All parent member reviews for The Fosters

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 18 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent Written byKerner June 18, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Fosters not for family

Would not let my children watch this show. Huge number of parents are now boycotting abc family because it isn't showing family friendly shows anymore.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byketchasketch July 2, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

abc family... oxymoron

not for children... the network is trying to make up your mind for you on controversial issues
Educator Written byBigchris June 27, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Except for a couple of problems really sweet show

I really. Liked this show when I watched it I don't. Support gay marige myself but I was able to kinda forget about that once I started watching and also I don't think the two moms fit each other very well wat I mean is one is a total hard ass and the other seems. Sweet calm and melow it's just awkward. But The show its self is really good with heart humor and real family values if u can just ignore the gay coupel u might find a new family show and ps the show is true on one thing it's not how bad of a background u have its not where u cone from its where someone loves u and where u belong please atleast consider adopting this family in to your homes and hearts it really is worth it
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byDJansen June 24, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Poorly done

This is too contorversial for kids. I do not agree with this show. Too confusing for adults let alone kids. Wont be watching anymore.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAmericanplaya217 July 24, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

AWESOME!

There are many positive messages and role.models. There is some violence throughout the season, there many talks of sex and many scenes of kissing and making out but its nothing a teen doesnt do or talk about. Best show i have ever seen.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educator and Parent Written bymom47andmore August 15, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Hands down - best family show on TV - teens and parents should be watching it together!

Our family loves this show. My 12 year old is mature and we have always provided good education about sex, decision making, birth control etc. I do understand that this show might be a little mature for some 12 year olds. Some of the violence has been challenging for her and we have had to talk about it a great deal. Having said that.. this is a family show.. we watch it together and it has become a significant part of our family life. I am so impressed with the issues that the parents work through and how they demonstrate healthy communication even when they don't always get it right the first time. The kids have diverse issues and there are many challenges but everyone's needs get addressed. We love that the lesbian parents are fantastic role models. Also, the writers are attentive to giving multiple perspectives on certain issues. We noted that in the same episode where a girl acknowledges to her friend that her first time having sex was really fun and felt great (also with someone she loves) another girl is grappling with a past experience of unwanted sex/sexual assault by someone she had liked and trusted. These contrasts are subtle but give attentive parents something wonderful to work with in conversations with their kids!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byarms August 9, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Really, ABC "Family" . . . What are you thinking!!?!

I watched 20 minutes of this show with my 13 year old daughter. In that time, two 15 year old kids had unprotected sex, paid someone to buy a morning after pill. One of the foster moms happened to intercept the transaction and took the pill away, but later gave it to her boyfriend's girlfriend without consulting her parents. Seriously?!! Normalizing, even glamourizing this type of behavior through the Hollywood spotlight is completely irresponsible. If it was truly a good show, the writers wouldn't have to rely so heavily on controversy to get ratings.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 18 year old Written byjessica4eva November 18, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

best t-v show outta my select few suspence is killing me to watch episode 11 :p

I think this T-v series is and excellent show for the family to watch to give an insight on the real thing of how most foster family's are. I love it due to it being what I not expected it to be it was more realistic and down to what most foster family's are like basically the real deal and I would recommend for the family with teens of just anyone to sit and watch it. it gets me to the point where I want to watch the next episode due the to suspense of having to wait kills me......... over all 100% love the show and would watch it over and over... my kids love and as do the friends and some of them and in the foster care system............ so good luck on my review and hope you enjoy the show as much as I do.....
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written byfalling_dawn October 25, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good values, very enjoyable

I think this show is excellent, it shows the values I want to teach my child, it also shows that children and adults make mistakes but it is how we deal with those mistakes that is important. it does not shy away from hard issues facing most teens in high school and life but it is not over the top or graphic in any way - we really enjoy watching it , I would only recommend with a younger audience ( 10-14/15) watching it with them as they will have questions or will need more complex issues explained and talked about
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, 2, 6, and 10 year old Written byAG Fan Parent August 5, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Amazing, great messages about family, relationships, and teen issues!

Apart from PLL, I have never seen a show I liked more than this. The main premise is the family thing (having the adopted kids and the foster kids) but the individual plots are not just about that. The plot line that I enjoy the most is the one where Mariana is meeting her birth mom, but it's very interesting to see Callie deal with liking Brandon when she's not allowed to be with him. There is so much good stuff in this show, that I love. I love the awareness this is giving to the foster care system, and I love that it's doing a great job of just openly addressing the controversial issue of gay relationship (and showing that they're right). My favourite character is Mariana, because she's just very interesting and I like how realistic she is (teenage girls are like that. I don't like how everyone says Mariana is mean or b***y or something when that's just how 15-year-old girls ARE). Cierra Ramirez is a fabulous actress, too. Callie is an amazing character, too, she's so kind and has definitely been developed the most from episode 1. There is not a single character on this show I don't like, except maybe Stef. All of the actors are great. Overall, this is an amazing show! It does address drinking, teen sex, and have several violent scenes, but they all have good messages about the issues. It is a definite TV-14, though, unlike even PLL which can be PG a lot of times. I'd say depending on the maturity, any kid 11 and up could watch it (my 10-year-old loves it, but sometimes I have to turn it off for some parts), but certainly not every 11-year-old (or even every 12/13-year-old).
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bycommonsensegal September 25, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Fosters is the best!

This is a really good quality show! It emphasizes diversity and is a show people can relate to. It is my second favorite show! Maia Mitchell is one of my celebrity crushes! I love Stef Fosters character! I love Lena's character! I love Teri Polo! I love Sherri Saum! The moms are the best! I especially like Callie and Jude's character.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byLizzie Hunter May 31, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great show!

This show has great role models for kids. I think a lot of reviews over exaggerate on what's inappropriate. I read one review that said a boyfriend was sending nudes to his girlfriend when all he did was send her a picture with his shirt off. I do understand how so people can think its a little inappropriate but by the age of 12 kids already know about sex from school and social media. Also I think it's great that they show a lesbian couple because you rarely see this on television. There is a little bit of drinking and drugs but nothing that a kid doesn't know about. I really think parents should let their 12 year old daughters/sons watch this show is sends across a great message.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 7, 9, 11, 13, and 15 year old Written bySuburban Mom of Five February 22, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Drugs, drinking, lying, stealing, etc.

My daughter wanted to watch this show, so I read the common sense review a few weeks ago. There weren't too many reviews and it basically said that it was a heartwarming show about foster kids rated 12 and up. My daughter watched a few episodes, but I finally got a chance to sit down with her and watch one last night. There was a party where all the kids except two were drinking. There was a kid smoking pot. There was a kid with a fake ID buying alcohol for others. One of the main characters stole money from his dad, used it to pay off a witness and now might be going into the business of making fake ID's to pay his dad back. The one mom is a police officer and lied under oath. When she came clean, her boss covered it up to protect her. A girl offered her panties to a boy to get her to meet her up in a room. This is NOT a show I want even my high schooler watching!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written bybobdg2000 January 13, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Is this the porn channel?

Flipping through the channels in my hotel room, I thought I stumbled across the "adult" channel. Two women snuggling in bed and kissing. Then in the corner of the screen, I see "abc family"!!! I kept watching just to see how low tv has sunk. I don't have cable or dish in my home. I had to laugh once the program was over and a "Christian Broadcasting Network" show was next. It was preceded by the disclaimer "The following CBN broadcast does not reflect the ideas or views of ABC family". Well duh! They can show hookers, drugs, and homosexuality to our kids but they make sure they distance themselves from a Christian broadcast! Ha! I chose 2 stars because that was labeled disappointing.
What other families should know
Too much sex