Kid reviews for Fruits Basket

Common Sense says

Thoughtful anime has great messages for older tweens.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 5 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 33 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written bytecnafan May 3, 2015

WOW

this is one of my fravite animas its funny and also helps kids to understand manners and kidness. i think its a great show

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bysherlocked May 23, 2014

Language Iffy

I watched Fruits Basket on Netflix about a year ago, so maybe it was a bad translation, or a different version, but whatever the case, it had some pretty harsh language. At least 10 curse words an episode, and by curse words, I don't mean the ones that are mentioned in the general review. Like, legitimate cussing. I eventually stopped watching, because the language was so constant. I don't think any eleven year old should be exposed to that level of language. Yeah, you are gonna hear that at school, but if you watch it during free time, you are exposed to it constantly. Just a personal opinion, but it's still a good idea for the parent to watch at least one episode to see what they think.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byLets review this May 20, 2020

The original fruit basket is ok…

Now I feel that fruit basket the original didn’t take their time with the series I felt there rushed at points where I can’t understand I feel that this anime was amazing but I wished they slowed down a bit because it felt like they squashed the whole manga into the series without a valid explanation but I don’t hate I think it’s alright

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 12 years old May 2, 2020

Really good

This is a super great anime, and just to make things clear, I will be talking about the 2019 reboot in this review ^^

Okay, first off: role models and positive messages. This anime has tons of positive messages, though I wouldn't say anyone except Tohru is a spectacular role model. The entire story circulates around Tohru's mother dying in a car accident, and Tohru dealing with it with the other characters while solving their problems as a family too. Tohru is an extremely nice and caring person, who always thinking about her friends and elders, so she's definitely a good role model, but she can be too nice sometimes and lets people walk over her a lot.

Next up, violence. There is zero gore in this anime, being a slice of life shojo and all. There are quite a few fistfights and martial arts fights in which the main characters are beaten up, but they're always pretty comical. The only things in this that could be scary to younger children is the head of the Soma family, Akito, who is sort of like their God. She stabs one person's eye with glass in a flashback, but this is not shown graphically. It is also hinted that she mentally tortured one of the main characters, but at this point in the anime, nothing has been clearly shown yet. Also, another one of the main characters transforms into a monster in the last episode of the first season, but it's not very scary (I thought it was kind of cute actually).

And last of all, sex/nudity and language. This is where I have a few problems.
Language is pretty standard, some uses of ass, hell, damn, and bastard. I haven't noticed anything worse than this.
And now, sex/nudity. One character is clearly a pervert, he goes to a high school singing 'high school girls, high school girls' in his head. This is obviously for laughs. Another character (the pervert's best friend, actually) tells a story in one episode about how when he was the student president some highschoolers had underage sex and he volunteered to have them 'direct all their lust towards me!' This is comical, but he goes on to dramatically delcare that he is a bottom. This is all pretty easy to miss for younger kids, just be warned about that.

Overall, this is a great anime, and I recommend it to everyone! I hope this review helped you!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byGulpingbunny9 February 28, 2020

So Cute!

This is a great anime with great messages. Although many of the episodes were depressing, it's a very heartwarming show and I would reccomend it to anyone.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySwedenFan505 December 5, 2019

Love it!

Positive messages and emotions aplenty! The Characters develop feelings for each other and contact is kept at a minimum.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Kid, 9 years old August 25, 2019

It is really good but...

Its a really good anime and rebooted anime but dont read the manga like I did. Maybe let them read it at 15 earliest. Oh and if YOU do read the manga, get the 1991 version, not the 2015 collectors addition. It has deep messages, the star girl Tohru Honda is a rolemodel. Two characters, actually multiple characters get into fistfights a lot, there is mild swearing but its nothing your kid hasnt heard before, not a lot of sex, the most is hugging and 2 mild perverted characters, Shigure and Ayame but thats only flirtatious comments and one nickname 'flower', as I said mild swearing is all. The most you get from drugging is 2 characters smoke but still its nothing your child hasnt seen. Though, the head of these animals, Akito, She is a very abusive, She abused a main character when he was a child, She was going to lock up another main character, she tried to kill another person named Kureno. She was mildly mentally and physically abusive with Tohru Honda. Tohru's mother died in a car crash, 2019 reboot; The scene is not horror but there is blood and its not SO graphic but, if you are sensitive then maybe its not for you.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byRebecca E December 3, 2018

