All parent member reviews for The Boondocks

Parents say

(out of 27 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written byKnowledgeEqualsPowah January 12, 2009

Ignore the bottom reviews because they obviously didn't fully watch the show, or have an actual clue as what is truly bad.

This was a funny show that appeals to adults AND children above the age of 10 at least. The reason why I say that, is because there are millions of children who have heard curse words and/or use them, whether in front of their parents or behind their backs. This show has most of the words censored, which shouldn't make it much of a problem as far as language is concerned. There is no nudity, but there is references to anal rape("...If I drive under the influence, I could kill me, you, somebody's baby...Or worse, I could get arrested and go to jail and get anally raped") and/or homosexuality or the word "gay" which may or may not be offensive, but practically everyone knows and uses that word, and if you don't know you must not live in america. It also contains the "N bomb". Now for black audiences, which is the larger intended audience that the show was actually made for, we already know what that word is, because it's in most black teenagers or black people in general's vocabulary and in most of their dialogue anyway. The reason why the show has these words is to place realism, and to relate, or let people who watch relate, to black people as well. If you want to guard a child from even the slightest hint of anything even REMOTELY bad in your opinion, then they are going to be crippled as human beings when they grow up. If you just tip toe around racy subjects and such, then how will the child react to these things when they get older? There isn't any nudity, and if there was, it's only in the uncut episodes on DVD, so don't worry about that. The closest things to sex were the above mentioned, and dialogue about a certain type of sex, references or involvement with prostitutes and pimps. But these things are possibly already known about if your child plays things like "Grand Theft Auto" and/or watches things like pornography. All I can say is, if your child has heard curse words from you or anyone else, just tell them not to use it, and it's okay in that regard. If your child has ever looked at or seen a girl that they liked, or even knows what a butt is, then language in that regard is okay. If the words "Pimps" and "Prostitutes" and any words related to those are in your child's vocabulary(and it probably is, unless you've been living under a rock with your family), they can watch it. If the word sex is in their volcabulary, or if they have ever read hospital tracts or had sex ed classes, then the word sex, which possibly may be the only word even close to sex besides the above mentioned things are okay. If your child attends history class, hangs around black youth at school, on the internet, or anywhere else, and if your child is black, white, or mexican, then the word "negro" or "n*gga" is already heard of, and they can definately watch the show because that word is the main thing placing it in the TV-MA category. If the above things beside that word were the only problems with the series, it'd have a PG-14 rating, and 13, or if your child watches family guy, then younger, if possible.
Parent of a 10 and 15 year old Written byALunarLight April 28, 2011

Moral in a odd way

it portrays a lot of everyday life in a satirical way. the n word is used a lot but that is true to life. If you think is sets a bad example you aren't getting the true moral compass, pretty much any thing Huey says, and in the end they always walk a way with a bit of a lesson. Its revolutionary, funny, unedited and not for every one
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byInuyashafanforlife December 31, 2010

For adults only

On a Mature content scale of one to ten I give it a ten because it if full of filth and violence. A gangster would only watch it. Parents do not let children watch this. This may be informative, but in a mature way and does emphisize violence an a soulution to problems that can be solved in a non violent way. This show sets a bad example big time for children. The creator must have been dumb enough to use the power of an attorney to force adult swim to air this. This is also a prime example of how cartoonists who have been around violence and gangs are able to abuse the legal of an attorney. This is not how to air a cartoon people. This should be illegal for cartoonists in the united states to do anyway. Do not do this not even for the sake of money
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, and 18 year old Written bymykidsarebabies April 13, 2015

