Parent reviews for Jessica Jones

Common Sense says

Flawed heroine fights evil in a darkly sexy, violent world.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 22 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 28 reviews
Adult Written byJ. Walt January 8, 2018

Sleazy, crude, disturbing, & vulgar

Once again, it seems that Netflix is on a mission to get viewers to watch their original shows by appealing to the most base of human natures. Its just too bad that Marvel is increasingly dumbing down its creative and heroic spirit in order to hustle crude, indelicate, risque, and ignoble ideals solely to make money (how ironic) It's a scientific fact that humans can't look away from the tragic, sick, and grotesque- clearly, the entertainment industry is bent on using this human predisposition to their advantage. Unfortunately, it is not to our advantage, it makes humans into bulls being led by a ring in their nose.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written bynuenjins March 15, 2017

No light at the bottom of the barrel.

The allure of sympathizing with and abused main charecter that has a gothic rebellious streak, and a bit of heightened strength, seems like a concept that could flesh out well. Unfortunately with each watch hoping there's something to cling to, the realization becomes apparent. From day one theme is, gratuitous sex, anger and depression, angst and not enough action or aspirations going on to deem it as a superhero (or even hero) franchise. -
Each element could be overlooked, forgiven or forgotten if there were redeeming qualities besides indulging in the darkest of human behavior and debauchery. It just stacks up the garbage endlessly and goes on like a bad relationship, hinting all the while that she's not that bad. This character has some dark, underbelly comic book roots, but filth by any other name is still filth and it's shown with reckless abandon. The ongoing themes of the like are purposefully put together by writers who seem hell bent to exploit every aspect of the "bad girl' theme to it's worst degree. The tasteless desperation and depressing mood may be somebodys 'thing' but NO child should ever be watching this as it is the worst of it's kind on mainstream TV right now.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bydfilmpro June 10, 2016

Not for kids, maybe even adults

I can watch anything I want, but what is healthy and edifying? While the production value is very high, the content is disturbing and I feel morally degrading. Why should I be entertained by watching brutal, abusive, extended sex scenes(even without nudity), and horrific multiple simultaneous suicides. I watched the the whole season hoping each episode would get better, but they didn't...just more depraved. Absolutely no redeeming qualities or message.
I'm considering canceling my Netflix membership over this one. Extreme...maybe, but garbage in, garbage out. Really disappointed Marvel (Disney) and Netflix put this out.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byirish94 December 1, 2015

Netflix pushes it too far

My wife and I enjoyed Daredevil and had allowed our 13 y.o. son to watch that without major concerns, but we made it through only the first episode of Jessica Jones. If that is an indication, don't expect over the top superhero action. This show is very dark and characters are mysterious (in a negative way). The premise and end of the first episode is very disturbing. The graphic sex scene is another case of cable/Netflix/etc. feeling the need to take full license of being off network tv, which we find disappointing.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byTreeCatMouse December 26, 2015

You know your child

I started watching this after discovering my 15 and 16 year old daughters had and having it recommended to me. At first I was quite shocked and worried by the sex and violence, however after talking to my daughters I feel that they are more than aware and responsibile enough to watch this. The series does tackle sensitive issues such as rape and PSTD but I feel it tackles them well and with realism. They here far worse on the news and at school and although there are sex scenes they aren't particularly glorified and can easily be skipped (with a little bit of research easily allowing you to find out where they are) without harming the plot too much and the violence all helped contribute to the plot and highlight how psychotic David Tennant's character 'Killgrave' was.

The lead character Jessica Jones, is not to be considered a role model. She's an alcoholic and has many flaws. But although she's the progtagonist she does not pretend to be a Saint, nor is she likeable at all times. Instead you are given an interesting flawed character. The supporting cast all have their complexities also. David Tennant is simply marvellous! He portrays the evil Killgrave perfectly making him almost seem likeable then shocking us with who horrible he is. It would not be an exaggeration to say he makes the show.

At the end of the day I know if my daughters felt uncomfortable they wouldn't continue to watch, far less recommend it to me. The story and show is entertaining and we have really enjoyed it! None of us are Marvel addicts so we had no knowledge of the story beforehand but have easily been able to understand and enjoy it. So to conclude you know how mature your child is. As far as I see it some 13 year olds would be OK watching it and to say 18+ is a little naive and overprotective. However I would personally stick with the age rating of 15. Hope this has helped

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byGeorgeSalt November 28, 2015

Not family-friendly

I found it very disappointing. Stylistically, it's an attempt to recreate the look of 1940s film noire. It's the sort of thing a second-year film school student might come up with.

The story (if there is one) moves as slow as molasses. The sex scenes are pretty raw and don't add anything to the story. It isn't the sort of show you want to watch with your family if it includes children under the age of 17.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bybig bro 26 November 25, 2015

being the adult that i am its wonderful but be warned

ok as a 26 year old man and marvel lover gotta say this show is everything i hoped for and more but for my siblings theres no way they are even going near this its a very brutal and sexual world i really dont get why all the hard sex it added nothing to the show really neither did the taking of gods name then a swear'sevral times throught the show' its a good pick just know what your gettting into

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bycecelia32 July 2, 2020

Awesome but incredibly dark show

Lets be honest, this is a great show. It's more of a dark character study and psychological thriller then action like other shows like Daredevil, but it was at least in my opinion, better. It has very mature themes, like sexual assault, child abuse, alcoholism, PTSD, and more. It doesn't present the main characters in a positive light, they're all deeply flawed who don't make the classic "heroic" decisions in ways like most marvel characters do. Instead they often act selfishly and use awful means in order to do the right thing in the end. Jessica isn't a classic hero, and that makes the show all the more fascinating. The 18+ rating in a lot of these reviews is put there under the impression that kids are must less mature then they actually are. It is undeniably dark, but the sexual aspects are nothing that teenagers haven't been exposed to before, and the morally grey characters aren't presented in a light that encourages their actions or suggests that others should act in that way. Despite the mature themes, I think its a great show to watch for anyone whos able to handle some intense themes.
Adult Written byDedricRules March 27, 2020

Great show but not for kids under 18

Great show, but unfortuntely this is not a show for kids as there's too much swearing, ,sex, and violence that kids under 18 should not see as its not your traditional Marvel show. Yes its in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, however its completely different from the movies. If your over the age of 18 then your fine to watch if your willing to manage through it. But overall its a great show but not for kids under 18.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byThe kid27 December 19, 2019

A dark sexual Marvel series!

Marvel's Jessica Jones is a very adult superhero story. It has several sex scenes and a lot of drinking, and swearing! This show is for older teens and adults.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byDanijaii June 25, 2019

Trish needs to gtfo

As an avid Jessica jones fan.. through the three seasons..I sort of liked trish at beginning but as going through the character got way to jealous of Jessica which could lead into perfect villain but she stands no chance unless it’s under circumstances that will piss off viewers such as my self.. through the three seasons found myself yelling at the screen due to trish and who plays her with her mouth and voice and annoyance to need to be what she isn’t. I get maybe that’s leading into the point but I haven’t hated a season more due to a charters
jealousy of who she isn’t and who she will never be. Jessica Jones would over power her no matter what point.. given in one episode where she throws her? so what’s the point in making this jealous character seem so dangerous. If the next season comes out of trish being all mighty tough and some how over coming Jess who could literally toss her across a valley even if she tried to “flip over a wall” It’ll look so un-realistic and stupid and definitely would stop watching over the stupidity.. re think the next season cause trish is not your villain probably the most annoying person on your show.. figure it out.. trish should not of been this seasons focus and she’ll never be Jessica Jones .. needs more realistic villains .. trish should of stuck with family version.. jealousy ruined it and you’ll lose viewers over being pissed off if trish looks stronger cause she’s just a scared jealous insecure little girl at the end of the day.. and if it’s a season of Jess having to deal with that? Pathetic
Adult Written byloreoso January 14, 2019

THE BEST TV SHOW I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!!!!

Marvel AKA Jessica Jones is the best Netflix Original.I watched it over 4 times and I still love it.It is a crime drama/neo-noir NOT FOR KIDS.It is for adults that like psychological thrillers and violent TV shows.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Written byAnonymous November 24, 2018

The butt review

Jessica jones is an adult show and not for young kids. There is some action and dead bodies with some blood in the show but no gore. There is sex and rape and nudity. The people deal with alcoholism and abuse. There is cussing where they say sh*t, and a**hole a lot.
Adult Written byAmyisworried November 19, 2018

Tries to be good but bores

Not a family show. I really wanted to like this. A badass, tired woman, who owns it? Yes. Sadly, it becomes a pornographic tale of redundancy. The acting is poor, the storyline is obvious - still I would look past it if it didn't desperately insert literal pornography for the sake of viewership. I honestly quit watching. We can do better. And we should demand it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byConsultingTimelord11 November 15, 2018

Good and interesting - but really violent and disturbing!

I can say that this show is really good and well written. David Tennant's Kilgrave is an amazing villain; brilliantly acted and captivating.
BUT I have to say that this show is way too violent for younger (and some older) audiences; every episode contains some very disturbing scenes which contain things such as stabbing, beheading, ripping off arms and committing suicide using a pair of sissors. These images will hunt me for a while. And that's not all: the show can also be quite frigthening, there are a lot of sex scenes and the main character is an alcoholic. Not a great role model. This is definitely not a family show, however, the storyline is quite interesting and had me bingewatch the entire show.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byCM98 July 24, 2018

Warning.

This programme is amazing. I love watching it and I am hooked. However, it is very graphic. I advise even those over the age of 18 to be cautious when choosing whether or not to begin watching. I can’t unsee some of the scenes because of just how violent they are. I am 20 years old and whilst enjoying the show very much so, it also can be very frightening, especially once you have stopped watching. I am not usually easily frightened! 100% recommend to not allow those under the age of 18 to watch. Countless deaths in each episode, the sexual scenes are not the issue, the extreme level of gory violence is! Please also bare in mind I am 20 years old and not an over protective mother... I am not overexaggerating. This show is not for children or even some adults!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent of a 13 and 16-year-old Written bySSplus3 March 29, 2018

Great Role Model for Young Girls

My daughter is 13 years old and doesn't socialize well with other kids. Jessica Jones is a role model for many young girls who doesn't have someone to look up to in the real world. Yes, there is a vast amount of violence and swearing. Kids hear swearing everyday in the real world, as long as they're mature enough to not copy everything on television, I see no issue. As for the violence, IT'S MARVEL. We want a strong female kicking some behind every now and then. There are also some scenes that show sexual content, but if your child is mature enough to handle it, I see no problem with them.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Parent Written byDalton R. March 18, 2018

Total let down

To worried about throwing in all the garbage of life’s politics than writing a good store line. Try reading a comic for once.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byBryson K. January 18, 2018

Logic Please 1

First thing first, is it good for children? Yeah, absolutely. I has a dark tone, but if your child is mature then he'll be fine. Also, there are a few sex scenes, so you might wanna be there when your kid is watching it. 4/10 of the time there'll be language. Violence is 6/10 and sex is 1/10. Jessica Jones drinks a lot, but this all comes down (everything else, too) to if you're a good parent and have told your kids not to drink. There are drugs, but they don't appear a lot. Only time they do is whenever Malcom is around. Malcom is her neighbor. Now, onto the short but sweet review. JJ revolves about her past, and it coming back to haunt her. She is a PI and has enhanced strength and she can fly in the comics, but in this show she is just figuring it out. So, basically she can jump real high. There are a lot of great characters and character development. If you're like me, then towarding the end of the season I know you'll be guiding more to the main villain of the show, Zebidiah Kilgrave. He is a convulated and sad character, with a tragic past. The part where everything is good and there is no problems is short and sweet, which is fine, don't get me wrong! That then lends to the remarkable ending. The show stores a bunch of developed side characters, who I have said earlier, Malcom. Also, Luke Cage and JJ's best friend, Trish. You learn more about her past and the way JJ got her powers, throughout the show. Also, when you are finished and just want more of this style AND within the same universe, check out the other Marvel NETFLIX shows! In chronicalgical order, Daredevil season one, JJ season one, Daredevil season two, Luke Cage season one and Iron Fist season one. Top it off with The Defenders and if you like his universe and want to explore more, you're in luck. It is within the MCU. You can look up the chronological order for that if you want, too. I definitely recommend it! Don't worry, there'll be more MCU films and shows. That includes more seasons of the NETFLIX MCU shows!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bysoso15 January 15, 2018

Sex, drugs, profanity and violence - use your judgement

First off, I need to say that there are a lot of sexual references in the series. Sex scenes that act out the actual sex bit (I don't even mean the foreplay!) but not a lot of full on nudity at all... the female characters especially tend to be clothed somewhat, even in overtly sexual scenes, and scenes that hint of sexual activity, and language - full of heterosexual and homosexual references and really upfront and no beating about the bush about it, e.g. "But... you let me be inside of you!" when Luke was mad at Jessica for revealing to him she actually was the mysterious person who killed his late beloved wife. Not to mention stuff like rape, lesbian relations as well as lesbian sex act in one episode and lesbians kissing passionately in another. Then there are the drugs and alcohol - the main character is a functioning alcoholic so you see her drinking a lot of the time. The good friend/neighbour of hers is a hard drug addict and there are many episodes showing him loitering around high on drugs, and syringes and packets of white powder. Swearing is a definite given in this show. With a storyline and setting in a bleak, grey urban inner city setup with poverty and less than pleasant surroundings, swearing is a total given in a show like this and they do it a lot, all the time. As my kids are already used to swearing from school and well in this country people tend to swear a lot, that's not a big issue to us. And the violence, well it could be quite gory, though I would really not place it at the same level of goriness as what I've seen in tge Daredevil series, to he honest... and as for the Daredevil series, well I consider the goriness and violence less than what I've seen in hollywood horror movies like Hostel. Hope that gives you an idea.

I allowed my kids to watch this mostly because they have had sex eduation (via school curricula and books for children on that). I live in a western European country where sex ed starts at 5 years old in schools and I am a believer in teaching sex ed from young and I am confident in and know my kids will not be horrified or traumatised by this stuff. As for drugs and being streetwise, well we live in a very urban and multicultural city with pockets of deprivation, and there is no way for kids growing up locally to avoid seeing social problems related to drugs and crime, and knowing this, I was again confident my kids would not be traumatised or exposed to material they would otherwise not know about.

I think the character development in the various Marvel drama series are done very well - really strong characters with no absolute sense of total evil or total goodness. Nobody is perfectly good or bad. Everyone has a back story. I tend to seek these kinds of storylines for my kids because I think this mirrors life. We aren't religious either. Again, I am just mentioning this so that it could help inform parents whether they feel this would be suitable viewing for their own family. Every family is different and every environment is different.

Finally I really adore the Marvel female superheroes. They are really strong, honest, independent women who could fight against men and women alike, who show a positive way of encountering and learning to battle with their inner demons rather than surrendering to them. They are also unashamed and confident of their sexuality and certainly do not act as docile, submissive females. As I have 2 daughters whom I hope to raise to be independent, brave and strong, I love the messages these shows can portray. Once again, I acknowledge these views will not be everyone's cup of tea. I am just providing as honest a description of the show as I can so hoping it could help others decide.

I do feel the need to say though that the sex scene can feel rather gratuitous as they seem to add nothing significant to the storyline whatsoever. For this reason I will rate it as too much sex. There's not much full on nudity though, especially with the female characters. Sex scenes tend to be partially clothed. The storyline however is great, will keep you glued to your seat, and is never very predictable. Clever and dry humour.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff

Pages