Characters contemplate suicide all the time

Okay, this is mainly about the manga. The fruits basket anime is an abomination and had a lot of the story changed to make it funnier. However, if you plan on letting your child read the manga, please don’t.
There are a lot of themes in the manga which weren’t explored in the anime but that are present in most chapters. Most characters are abused or have a history of abuse. E. g. there’s this one character who spent their whole childhood with his mother pretending to like him and being abused by his father, until his mother committed suicide and everyone started blaming him for it. It is literally said in the manga that he only exists to make the other zodiac feel better about themselves. There’s other character who was basically sold by his family to the head of the sohmas and spent his entire life being abused by him. The head of the sohmas would psychologically abuse him, saying that he was useless and that all the zodiacs hated him, would lock him for days in a dark room without any windows, would isolate him from literally anyone else. And there are so many other parents who would beat up their child or expel them from home.
There’s also teenage pregnancy and sex. Tohru’s mother had her when she was only fourteen and her husband was 22. She also became a widow when she was seventeen, so she fell into a deep depression and tried to kill herself, all that while she ignored her recently orphaned child. Her child had to go to her father’s funeral and listen to adults saying that she was probably the result of an affair, since she didn’t resemble her father at all, and after that started to mimic her father’s way of talking believing that if she did that her mother would never abandon her again. There are many characters who have sex during the manga, too. This one character literally offers her body to this other character in order to find out how to break the curse. In one chapter you see two characters kissing and in the next one you see them naked in a bed.
The manga is also really violent. Besides all the abuse, there’s also scenes in which the head of the family has breakdowns and starts to hit other people. During one of them, she threw another girl from the second-floor window after beating her up. In another, she cut another guy’s eye. In another, she literally stabbed one of her lovers in the back and left him to die. It’s really messed up. There are scenes in which one of the characters has nightmares and relives the time in which he saw someone he cared about die before his eyes during a car accident (which he could have prevented if he hadn’t put his life above hers). One of the characters falls from a cliff and lies in the ground with a pool of blood around them.
Most people in the manga aren’t nice, either. Besides the terrible parents, there are also really mean teenagers. One of my favorite characters literally comes up to the main character, during her mother’s funeral, and says that she’s disgusting for feeling sad, and that she should stop whining because she’s not the only one who lost a parent.
Anyway, fruits basket is GREAT. It’s one of the greatest stories out there. The anime may be good for younger audiences since not much happens there, but if you are thinking of letting your 9-year-old child read the manga, don’t (but if they really want to read it they’ll find a way). Leave it for when they are a little older and can understand the messages and the dark meanings behind the story. The anime is family-friendly, but the manga’s definitely not. Even so, please let them read it when they are 12 or 13, because there are so many great things about it and might help them deal with a lot of internal problems of their age. Tohru Honda will make your 12-year-old weeb child a better person.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bya_moody_teen November 13, 2018

Amazing Film

Fruits Basket is an amazing anime which is about this girl whoms mother has just passed away and she is invited to live with some boys, however she doesn't know that they have a curse, if they are touched by the opposite sex they transform into an animal from the zodiac. This has a really cool story line and there is nothing really bad about it so it is ok for anyone really but younger kids might not understand whats happening.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byHannah Dale June 6, 2017

All you need to know

I watched this show for the first time when I was eight years old and I didn't remember it. Upon rediscovering it, I've found it to be so much deeper and more thought provoking then I would have been able to comprehend at that age. The story centers around a high school student named Tohru Honda. After her mothers death, she doesn't want to be a burden so she begins secretly living in a tent tin the woods. However she doesn't realize she has pitched her tent in woods owned by one of her classmates family.(the sohmas). When her classmate (Yuki), discovers where she is living. He and his older cousin(Shigure), invite her to live with them and become their housekeeper. When she moves in Yuki's cousin Kyo reappears after disappearing for four months. He decides he also wants to live in the house. At one point Tohru hugs them and to her surprise they transform into animals, They then explain to her that the Sohma family is cursed. Whenever one of them is under great stress or hugged by the member of the opposite sex, they transform into a member of the Chinese zodiac. Yuki transforms into a rat, Shigure is a dog, and Kyo is the cat. Yuki and Kyo both hate each other and get in fights regularly all throughout the series. Besides having an interesting plot, this show also addresses some serious topics in an entertaining way. They present topics such as the death of a loved one, anger management, social anxiety, depression, bullying, sexuality, love, suicide, mental health, kindness, self acceptance, and abuse. The truly unique thing about this show is that it can still touch on all of these usually sad issues and still be funny, appropriate, and interesting. It involves complex characters and at sometimes can be sad. It will make you laugh, it will make you cry. It is a truly heartwarming series, and a great way to teach older children important lessons. To answer those who question if it is really appropriate enough to show your child, there is limited language(only the words Damn, Bastard, and Hell), there are a few sexual innuendos(They went right over my head when I watched it as a kid). One character makes the occasional flirty comment and is looked down upon by all other characters for doing so. The same character shows interest in going to the high school to see all of the high school girls. Really none of it would be anything your child hasn't heard already. It does have a little bit of romance in it. No actual sex on screen, just innuendos. As for drugs, a few of the middle aged men can be pictured smoking throughout the series. And finally violence, there is quite a bit of it, but it is mostly cartoon violence and almost exclusively fistfights between Yuki and Kyo. Despite the mild violence and language this show is full of extremely positive role models and really great for any child(as long as they are mature enough) to see.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byLuna Silver April 1, 2017
This show is one of the best shows I've ever seen while it was pretty sad and depressing the last 2 episodes the rest of the episodes were hilarious and could get pretty deep at times. Not much violence and the only things closest to sex is when someone hugs a member of the zodiac and they turn into animals but they become naked when they change back but that's about it. And the show is pretty much filled with good messages so yeah no problem watching this show for yourself if you are over 10 years old

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 10 years old November 13, 2016

This is the greatest and sweetest anime ever!!!!!

This show has nothing to do with fruits. It is about a girl who falls in love with two boys and she talks to everyone about friendship. They say the "H" word only a couple times and they also say "shut up". But other than that it's a great show for families.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bySaphirebliss June 18, 2016

Great characters

I don't like many animes but this one actually isn't bad.Each character faces their own problems and every episode has at least one valuable lesson to learn. I love how friendship is shown in a good way and how even if you are jealous of someone it means you admire that other person's qualities and try to be like them. You only miss your own qualities, which are harder for you to notice. I highly recommend giving this anime a try.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byGracie3 May 14, 2016

It's Amazing!!!!

i'm 16 Now and i watched this win i was 11 and it was GREAT and very cheerful but i must say a little bad for some 10 year old's but over all it's AMAZING!!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byanimelover3345 March 31, 2016

The best Anime ever

I think this anime was very good it gave the audience a great back story no sexuality I think a lot of you would enjoy it

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byEmilaxxx December 24, 2015

LOVE IT!

I Love fruits basket and its amazing! it has really good messages to kids 10 and up me and my cousin watch this anime like everyday now its so cool! I personaly love this thing :)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old December 2, 2015

Awesome!

It has some mild swearing, but ONLY mild. Other than that, it has characters that are good role-models for kids (other than this one kid who stole something and a guy who yells a lot). It's good for mature tweens and teens, though my six year old sister absolutely loves it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old October 23, 2015

10+ :Depends on maturity

To be honest, this all depends on the maturity of the person watching. If you don't handle seeing fights or other mild violence or mild cursing well then I don't recommend it.
Great Messages: As the story goes on, the characters learn and share many lessons about kindness and love.
Great Role Models: The main character, Tohru, is the best role model. She tells the others about kindness, confidence and is also very modest. She tries her best to not be mean to people- though she goes a bit overboard while trying not to be a bother. Most of the characters have flaws(such as a bad temper or prejudice), but they apply their learnt lesson as the series progresses.
Violence & Scary stuff: Two characters, Yuki and Kyo, dont get along very well and are often in fights, but it's mostly for comedy as Kyo always fails. Kyo also has a fight, though cut short, with his relative, Haru. Kyo's true form is shown at the end of the series, which would be scary to some people. Kagura often goes from being sweet to Kyo, to beating him up, but it is mostly for comedy.
Sexy Stuff: There are crushes and growing romances, as well as reverse harlem (love triangles) which is solved bu the end of the series. The Sohma's under the curse are naked when they transform back to normal, but nothing is shown.
Language: This mostly depends on your maturity. F*** and sh** are not heard in the show, mostly beeped out, but there is a bit of language such as ugly bastard, dirty b*tch or damn. It's mild to most people, including me, but as I said, it depends on maturity.
Drinking/Drugs/Smoking: There isnt much of that in this show. I might have seen someone smoke once in a short scene but I'm not sure (I could be mixing it up with another anime).
Consumerism: N/A

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 11 years old October 5, 2015

A bit intense....

Fruits basket is a positive anime with great role models.. BUT it says mild swears (bastard, hell, b*tch, ass, danm ect.) and it talks about death, gangs, abuse, ect. In one episode this guy proves to this other guy that his hair is natural by taking him in the bathroom... T_T There also is a gay guy that refused to sleep with a guy beacuse he would "Keep him up all night"The other guy replied with "Oh, not in front of the children!" It also is very violent, and one guy is known to has a bad temper.. But it still is an adorable show. :3

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byStar333321 October 4, 2015

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models

Pages