BOONSDOCKS FROM DA DEVIL

RACIST RACIST RACIST RACIST RACIST RACIST RACIST RACIST
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byChildrenDontGrowOld January 7, 2011

a good reason to stay up late

Woah! There's a lot of young teenagers and kids that watch the Boondocks how dope is that...kids if you're parents won't let you watch this show and you have an interest in it watch it anyway, you'll learn a lot.
Parent of a 14 year old Written byResaluve August 15, 2010

boondocks tee idle

i love this show no matter anything thats said thats inapropreate its a funny show and it doesnt really effect a childs judgement for anything
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byclarence August 4, 2015
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of an infant, infant, infant, 1, 2, 2, 3, 4, 4, 5, 5, 6, 7, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 11, 11, 12, 13, 13, 14, 15, 15, 15, 16, 17, and 18 year old Written bynicoleandmeatwadss February 9, 2015

good but not for people under 7

this flim in my opinion whould be good for kids 7+
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byTheTrillonaire August 10, 2014

Funny TV Show, But not made for viewers Under 14.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byNorico April 14, 2014
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byBOOKRATINGS March 27, 2014

17 and older recommended

For cartoon nudity, intensely suggestive dialouge, crude indecent language, and mature themes.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educator Written byBigchris August 2, 2013

On the fence

Ok well I am a white man and am 23 I haven't watched this show Mutch. But from the three shows I did see here is a description from show to show ok here we go the first one I watched was about the r Kelly trial and i Found the sexual humor of it to be very offenceive I still remember one joke. " wat h out or I will pee on u too Huey " one kid sayed to his brother now for the second and more funny episode there grandfather "Grandad" as they refer to him decided to sneak them and one other child in the theater to see a restricted movie and that show was very very funny loved the preivew before the movie joke it's about pirating movies witch scared Huey and another child ha ha loved that one lol ok well guess I am done here lol bye
Adult Written byhell awsome April 28, 2012

best show

I think that this show is incredibly awsome it has some sweet action scenes but the language is very bad.I watch it sometimes on adult swim i also suggest that kids under 9 should not watch this show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTV-14-DLSV Teen Boy April 1, 2012

Funny TV Show.

The Boondocks is Really Funny and Inappropriate for kids. But I love This TV Show and Its RATED: TV-MA. I Might Own Some Seasons!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bySafetyGoose September 17, 2011

Great Show for Show with a Positive Message for Socially Aware Audience (Not for the politically unaware).

Although the show depicts many things that most educations and parents would deem inappropriate, any socially aware viewer would know that the show is intelligent satire. Still, viewers under 14 might receive the wrong messages and enjoy the show for the wrong reasons. In all honesty, the main character, Huey Freeman, is a positive role model. The show discourages gang violence, and only receives the "TV-MA" rating for its use of the 'N-word.'
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Adult Written bynivlac September 5, 2011

bondocks rocks

we all need to be open minded i love the show ......the best way to remove the negtive stigmas we have created is 2 be able to laugh about it ...............
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byGlass-Cheshire May 27, 2011

Understand the symbolism, and look in yourself.

In relation to R.KELLY'S urination, it's R.Kelly. And youonly watched one episode, so kindly ACTUALLY WATCH THE SHOW BEFORE YOU MAKE A REVIEW. This show tells us about ourselves. Short and sweet. Everyone represents a generalized member of the community. Just read or watch any of McGruders interviews, and GET THE THOUGHTS BEHIND THE SHOW. It's not just violence to be violent, raunchy to be raunchy, or stereotypical to be stereotypical. There's actual thought behind it, and it's an insult to a man such as McGruder who thinks outside the box to ony watch one episode with no thought, and say it's nasty But...It isn't for kids...AND WASN'T INTENDED TO BE SO. It started out as a POLITICAL SATIRE STRIP. Read the strip first. It's cleaner.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bybnmjy April 24, 2011

I agree with the age suggestion here

I believe a 16 year old would be able to comprehend the sociological mockery of this show. Most kids under 16 would probably find this show only blatantly makes fun of black people. It it a humorous show, but I definitely do not recommend any kids watching it. They simply will not "get it."
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byilikecats1 June 21, 2010

Great show worth watching

This show teaches children(as it is a cartoon) That there is another way to solve our problems and that way is to kung fu fight. It deals with issues such as racism and unhealthy foods and drugs, I applaud this show for showing the African American community that its problems exist and should be taken care of and all with an all negro voice cast.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bynjn August 13, 2009
cool
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages

Pages