All teen and kid member reviews for Dragon Ball Z

Kids say

(out of 65 reviews)
age 10+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old October 14, 2011

Awesome Action, But Unnecessary Content Bring it Down

I am a 12 year old and I think this is an awesome show, but I must advertise the cons. NOTE: I have not watched this show on Cartoon Network, but I have seen these episodes online. The content specified in this review may have been censored, but this is something that needs to be known in case anything is not censored. First of all, this is Dragon Ball Z, not Dragon Ball Z Kai. DBZ is the original Japanese version, which is inappropriate for a lot of reasons. 1. There is a character Master Roshi, who has a VERY sexual approach to the female characters. In one of the episodes, Roshi happen to fall out a ship that the Z fighters were riding in, and Android 18 happened to rescue him. He thanked her by grabbing her chest area, and plunging his face in them. There are countless other occasions, but it is common seeing him with O.O type eyes, if you know what I mean. He also has a very vulgar, suggestive ways of saying things that most tweens wouldn't understand. 2. The Devil Symbols. This MAJOR reason is something that I have gathered throughout the series. One is the fact that a character named Mr. Satan, would be present in the series. Analyzing his behavior will also give you clues to his bold name, such as his arrogance. He has a daughter name VIDEL (or DEVIL scrambled) who occasionally rides in a devilish car with Gohan. On the side of this "car", the symbol "666" can be found in a circle, with the name "SATAN" right above the symbol. Another symbol I have come across was the capsule corp. symbol. The future capsule corp symbol, with the Star in a Circle. Also some characters are named "Majin". Majin is a Japanese word, which translated to English is "devil". You may be beginning to categorize me as a radical, but this is very secretive and must be put out there. 3. Nudity. I have not gone deep into this category, but I have already seen enough that I have not expected. In some of the Dragon Ball Z movies, specifically, Dragon Ball Z: Bardock The Father of Goku, there are brief scenes of nudity. In one scene, there are babies in a crib on a Saiyan Ship, and these babies are unclothed and exposed genitals are shown. Also, and this is a scene in Dragon Ball, but since this is along the lines of Dragon Ball Z, I'll specify it anyway, Kid Goku is shown pulling is pants down and revealing his genitals. This was requested by a lady, who questionably asked him to do so. This is very explicit for a show, and I am not surprised that Cartoon Network let this show air. 4. Blood. There are many bloody scenes in the series, as it is based on Martial Arts and fighting. This is my favorite show, when it is censored, because of the action and phenomenal storyline. Any other kid that watches this show might say this as well. Though due to this unexpected content, I have refrained from watching this, and I'm still weary about Dragon Ball Z Kai, on Nicktoons. Yes, 90% of this content is censored on Nicktoons, and I advise you to watch it. However, I DO NOT advise you to watch the MOVIES online. The TV episodes online are fine, but the MOVIES are not because they are the original Japanese versions. They have censored the bloody scenes, but the Devil Symbols are still present and some characters behavior is suggestive. You will know the difference between the movies and the TV episodes, because the movies have an ocean with a Japanese symbol at the very beginning, and the intro will say Dragon Ball Z, not Dragon Ball Z Kai. Also the original Japanese has older animation and visuals. I hope I did not confuse you in this review, and I hope this helped.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 14, 2010

Really Less Violent Than the Common Superman Cartoon: Wonderful Show!

I really enjoy this series. When I was younger, I thought it was just a glorified fight fest with big-thighed men. Still, as I became more interested in anime, I decided to take a look. It was soooo much more than glorified muscles! I am no fan of Superman, I admit it. But imagine, if Superman where logical and his weakness was not a rock. That would describe Goku, the main character. He works hard and never gives up! This was my kind of show! While there is violence, even the villans have honor, and know that fighting is an art. I was very impresed with the character development as well. As the series progresses, you learn about each character and their lives. In short, this show is the one many anime lovers will love and came introduce anime very well to those who have not seen it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 10, 2010

Awesome show!

