids under 17.
Parent of a 13 year old Written bydechu December 21, 2010
 

If perfect role modeling is everyone do each other, same or opposite sex, stay drunk, do drugs, than its perfect

Not sure why people would pay for child pornography when this on our childrens channel!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 year old Written byvcb August 6, 2009
 

WAY too much sex.

Sorry, as a parent...I think this show has WAAAYYY too much sex for even young teens. The problem is I didn't find out until after my 11 year old son had watched it several times. The "N" (Nickleodeon) should be far more responsible than this....parents, make sure you know what's in this show before letting your child, tween, or young teen watch it.
Parent Written byShugocharafan88 February 14, 2013
 

Uh huh. When I woke up one morning i saw snow outside and i was like, "SNOW!!!" Then I ran outside in my pajamas and did a nosedive right into the snow. Then i was cold DX I live in NC too XD

whats a hackpack?
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byEdu-Parent July 30, 2010
 

Educationally Vogue; Refreshingly Original; A Parental Doorway to Your Children's World

My teens are fans of this show and if a parent takes the time to watch it with their children, they find that it is hitting picture perfect on the issues that kids face at school. Unfortunately, we'd all like to think that our children are perfect and their friends, bullies, and other kids at school are perfect angels, but reality reminds us that we all faced similar issues at much younger ages than our parents would have wished. The truth is, we can either educate our children by spending time with them and talking about issues seen on this show (while experiencing some entertainment from the excellent writing, acting, and situational realism), or we can return to the void of ignorance and let our teens face these issues totally alone and unguided. I prefer to raise issues of concern rather than conceal them or ignore them the way other parents' choose. Additionally, the program's cast of characters afford the show some credibility in giving us a youth universe that is anything but picture perfect; a student body of real relational characters; and a set of problems that most teens are going to face every day in their lives. Finally, I think parents need to reconsider this show as a way to broach hard topics, while still providing an enormous benefit as something worthwhile on an increasingly bare content, commercial-flooded, and highly uneducational universe of television. In my firm opinion Degrassi has the content to be placed with PBS, the Science Channel, and such places that contain worthwhile programming. Though I believe that the best thing one can do is turn off the television and spend quality family time with one another, when my teens do watch, I want them to watch programs exactly like Degrassi: The Next Generation.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byDogcrazed February 22, 2011
 

Too sexual, very druggy, yeah just not good...

Really don't like this show. Too sexual, too much drug usage and drinking. Ok so there might be some consequences for their actions, but I think it puts too many ideas in kids heads and there's too many younger teens sucked into it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written byroyalblue246 August 8, 2010
 
Adult Written bypizza31 June 22, 2010
 

Don't watch, for your own good

Why does anyone actually WATCH this show? I mean, a stupid character gets eggs or something splattered all over him at school and the next day he's still soaked in the yolk, brings a gun to school, and almost kills a classmate, plus killing himself. A character gets RAPED. Oh, and my eight-year old sister was scared to go to bed after she saw that dumb guy shoot his classmate (What? The show was only rated PG!). Sounds too depressing to actually watch a whole dang episode.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 14 year old Written byperk66 February 7, 2010
 
To rate this show as "on" for 14 + is ridiculous, Degrassi paints the picture that teen sex is o.k. The February 5, 2010 episode shows a young high school girl opening her blouse to a boy, then kissing him as they stand backstage at a school event. I'm so tired of creators of teen shows cramming sexuality down viewers throats and sending the message that in order to be "grown-up" you need to be dealing with issues of sex. Can we get a grip? We should be teaching our teen girls that they don't have to "put put" just to get the guy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 3 year old Written bykristinflowers2004 March 20, 2009
 

Not a show for kids...

Well for one I consider my self conservative when it comes to children and tv. I accidently caught this on my tv when I woke up one moring, I was getting dressed and listening to it in the background, and I was shocked. I looked at what station this show was on, and it was on a kids channel. So I sat down and kept watching. There are 2 guys on the show that make out and ended up " falling in love " with each other on the show, and yes they are all in high school. Its like a younger 90210 but more deeper if you ask me. All they talk about is sex. This in NOT something I want my kid watching. Thats the problem with today.. These kids are learning about sex from tv, instead of it being taught and explained by the parents.
Adult Written bysleepymom April 9, 2008
 

Strongly Caution...Parents Need to Watch

I really believe this is a show that should be restricted to ages 16 up ...I watched several episodes and don't think they are appropriate for "tweens" or young teens. Yes, I agree that teaching teens about sex, drugs etc can be an educational tool but for example the "eye of the tiger" episode I watched today included a actor using a penis pump...not something I consider educational. There's a line and Degrassi really crosses it much too often. Parents need to watch several episodes too really see what this show is like..not good in my opinion and I'm pretty liberal.
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
 

so bad

it is very bad for children there is cellphones!!
Parent of a 3, 11, and 16 year old Written bySusan Wallkins June 14, 2013
 

Horrible Show

This show is not for anyone. Every episode encourages people to get drunk, pregnant, and do illegal things. If I ever caught any of my kids watching this show they would have big punishments and a long talk about how this show is too inappropriate. I've seen one episode and it clearly encourages sex as an everyday thing. I don't know what medication the writers/ and or producers of this show are taking. They are sick. They show hardcore sex scenes and kill off characters every season. I'm afraid if any kid saw this they would be afraid to grow up because this is what their future will consist of which is not true. This show is scaring kids worldwide and rotting the nation. This show should be put off immediately and the writers should be checked into mental hospitals.
Parent Written byAngelistic-101 March 13, 2014
 

Probably the best "reality" show out there

I never thought in a million years that I would ever get into Degrassi. I'm not really into reality shows, and considering how old the series is, I'm still surprised that I jumped on the bandwagon. Degrassi has got to be the biggest breath of fresh air I've had in my life. It talks about so many serious and important topics that many reality shows tend to forget or avoid. Topics range from teen pregnancy to sexual identity, to even more dark and serious matters, like rape. Degrassi does a fantastic job on educating teens on important topics, and it teaches very important lessons that teens should carry for the rest of their lives. The rating for this show might be a little inaccurate, depending on your child. Due to the nature of this show, I don't think anyone under 14 should watch this show. Keep in mind there is a lot of sex and suggestive material in this, so this show could influence some teens. But watching with your child is always a good idea. I'm not sure about the newer seasons ('cause I'm still pretty behind on the series) but so far the early seasons, like seasons 1-10, are packed with great messages! The only thing that bugs me is the outfits that some of the characters wear. There's still a bit of skimpy, sexy stuff to look out for, but a good talk reminding your children about their self-worth and self-respect should help them remember that they don't have to dress like the characters in Degrassi in order to feel good about themselves. Overall I give Degrassi a big fat thumbs up for keeping it real! ♥
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bydawnmac November 12, 2011
 

Inappropriate should make you angry

Happened upon this a few years ago and was appalled. They would show this right after the kiddy shows and completely catch us parents off guard. What I saw was a teen girl acting very provocatively in front of her boyfriend who was holding a video camera, she was going to strip for him. Also I saw a girl who was distressed because she thought she was pregnant. I am sorry, but I don't want my kids watching this. Sex in the media is already the problem in the U.S., I'm sure there is a moral to the story but I feel that when kids see this stuff it only reinforces the "normalcy" of it all.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8 year old Written bygreytabby April 5, 2011
 

this show is terrible

hate it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bytayjoegris March 15, 2011
 

My favorite show

this show is great for kids that are the same age as the character because it is a realistic portrayal of life in middle and high school or at least that is what high school was like when i was in it 5 years ago
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 and 15 year old Written byCherokee_7_crissy July 19, 2010
 
NO WAY!!!!! Not positive for kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 and 19 year old Written byrainydayqueen August 25, 2009
 
This show is disgusting.There is lots of sexual content and drinking.For instance a girl breaks up with her boyfriend to go to a movie premiere with her friend and tells her they are going to look 'hot' and starts lap dancing her.When they go to the premiere they break into the after party by one girl kissing the other on the cheek and complaining about a false strip club job and explains to her friend they got in because they were hot.They then start dancing innapropriately to get attention.They make out in one girls bedroom later and they get together.In another episode a girl takes racy pictures of her in bikini and lingerie by a classmate who tries to bring out 'the sex goddess' in her by selling ot pictures to a mystery adult man who confronts her on the street.A girl desides to get plastic surgery and shows up to a school dance beyond drunk and gets kicked out of the house.This show is disgusting and i don't want anyone to watch it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages