All parent member reviews for The Fosters

Parents say

(out of 32 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Parent Written byKarrie42 June 13, 2013

A foundation of love and family values

Fabulous show - I didn't expect this high quality of show on ABCfamily - but here it is. In addition to being fun and engaging to watch, the show consistently sends exactly the messages I want my children to hear: be kind to others, love each other, forgive mistakes, listen, laugh with those you love and success is made up of failures - so keep trying. It's been a long time since TV had a smart, funny show portraying a family I can look up to. In addition, the show tackles complicated subjects with poise - and doesn't give easy answers - just shows good people doing the best they can at the moment (step-families and co-parenting, struggles and joys of a bi-racial identity, complication of adolescent relationships, etc.) Will be tuning in all season! On another note, it was difficult to choose the age range for this show. The plot lines are more focused on older children (dating, identity, drugs, relational aggression between peers), yet the majority of the viewtime is on dealing with/solving these problems and not depicting too much on screen. And finally - a large number of negative ratings from parents recently showed up on this website - all focused on warning others of the dangers of watching these two loving woman raise a family. Be warned! Watching this show may shatter images you have of the gay "lifestyle." Here's a secret - it involves a lot of folding laundry and making peanut butter sandwiches.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent Written byKerner June 18, 2013

Fosters not for family

Would not let my children watch this show. Huge number of parents are now boycotting abc family because it isn't showing family friendly shows anymore.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byarms August 9, 2013

Really, ABC "Family" . . . What are you thinking!!?!

I watched 20 minutes of this show with my 13 year old daughter. In that time, two 15 year old kids had unprotected sex, paid someone to buy a morning after pill. One of the foster moms happened to intercept the transaction and took the pill away, but later gave it to her boyfriend's girlfriend without consulting her parents. Seriously?!! Normalizing, even glamourizing this type of behavior through the Hollywood spotlight is completely irresponsible. If it was truly a good show, the writers wouldn't have to rely so heavily on controversy to get ratings.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written bymom47andmore August 15, 2013

Hands down - best family show on TV - teens and parents should be watching it together!

Our family loves this show. My 12 year old is mature and we have always provided good education about sex, decision making, birth control etc. I do understand that this show might be a little mature for some 12 year olds. Some of the violence has been challenging for her and we have had to talk about it a great deal. Having said that.. this is a family show.. we watch it together and it has become a significant part of our family life. I am so impressed with the issues that the parents work through and how they demonstrate healthy communication even when they don't always get it right the first time. The kids have diverse issues and there are many challenges but everyone's needs get addressed. We love that the lesbian parents are fantastic role models. Also, the writers are attentive to giving multiple perspectives on certain issues. We noted that in the same episode where a girl acknowledges to her friend that her first time having sex was really fun and felt great (also with someone she loves) another girl is grappling with a past experience of unwanted sex/sexual assault by someone she had liked and trusted. These contrasts are subtle but give attentive parents something wonderful to work with in conversations with their kids!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 year old Written bySuburban Mom of Five February 22, 2014

Drugs, drinking, lying, stealing, etc.

My daughter wanted to watch this show, so I read the common sense review a few weeks ago. There weren't too many reviews and it basically said that it was a heartwarming show about foster kids rated 12 and up. My daughter watched a few episodes, but I finally got a chance to sit down with her and watch one last night. There was a party where all the kids except two were drinking. There was a kid smoking pot. There was a kid with a fake ID buying alcohol for others. One of the main characters stole money from his dad, used it to pay off a witness and now might be going into the business of making fake ID's to pay his dad back. The one mom is a police officer and lied under oath. When she came clean, her boss covered it up to protect her. A girl offered her panties to a boy to get her to meet her up in a room. This is NOT a show I want even my high schooler watching!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 July 24, 2013

AWESOME!