8 AND UP?! You gotta be kidding me. This show contains blood and cursing me as a Dragon Ball Is disgraced! 13 and up. Stop thinking every freaking show Is for kids. Especially anime!
Kid, 11 years old November 4, 2013

For some kids, but not for all kids

Dragon ball z is a show that gets a high rating because of the use of minimal fanservice, blood, and violence but I think a perfect rating for dragon ball z is 9 and up but if you don't think your children are ready for this kind of show than I suggest you watch dragon ball z kai.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 24, 2011

Uh.

Whoops I forgot.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAnimeIsAwesome808 July 25, 2013

100% Pure awesomeness.

I love this Anime series so much. It was so action packed. I also liked the characters. P.S. My birthday is tomorrow! :D
Teen, 14 years old Written bybioniclecomeback56 May 22, 2013

It's ok for 8 and up. Uncut version is ok for 12+

I'm re-writing my review because I overreacted a bit. it is true that this show is censored on children networks (I don't believe it airs on US TV currently). The uncut version is a bit more violent and might contain occasional language and crude humor (the dub and sub will probably be different) It never goes to an "R Rated" level. Overall this show is ok but not really that great either.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old July 1, 2015

I WILL SAVE COMMON SENSE MEDIA!!!

I never watched Dragon Ball Z but it seems like it has M Rated Violence.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byTayoEXE July 25, 2012

It's More Than "Wham-bam violence"

This is a show I grew up with, and is a very popular anime in Japan, America, and many other countries. It is an exciting show for people of many ages and shows a strong sense of overcoming evil and protecting loved ones. I have to say that this sight seems to be very quick to judge many of these shows and movies. You completely put this violence down as non-important and just tell people to "[Look] past the wham-bam violence." It does a lot more than that. You say that violence is how most conflict is dealt with. First, you must notice that much "fighting" is actually done for fun or competition, such as in training in martial arts and the World Martial Arts Tournament. Second, any fighting in an actual conflict is against a villain who usually has the power to destroy the Earth (Freeza, for example, mercilessly destroys the home planet of the main character, Goku, and all of its inhabitants). They are usually shown to be the definition of evil with no conscience. Violence is usually used because of the fact that they can't be negotiated with and it shows that when it is not possible to negotiate, it is just and necessary to fight back to defend and protect yourself and your loved ones. For example, there is scene where Android 16 tells Gohan, Goku's son, this: "Gohan, let it go. It is not a sin to fight for the right cause. There are those who words alone will not reach. Cell (a villain) is such a being. You are gentle. You do not like to hurt. I know because I too have learned these feelings. But it is because you cherish life that you must protect it." This is a strong message that is important for kids to learn. The characters fight throughout the whole show, but it is only because it is necessary to protect and defend. It has a similar message to "Spider Man," in which "With great strength comes great responsibility" as the main characters are Saiyans, a race of human-like aliens that have extraordinary strength and power. They constantly defend the planet from invaders and save the rest of humanity, never looking for reward or recognition. In fact, it is not until the very end of the series' sequel series, Dragon Ball GT, *spoiler* that Goku is finally recognized as being the true hero who saved the world. I think it would be completely rash to label this show as a "mindless fighting show." (Not to say that you do). But for positive role models, you make absolutely no mention about what kind of people these characters are. Goku is good father and a good friend, yes, but as the main character, there are very many admirable qualities in him. First, both he and his son have great respect for others. Although Goku grew up in the woods and didn't have a formal education, his wife made sure their son Gohan did. Goku is not very educated, but he was taught to be polite and respectful to others by his grandfather. There are many episodes in which they help various people from danger. In fact, Gohan later on puts on an (albeit odd) costume just so people wouldn't recognize him so that he could go out and stop crime. He even uses this to save a pterodactyl baby that was stolen by poachers to be caged in a circus. Goku in one episode spends a lot of time trying to save the eggs of a pterodactyl from falling and tries to protect the family from very bad hurricane winds. Second, Goku (as well as Gohan) is forgiving and reluctant to kill. There are at least two of his enemies that have tried to kill him that he has beaten and then allowed them to live, only for them to become good guys for the rest of the series. For example, when he defeats Vegeta, Krillin (Goku's friend) has the opportunity to finish him off, but Goku tells him to let him go. Vegeta is one such character who joins Goku's side to defend the Earth. Anyway, there are many great qualities that about Goku and other characters that kids can look up to and adults can admire in a person, but I won't go into much more detail. As for violence, the TV version that I grew up with was not too bad. (Just don't let little kids watch the uncut version). I don't believe there was any blood in that version, or at least some. (I don't remember exactly) But it does deal with throwing punches, kicks, headbutts, and various other things common to martial arts. Another thing to know is that many characters can use "Ki" attacks. Ki is like spiritual energy in Japanese, and these characters can shoot beams of energy and such, which really aren't too violent or scary to watch compared to things like guns. Something to note, though, is that some things can be a bit scary to kids. One notable instance is that a villain named Cell gains energy in his first form by stabbing people with his tail and literally draining them right out of their clothes. There is really only one instance where this is actually show graphically. (And I did find it a bit frightening as a child). But other than that, it is not too bad in the scariness factor. As for modesty issues, it's true some of this can be a little more prominent since it is a Japanese anime, but the U.S. TV version doesn't really have much problems. There are indeed some mildly flirty characters, and a character, Master Roshi, is known to be perverted, but again, the U.S. TV version heavily tones these things down that it's not really an issue. For language, there is no profanity, and if you have a problem with the "die" or "kill" that's about it. To sum it up, this is a great show for kids and adults alike. It's action-paced, suspenseful, and has good universal messages about the nature of fighting and defense.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old July 13, 2012

For older kids.

Dragon Ball Z (a.k.a DBZ) is a GREAT show. The whole story is violence and all that. It does have all types of violence, but it is still a good show for many audiences. In my past experiences with DBZ, there was only mild swearing, but only in the uncut, which wasn't showed on T.V. until later at night. True, all of those box-set DBZ is uncut, but some of the tapes and DVDs are edited. In some of the DBZ scenes, people are smoking. In episode one, a farmer is shown smoking. Also, in some episodes people drink beer. Now, I don't think kids are going to want to smoke just because they see it on T.V. Many people grunt in pain. There is a lot of that after they get hit really hard. Also they grunt if they are pushing their limits in a final effort.There are plenty of violent scenes like people punching each other a lot, but it's not like it will affect any kids who watch. Some people in it kill innocent people for no good reason. The show has plenty of laser beams and blasts of energy being shot out of an opponents hand, but kids know that it isn't real. A few characters blow themselves up in order to save everyone. Some scenes have guns, but they aren't used much. There is blood when characters get hit hard. Probably one of the bloodiest sagas is the Majin Buu saga. On T.V. they do edit some of the blood. There are scars on some characters. There are many bruises and cuts. Some scenes have gore, like an alien gets his head cut off. Also a guy gets his arm chopped off, but it's not too graphic. The scene with the most gore is probably when an alien gets chopped into a few pieces by a disc. He heals, but gets chopped up again by a sword. An alien impales a human with his horn in the stomach. Blood drips out of the wound. Some characters swear, but the words they use are mild. They say words like H***, Ba****d, and D***. There is some name calling, but it's nothing to worry about. But Dragon Ball Z is for many ages. There is some educational value in it because kids learn to work together. Also Goku tries to save the world and defeats evil enemies, so there are lot's of rule modules. Goku and his friends are always trying to save the day. The good guys always win, but some of them die along the way. Some characters get wished back to life with the Dragon Balls. The show is fine as long as kids don't try to imitate the evil characters. It's the best show that I have ever seen.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySilverFan45 December 30, 2015

Great series as a whole with some great messages and role models but can get very violent.

The series Dragon Ball Z has a censored version and an uncut version. I will talk about the uncut version. The swearing can get quite bad sometimes with villains throwing about insults, middle fingers and occasionally the word "B*****d". It doesn't get worse than that though. Farmers shown in the backgrounds can be seen smoking and a few characters can be seen drinking beer. In one particular scene on a spaceship you can see beer cans on the floor. Violence is prominent in the show because it's an action adventure series. Violence includes punching, kicking, jabbing, biting, spitting, stabbing, strangling, kneeing, piercing through bodies, characters losing arms, characters exploding, throwing, drowning and choking. Blood is also shown frequently and in some scenes there is mild gore e.g. insides of aliens (stomachs mainly). When blood is shown it is normally green, blue or purple. However human blood is shown. The good messages in the show include: Putting family and others first Respect others Respect the Earth Never give up You can do great things if you put your mind to it Stand up for what you believe in Believe in yourself Don't get too cocky Actions have consequences All characters in this series have positives and negatives. Even villains and the purest of heroes. However, it is mostly agreed that Son Goku is the best role model because he teaches that putting your family and other people before yourself is good and that sacrifices have to be made for the greater good. He shows many other positive traits but he does have his negatives. He isn't around his wife and son most of the time because he's out training or preparing to save the Earh again. He also never went to school and only has a basic grasp of manners e.g. he eats with his mouth full and sometimes interrupts people when they speak. Vegeta is another good role model (at the end of the series) because at the beginning he is a ruthless and cold-blooded killer. But he becomes a good person after meeting Goku on Earth and almost dying several times. Vegeta at the ending of Dragon Ball Z has a wife and two children and is prepared to even fight Gods to protect the Earth and his family. There is no actual sex shown but there is some mild nudity e.g. Goku bathing with his youngest son in one of the final episodes. There is also another scene where you can see Goku's butt when he is bending over in a hot spring. Even though it is mild for most of the series there is some full frontal nudity from the young boys e.g. After the battle with Vegeta on Earth, Gohan can be seen naked lying on top of Vegeta's unconscious body (long story). Girls in the series sometimes can be seen wearing skimpy clothing and flirt with some of the men. Master Roshi (one of the great martial arts masters in the series) is a little bit perverted though and can be seen trying to feel breasts or butts. He can be seen reading pornographic magazines but the contents are never shown. With consumerism, there are action figures, movies, DVDs, posters, t-shirts, plush toys, props (sets of Dragon Balls and certain swords), statues and deluxe action figures. The deluxe figures line is called S.H. Figuarts. These figures are the best you can get but are released in very limited quantities and can be a bit pricey if you want the rarer figures. If you think that prices are too high, just know that what you pay is what you get. Each figure comes with interchangeable faces and hands. Some come with different heads or stands and effects pieces or accessories. All figures are in scale with each other and there is fantastic attention to detail. These figures are good investments because once they sell out, their prices increases drastically e.g. the Super Saiyan Vegeta figure went for around $45 when first released but now goes for an upwards of $150 if in good condition. I would recommend not giving them to young children because of small parts and can be damaged easily if not handled with care. If you want to sell them in the future, keep the boxes and do not stand the figures on furniture made of resin as it causes colour degradation. To show prices, my collection is of 7 figures that I originally bought for about £20 - £55 each. But because of the price inflation, my collection is worth over £400. Even though there is all of this merchandise, the series doesn't push anything onto kids when they watch it. As a whole, good series, good story, good plot, good messages, good role models, can get a little perverted, smoking and drinking can be seen, there is quite a bit of swearing, and a lot of consumerism. If you don't think that my in-depth review should be trusted because of the other reviews on here, just know that I'm well-versed in the show and have been a fan for the past three years. I have seen the entire series, all of the movies and the predecessor series Dragon Ball and have also watched Dragon Ball GT and am currently up to date with the newest series Dragon Ball Super. If you are a parent, keep in mind that this show was made in Japan so there are quite a few cultural differences with some of the humour and themes presented. Japanese children are more aware of violence and the like so it's aimed at young boys aged 7-15. The series does stand the test of time and has been around since the late 80s. Many adults love this show and there is a very friendly and welcoming community on the internet. If you plan to let your child watch this series, make sure that they are mature or if you think that it's too much, try to look for a censored version or a broadcast version somewhere on the internet. If you are a bit unsure, please watch a few episodes to get a feel for the style of the show and then choose if it's suitable for your child. I hope that you have found this review useful.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bySnow9012 November 30, 2015

The best

This show though violent at times( well.. all the time) is wonderful. Though many people don't always notice the show brings wonderful characters that will almost always put a smile on your face. I personally watch this show anytime I feel upset. So overall its a wonderful show, just might be a little too much violence for younger viewers.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byibarncat September 5, 2011

Anime series stood the test of getting above 200 episodes, but is too violent for most kids.

I already reviewed DBZ Kai, so I'm not going to go over my same opinions here. But the reason why I added two years to it is because if you're going to watch it, and I mean the original version, not Dragon Ball Z Kai on Nicktoons, then you have two options, both of which are highly questionable: DVDs, which I don't have, so I don't know how censored they are, but knowing the average anime fan, they probably aren't, and online, where it seems censored, but I caught some blood and one scene where you saw Cell's head come right off his body. As for the filler controversey, I'll just say there's good filler and bad filler. Good filler is rich dialogues inside a character's head, bad filler is stuff like Gohan's birthday and him blowing the cake on everyone.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byCoolman44 September 2, 2011

What I think about Dragon Ball Z

This anime series have the following content Blood and Gore, Crude humor, Intense Violence, Mature humor, Moderate Language, Nudity, Use of Alchohol and Tabacco. I got these from the Enterntainment Software Rating Board{ESRB}.So the point is this is definently not for little kids and if you're one of those people who can handle strong content then I recommend you watch it.Trust me, this is not for the young.This has very mean content so make sure someone older watches it first.If he/she decides you are able to watch it, then you have alot of strength.I am not talking about a little.I am talking about so much.In the frieza saga you can see an alien impaling a human with his horns.That part was unexpected and very tough.Also in one scene a hero named "Goku" battled an alien named "Frieza".Frieza threw an attack that cuts everything.Goku sent it on Frieza, then he got impaled.I dont recommend this for anyone under 12.When Goku was kid you could see his naked body and innapropiate animated parts.When I saw that i was disturbed.This also has blood in every episode or almost every episode.Make sure you get parental consent.This also has disturbing scenes.In one episode a human named "Master Roshi" crashes into a womans front, then master Roshi tells jokes about it and touches it.(This is what I mean by mature humor).Even if you are 12 that doesnt mean you can watch this series.You have to get somebody older and make him/her watch the entire series.(Watch the entire series because it is very innapropiate in each episode).This is very strong, dont watch it without consent or you'll be emotionally scarred!I didnt watch all of Dragon Ball Z so be prepared for scary scenes.I think you should have parent controls so only a password should make you watch an episode.If you dont think your child is ready for this watch "Dragon Ball Z kai" It is rated "TV-Y7-FV"So it is alot nicer than Dragon Ball Z.I dont really know what Dragon Ball Z is rated but if I had to guess I would say"Between PG-13 and R"But ratings dont matter.Its how strong you are that matters.I clicked on good role models because the good guys always win.Something I'd watch out for is Goku naked and the stabbing.If you are underaged absoulutely dont watch it!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old August 6, 2011

The difference between american and japanesse

This Show is AWSOME!!! I think that the american version is for 10 and up because of the violence. But if your watching the oringinal japanesse then it would be 13 and up for violence,blood,cussing. So if your younger child is watching this show make sure its english.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bysagax04 April 2, 2010

AWESOME!!!

I loved this series as i kid and still do. Girls showing cleavage might concern parents of a 4 year old but is good for 6 year olds and up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byF-Zero studios November 5, 2010

IT'S OVER 9000!

IT'S OVER 9000! times better than South Park
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old January 1, 2016

A Average Review

I Recommend that people should start watching this at 9+ Ages but for Dragon Ball 12+ Because at the start there is alot of magazines with "Bad Stuff" For around 12+ also there are many episodes of Master.Roshi seeing magazines with girls naked.And theres many good messages after fights in Dragon Ball Z
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old July 28, 2009

i found a bit of cursing in season three

love it
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 24, 2016

Amazing Anime, but -1 * Because Filler and Stretching

Like my title implies, too much filler. This show is great for 11 yr olds on, but the fight with one of the bad guys in episode 70-something is 4 hr. 14 min. I would still recommend the show to Anime fans (and some non anime fans, even)who have not scene it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages