Kid reviews for House

Common Sense says

Gripping medical/moral drama isn't for kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 42 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 124 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byLeggoMyEggo July 14, 2011

"Everybody Lies" But This Review Is Honest To The Core

Perhaps my favorite show. I began watching it for the first time when I was 13. Yes...perhaps a bit young in some eyes for watching House down Vicodin or as the main case of the episode has a unexplained seizure. It wasn't until I hit high school though that I fell in love with the show. It's literally a crime mystery put in a pair of scrubs. I'm a really big fan of learning human psychology and understanding how people think, which makes not only Dr.House but the majority of his cases and colleagues excellent subjects. I love the continuity of the show and the almost perpetual jerk-ness of House that makes every scarce moment of humanity in him that is exposed cherished. Occasionally they bring up real world politics or current affairs that gives the show a sense of realism. This show has made Hugh Laurie one of my favorite actors and celebrities, I was astonished to find out he's actually English. I have never seen someone fake an American accent so flawlessly. Every episode seems to have this sense of deep insight on the morality of humans that draws people in. Not for people who are easily insulted by some of House's behavior nor those squeamish to surgery/blood/organs...well you get the idea. Occasionally I will recognize a med. term they use and I get a real kick out of it when I do, otherwise the terms are only to be understood by someone who is either in the medical field or takes Latin. Regardless, this show can be enjoyed anywhere from mature tweens and up. I highly recommend giving it a shot.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old September 8, 2010

Great for older kids but not for young kids

This is a great tv series to watch for older kids. There are a bunch of sexual jokes, and some nudity. House isn't a good role model. He lies and is rude, but saves people lives.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written bybora2004 August 7, 2017
Teen, 13 years old Written bytheman2312 March 5, 2016

House

This is a tv series that is not for kids. It had a good amount of sex, language, and medical violence. If it was a movie I would rate it R for Sexual content including sexuality and inundeo, Drug content, language, and medical violence.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bysona22 April 17, 2011

Perfect for teens but kinda iffy for 12 yrs old and younger

Teen, 13 years old Written byIzzy5021 August 19, 2015

Love,Love and Love

Although the show is quite violet at times, it does have a reason to it as its a medical drama. I personally love the show and have watched it many times on repeat I've been watching it for years and I was drawn in by the medical side of it which I find very interesting. The only episodes I don't like are the episodes which include babies. House is addicted to vicodin, a painkiller that he uses to stop the pain in his leg ( caused by a clot that had years before left only very mangled bits of leg). House is portrayed by Hugh Laurie, who is british. House is a medical genius who is the head of diagnostics at Princeton planesbro teaching hospital. There are cuss words used but nothing really really bad ever is said. For some of the series it's hard to put a flag on how much drinking\ sex is in it as all the patients have different stories before they are taken ill. Overall house is an amazing show that is very witty and humorus and is definatly worth checking out.
Teen, 14 years old Written byEverybodyLies108 July 11, 2011

HOUSE IS AN AMAZING SHOW THAT YOU HAVE TO SEE

House is one of the best shows ever. Very interesting and very real. and amazing. It's a medical mystery, each episode is a puzzle. The main character, House, is a jerk and a drug addict, but he is a genius doctor and he is funny and his witty remarks are hilarious but he is not a great role model for younger children. Also some of the diseases can be graphic however that sort of thing doesn't bother me personally. Good for teenagers. My favorite series ever!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old July 29, 2014

House is the Best!

I love House so much. I started watching it when I was 12, and I had no problem with it. That saying, I am not very squeamish and am pretty mature. Yes, some episodes have innuendo and gory moments, and yes, Dr. House takes pills and can sometimes be a bad role model, but hopefully other kids can look past that into the amazing, thrilling world of Dr. House. My mom introduced me to it, I got hooked, I introduced it to my brother, and he got hooked. It's not very often when parents, their daughter, and her 14-year-old brother can all love the same show, but it happened here. I love House so much, and I bet you will too.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byPoetic Ramblings September 12, 2013

Wonderfully Done

One of the all around most well done television series ever created. Acting, writing, plot, continuity. Superb. I rate this as 14+ because that's when I started watching it. I saw my first episode when I was 12, but was creeped out by it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byxaltrockgirlx September 11, 2011

Beware: Newer seasons are darker!

It's a great show, particularly because of Hugh Laurie playing the titular character, but it's gotten darker in this past season, especially when House cut into his own leg to remove tumors from it. I almost wanted to turn it off. Sex is mostly referenced for diagnostic purposes or House's sexist but obviously rude comments, but this past season, House got together with Cuddy, and plenty of innuendo-filled conversations followed. Language is typical of a primetime drama: a little salty, but nothing like cable. Drugs, well, it is a medical drama, but House himself has been on Vicodin and other drugs to ease his pain, and the danger of this pops up often. Overall, it is a fantastic show, but I wish it would go back to its humor and the clinic patients, so the series finale can end on a fantastic note, instead of jumping the shark. *Postnote --- for the most part, the writers seemed to listen to viewer complaints, and had more clinic patients on, along with more humor (albeit dark humor, but at least it wasn't complete drama). Series finale was a satisfying way to end the show (no spoilers!).

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bymaturereviews March 11, 2011

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byLukepi May 13, 2011

An exceptionally written show that shouldn't be viewed by young kids.

This clever drama is great. Language isn't too bad, but sexual innuendo is way too frequent. If it was a movie, It would definitly be rated R. Besides House's snide and crude remarks, This show is exceptional and should not be missed by older teens.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Positive Messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byMadgirl0503 January 6, 2017

Favorite show!

House is my favorite show! I love watching the interactions between House and the other characters (his patients, fellows, etc.) I began watching this show once I discovered that Jennifer Morrison, my favorite actress, played Dr. Allison Cameron on the first six seasons. Jesse Spencer, Dr. Chase, has become one of my favorite actors. Another aspect of the show that I enjoy is learning about medical terms and procedures. I will say that sometimes the illnesses that patients are being treated for can be a little gruesome as well as upsetting. Patients sometimes die, and it is often with family and friends at their bedside. Cameron, Wilson, and Cuddy are all moral and try to keep Dr. House on the straight and narrow. There is a fair amount of swearing, but none worse than I have heard on the bus, and Dr. House is clearly addicted to his Vicodin. There are also some story lines following the doctors and their personal relationships (A major story line in a few seasons was Dr. Chase and Dr. Cameron's love life.) I recommend this show for the average fourteen-year-old, but a mature thirteen-year-old could certainly handle it.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byshy1izme April 11, 2010

Not fot kids, but the show is awesomeness

I love this show! But, the sex can range from alright to a rather graphic. Also, the "doctor stuff" can be a little gross, like they'll show blood and organs and other things inside the body.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written bylovelovelove January 13, 2018

"Well... It's Not Lupus!"

Although the medical drama may not be the dangerous disease, it could be harmful to a child's mind, especially if they don't understand that many of the choices made in the show are wrong. I began watching this when I was five and it was on TV purely for the medical pieces. I still love it, but I'm intelligent for my age, and I fully understand that Dr. House is clearly violating maybe professional and moral codes by abusing Vicodin, lying about perscriptions, and abusing his power to hold court over patient's personal lives and choices. He also has a habit of behaving inappropriately towards many of his female colleagues. That being said, Dr. House is a genius and has a very unusual way of thinking. Instead of listing off factors that could contribute to the ultimate diagnosis, he diagnoses them first. Then he figures out what caused it and uses his attention to detail to find out any thing, even very small, to prevent it from ever happening again. Anyone squeamish about blood or needles, you've been warned. There's some salty language, lots of recurring drug abuse, and sexual innuendo. Some episodes include strippers and/or partial nudity. But overall an amazing show for intelligent preteens looking for scientific mysteries! Some episodes have amazing messages about morals and there's always at least one person trying to fight fit what'd right. An amazing must-watch!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCOREZEROX4X April 21, 2017

It will be your best pal

House will sweep you in to it's rich and flowing story, while still managing to make you laugh that million times. Laurie does an incredible job, and I will always see him as House.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byKkgreer March 25, 2017

Great for all ages

I've been watching this show for as long as I can remember and I think it's funny and awesome,it's mature content but great for all ages as long as your kid doesn't get squeamish. That being said I don't believe children should be sheltered. Be warned it contains cussing and innuendos(most will go over a kids head) and prescription drug use
Teen, 17 years old Written byjoaquingv March 12, 2017

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 4, 2016

One of the best medical shows out there. Not for kids

I have watched all 8 seasons of this show. It is a awesome show, it has great mystery and thrilling drama. But some content is not for kids. There are countless medical procedures some can be bloody and gory and occasionally end grim. There is extremely intense drug use shown onscreen. Most of the characters have illegial drugs sometime in the seasons. House takes all sorts of drugs that will help his leg some illegial and some not. He also occasianly takes experimental drugs which dosnt normally end well. House also does medical procedures on himself without assistants which is always incredibly bloody and gory. House also looks at porn, gets hookers and goes to strip clubs. Some of House's patients have some strange adult hobbies.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bySupreme_Overlord August 29, 2016

Favorite Show!

I cannot believe that the show has no marks for positive messages and only has one mark for positive role models. The main character, Dr. Gregory House is a person that tends to be a selfish jerk; HOWEVER, he's a good person and he's absolutely brilliant. It's shown that he makes bad, stupid, and dangerous decisions at times, and that he tends to only think about himself, but anybody that watches the show all the way through will realize that he is, in fact, a good person. Regardless, he's also a genius that handles things through logic, which makes him have some very good opinions. In my opinion, he's a good role model himself, but that's not even mentioning the other characters. A great thing about this show is that it's very realistic in showing that everybody has flaws, so no character is a perfect person; however, it's seen that some are better than others. If you take Dr. Wilson (House's best friend), you'll see a prime example of a character that's a great person (while he has flaws, he is genuinely a good person that tries to live morally, even though House is my favorite character to regard as a role model). Outside of characters, the show conquers a huge amount of different topics such as religion, morality, dying, lying, etc., and includes a lot of different opinions. Any show that's well done is going to have characters with flaws and characters that bring bad messages, but I can't believe that people here seem to think that there are no positive role models or messages in the show, because there definitely are! As for what age the show is appropriate for, I would say that it's appropriate for teens that are fourteen/fifteen. The language features in the show isn't bad; there's not much language worse than what would be featured in something rated PG ("Damn," "ass," etc.). There's a fair amount of drinking, drugs, and sex (both actual sexual themes and plenty of sexual jokes/innuendos). The show also features plenty of depressing themes about death and mortality; combining these themes with the sexual ones, I probably would not recommend the show to somebody that's younger than 14.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models

Pages