There are many positive messages and role.models. There is some violence throughout the season, there many talks of sex and many scenes of kissing and making out but its nothing a teen doesnt do or talk about. Best show i have ever seen.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 12 year old Written bycrystanp June 30, 2015

Amazing and inspiring

This show tells about the lgbt community and talks how you should raise foster kids. It's really inspiring showing how to lesbian parents raise these child and still have time for there own love life. And it really doesn't have that much sex in it or and a decent amount of drinking and a very small amount of cursing. And not a lot of violence so it's not that bad for children maybe 11 or 12 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byfivehands7 January 19, 2015

Great show for the Time

This show is great for kids and parents alike. Portrays the struggles of raising teenagers and illustrates compelling family dynamics. The couple raising the teens happens to be a bi-racial lesbian couple. Introduces kids to the similarities of gay families heterosexual families. Parents are able to see the same. Topics range from dating, violating rules, divorced parents raising children, adopting and fostering children. Great show to gain others perspectives! The relationship between the parents and kids is great, the parents respect the kids, which allows the kids to trust their parents. Minimal violence and some sexual content but nothing teenagers don't already know. Not afraid to admit that I cried at least once in the majority of the episodes. Have only seen the first season, so I don't know about the second.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bycommonsensegal September 25, 2013

The Fosters is the best!

This is a really good quality show! It emphasizes diversity and is a show people can relate to. It is my second favorite show! Maia Mitchell is one of my celebrity crushes! I love Stef Fosters character! I love Lena's character! I love Teri Polo! I love Sherri Saum! The moms are the best! I especially like Callie and Jude's character.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written byBigchris June 27, 2013

Except for a couple of problems really sweet show

I really. Liked this show when I watched it I don't. Support gay marige myself but I was able to kinda forget about that once I started watching and also I don't think the two moms fit each other very well wat I mean is one is a total hard ass and the other seems. Sweet calm and melow it's just awkward. But The show its self is really good with heart humor and real family values if u can just ignore the gay coupel u might find a new family show and ps the show is true on one thing it's not how bad of a background u have its not where u cone from its where someone loves u and where u belong please atleast consider adopting this family in to your homes and hearts it really is worth it
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byDJansen June 24, 2013

Poorly done

This is too contorversial for kids. I do not agree with this show. Too confusing for adults let alone kids. Wont be watching anymore.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 18+ year old Written byjessica4eva November 18, 2013

best t-v show outta my select few suspence is killing me to watch episode 11 :p

I think this T-v series is and excellent show for the family to watch to give an insight on the real thing of how most foster family's are. I love it due to it being what I not expected it to be it was more realistic and down to what most foster family's are like basically the real deal and I would recommend for the family with teens of just anyone to sit and watch it. it gets me to the point where I want to watch the next episode due the to suspense of having to wait kills me......... over all 100% love the show and would watch it over and over... my kids love and as do the friends and some of them and in the foster care system............ so good luck on my review and hope you enjoy the show as much as I do.....
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, 2, 6, and 10 year old Written byAG Fan Parent August 5, 2013

Amazing, great messages about family, relationships, and teen issues!

Apart from PLL, I have never seen a show I liked more than this. The main premise is the family thing (having the adopted kids and the foster kids) but the individual plots are not just about that. The plot line that I enjoy the most is the one where Mariana is meeting her birth mom, but it's very interesting to see Callie deal with liking Brandon when she's not allowed to be with him. There is so much good stuff in this show, that I love. I love the awareness this is giving to the foster care system, and I love that it's doing a great job of just openly addressing the controversial issue of gay relationship (and showing that they're right). My favourite character is Mariana, because she's just very interesting and I like how realistic she is (teenage girls are like that. I don't like how everyone says Mariana is mean or b***y or something when that's just how 15-year-old girls ARE). Cierra Ramirez is a fabulous actress, too. Callie is an amazing character, too, she's so kind and has definitely been developed the most from episode 1. There is not a single character on this show I don't like, except maybe Stef. All of the actors are great. Overall, this is an amazing show! It does address drinking, teen sex, and have several violent scenes, but they all have good messages about the issues. It is a definite TV-14, though, unlike even PLL which can be PG a lot of times. I'd say depending on the maturity, any kid 11 and up could watch it (my 10-year-old loves it, but sometimes I have to turn it off for some parts), but certainly not every 11-year-old (or even every 12/13-year-old).
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byjanedoesmith December 28, 2015

Morally Irresponsible

I am gay, and an atheist. Yet I find The Fosters television show unacceptable for teens. This show depicts loving parents. They got that right. Unfortunately, these parents are also clueless and extend too much trust. They respond to the most horrific issues with poor judgement. The characters, children and adults, are narcissistic. They all conceal, lie, sneak, steal, deceive, conspire and may react violently. Every family with teens knows that it’s a challenge to keep them on the right track. Nevertheless, my fear is that this show has the wrong message. It seems to me, that this show says, even if your parents love you, don’t trust them. Even if your partner loves you, don’t trust them. In a few episodes they allowed one of the children to trust an adult. Yet in horror, my children were witness to misplaced trust that resulted in the rape of a 16 year old boy. Why? Just why? Everything in this show has a dark side. It is neither family friendly, moral, nor uplifting television.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byDeLosReyes June 12, 2015

READ THIS

I caught onto this show a year after it had been on the air and it was so good I had to go back and binge watch on Netflix in time to see the new season. This show is great for people of all ages. It gives everybody something to talk about and gives people a chance to see different family dynamics. This show is great at showing all sides of a situation instead of just agreeing with the most popular answer. It is also good especially for children becausr it follows a more realistic timeliness than other shows. Not every problem is solved in the hour that the show is on. It touches on all subjects from children being bullied at school, children not making the right decision, parents fighting, children being embarrassed of their parents, lying, stealing to forgiveness, family, coming together in times of need, self acceptance, and love. This show can make you laugh and cry. I think everybody should watch it and they can find a little of themselves in these characters. Just remember to watch more than one episode because they really rely on continuity.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written byfalling_dawn October 25, 2013

Good values, very enjoyable

I think this show is excellent, it shows the values I want to teach my child, it also shows that children and adults make mistakes but it is how we deal with those mistakes that is important. it does not shy away from hard issues facing most teens in high school and life but it is not over the top or graphic in any way - we really enjoy watching it , I would only recommend with a younger audience ( 10-14/15) watching it with them as they will have questions or will need more complex issues explained and talked about
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written bymomof4teacherofmany July 4, 2014

Teenage Porn

We are completely appalled that ABC family is rating this age 14 as well as Common Sense Media. My first introduction to this show was 30 minutes into the 3rd episode ("Play") of the 2nd season. Someone should be losing their job for allowing this episode to be rated 14 and on an ABC family network. It's uncomfortable. It's inappropriate. It's definitely does not have appropriate conversations and topics happening for children to be viewing. Two women talking about watching porn to get them "in the mood" is crazy. No matter the sexual preference, multiple scenes in this episode make me trust ABC Family no more. Why can't the two moms be raising the foster kids with all that comes with that and life's conflicts. WHY are we pushing all the sex scenes and sex talk? Is it to "up" the ratings? REALLY???? "Breakfast on Tiffany" It's wrong. Common Sense Media PLEASE change your rating. Parenting is already hard enough. I have spent years trusting and agreeing with Common Sense Media. This one is way off. I'm scared to watch the whole first season now. Watch this episode alone ("Play") and decide for yourself. It's appalling.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byLizzie Hunter May 31, 2014

Great show!

This show has great role models for kids. I think a lot of reviews over exaggerate on what's inappropriate. I read one review that said a boyfriend was sending nudes to his girlfriend when all he did was send her a picture with his shirt off. I do understand how so people can think its a little inappropriate but by the age of 12 kids already know about sex from school and social media. Also I think it's great that they show a lesbian couple because you rarely see this on television. There is a little bit of drinking and drugs but nothing that a kid doesn't know about. I really think parents should let their 12 year old daughters/sons watch this show is sends across a great message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byedgardoa March 29, 2016

The Fosters

The Fosters is the better TV show is the best I've ever seen. They made me see the world with a different point of view.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byarajlynn July 24, 2016

Progressive

This show is progressive and bold and shows a positive and supportive lesbian couple raising their children. The show takes a look at many different complicated issues such a equality, the foster care system, parenting, and he complexities of growing up. The show would of course be a complex show for young teenagers and children, but honestly it's about time that we take a look at what is different without assuming it's wrong. These mothers are loving and they are offering a view into a lesbian family system when so many are still clinging to old ideas of inequality. This show makes clear that times are hanging for the better. Love does not look the same for everyone. And it's nice to see a progressive show that is actually telling a story with watching.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages