Parent reviews for Hi Hi Puffy AmiYumi

Common Sense says

No similarity to real rock duo Puffy AmiYumi.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 9+
Based on 10 reviews

Kids say

age 8+
Based on 15 reviews
Parent of a 2, 7, 13, and 16-year-old Written bycontador palator September 1, 2019

is a good show 2004

i think this show should come back i want a reboot for 2021
who is with me :D

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Parent of a 1, 4, 8, 13, 14, and 17-year-old Written byparentof7 February 26, 2015

my kids loved it how dare cartoon network

its sad to see those 2 girls die my kids loved them
Adult Written byhgwqhge03 September 19, 2013

The Last 5 Star Modern Cartoon Network Show

this is what i believe to be the last great cartoon network show, it is
called Hi Hi Puffy Ami Yumi it is the last modern cartoon that feels
really classic to me, each episode is 7 minutes long and they all
feature great songs and that is why i became a fan of Puffy Ami Yumi

The animation of this show is very unique, however some people complain
that the background characters are really ugly, what would you expect?
many good shows have ugly background characters, like the Powerpuff
Girls or Samaraui Jack

Even though Ami and Yumi are different as day and night, they are best
friends, Katz on the other hand, is very greedy and will do anything
for money, but he is still like able

At first i wasn't interested in this show but one day i watched an
episode and loved it

Sadly CN cancelled this show after only 3 seasons and the last episodes
never aired, low ratings weren't the reason though, because all seasons
got high ratings, also the thing is they ordered the 4th season was
ordered but the creator left CN in 2006, the only thing I don't like about this show is that CN cancelled it and it is because of that a cliff hanger

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 15, 2012

One word:EPIC!

This show is AWESOME! It has great rock n roll music,and I LOVE rock n roll music!
Adult Written byteenreviews(17yrs) October 16, 2011

Very Mean-Spirited,

this is the mean-spirited, gory, ultra-violent, sexy, creepy show aimed RIGHT at kids, it annoys and creeps me out, I'm glad they canceled this crap, this is just... Wow, just wow

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Adult Written byMarinFan October 9, 2011

What is wrong with this show?!

I hate the yelling for no reason, Yumi has a hot temper and is dangerously violent, their manager is a fat, crack-snorter and flirts with women, NOT for kids

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byChi to April 9, 2008

Funny Show

It appeals to me and my siblings. We like to catch it if we know it is on.
Adult Written bycardcaptor_sakura April 9, 2008
Adult Written byworkethic April 9, 2008

American J-pop

Hi Hi Puffy Ami Yumi is an attempt to further open the doors of J-pop into American culture. (J-pop is Japanese Pop Music.)

The show is cute and simple. Optomistic, cheerful and often naive Ami and her down-to-earth, cynical and often short tempered best friend Yumi are rock stars. Their priorities are their friendship, their fans...and finding a place to eat. It seems their manager, Kaz, is very irresponsible. Most of their episodes revolve around the girls trying to teach Kaz life lessons.

The show is fast paced and very simple. Ami and Yumi's contrasting personalities compliment one another, so that they keep each other in line and show examples of compromising.

Relevant to anime, (japanese animation) the characters are often loud and excited all the time...their emotions are exaggerated for humor. There is some cartoon violence and one incident where thr girls ate bad sushi which gave them nightmares. Some parents say this episode promotes drug use...but I'd say that's a bit of a stretch after I watched it myself.

Overall, I'd think the show is appropriate and entertaining for any age.
Adult Written byCreepie April 9, 2008

Cute

I love this show, the Teen Titans theme song got me into them, I'm a die hard Puffy fan! ^^