Parent reviews for The Good Doctor

Common Sense says

Doc on autism spectrum defies prejudices in medical drama.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 17 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 16 reviews
Parent Written byJohn S. October 26, 2017

THe show is good for the first 3 episodes then..

The shows gets into nudity and s ex . Eve the main character is into playboy type magazines as and looking at scantily clothed women on picturres on the bus and misses his bus stop. that is enough for me. I am off the bus too this show and will not be watching another episode

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written byOfficer Dad November 22, 2017

Why do they have to mix such a nice show with adult crap.

I understand that they are trying to appeal to a wide variety of audiences, but I really get irritated that I cannot watch an interesting and thought provoking story with my 13 year old daughter, without it having to introduce very adult subject matter such as "screwing outside of relationship" and " every man watches porn". Why!!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byiluvlabs0 October 7, 2017

Excellent family television!

My thirteen-year-old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed the first two episodes. There is a bit of tough in the surgical scenes. The age of appropriateness would be determined by the teen's ability to stomach the surgery. I love the educational value of introducing the inclusion of people with differences and disabilities. Great messages!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bychrisman28 September 25, 2017

i dont get the 3 star review

I watched this show ahead of the premeire and I absolutely loved what I saw I feel it can only get better from here the lead is stupendous and very talented his character is a good example of someone who is a pure miracle and I believe this is going to make Monday prime time television great again for the first time In a couple of years I am excited about Monday night tv again and its all thanks to dr shaun murphy

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent Written byFancy F. October 24, 2017

Love love it

My little brother loves this show. It gives him hope! He’s autism as well! It’s a good show my whole family and I watch it and are excited for Monday’s now!
Parent of a 16 and 18+ year old Written bynuenjins October 29, 2017

Doogie Howser it aint, but is dynamically different than it's peers.

Of course with most TV shows they have to ruin the family friendly part with casual sex amongst it's charecters. Apart from this unecessary tasteless habit the show is interesting but often eye rolling as well. This causes the show to stay just barely above average as it is not as engaging in the believability as it is it's uniqueness. Let's hope it improves and doesn't become cartoonish. Other reviewers complain that this isn't a fair depiction of autism. THIS may not be the NORMAL depiction as much as it is an interpretation of a type that 'could' be possible. Although I'm not a big believer in the trigger happy age of diagnosing everyone with something i know that there are people that have real and actual issues and this show does well to tap that interplay and dynamic very well and in a relatable way.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bySpike G. March 24, 2018

Really, it'd be 3 and a half stars. But this is one of the best representations of autism on television, save for a few things.

Yes, it's okay to triumph over adversity --- Shaun having to prove he's more than his condition, but the show almost never mentions, as my sister rightly points out, that Shaun's skills come at least partly from his autism. One episode later in the season had a wheelchair-bound guy saying something along the lines of "I would still be the same person without the wheelchair", but trying to extend that to autism isn't good. Otherwise the show did pretty well with representation. As for content, it's pretty much good for all teenagers. Medical procedures appear in most if not all episodes and this includes exposed organs being operated on, one episode had a facial surgery, there's that thing where they put a camera down someone's throat, but surgery is a given on this show. But then, as an Australian film/TV buff, I'd like to comment about you Americans finding more offense in the fact these characters have implied sex lives and occasionally talk about sex rather than being more unnerved by graphic medical procedures. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------I have a pretty tough stomach for content, just not violence toward animals (which occurs in the pilot, a rabbit is thrown against a wall, but that's all there has been). Back to my other point, it's less "adult crap" than just a part of life, and life isn't some cheesy always goody-goody "Touched by an Angel" episode with overdone piano music. (And that's coming from a Christian!) Life has sexuality, surgery and even the occasional swear word like this show ("d*mn", "a*s" and similar mild language feature). The sex is restrained compared to some things. I bet at least one of you either watches or lets your children watch "How I Met Your Mother" or "Friends" or something similar, it's honestly no worse than those TV-14 shows (yes, I know the American systems too). Sometimes I even laugh at these parents' reviews that they're so overdone. "My 8 year old child went to Guardians of the Galaxy (PG-13 in the US, M in Australia which is equivalent) and there was too much sweeeeaaarrring!" (Never mind the violence.) Look at the rating. Be a parent, for goodness sake. ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------You have to learn that teens and maybe older kids (11+) could handle this show easily, and will learn about sex and life, et al. They're going to be an adult one day. They're going to hear dirty words. Better to hear a dirty word or have sex with someone they trust than to beat someone up, no? Okay. Watch, like and thankyou for reading. (Note: The items are not for "too much" anything.)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byLowe's man November 9, 2017

good doctor, great show

While this show should be taken seriously, it's important not to overgeneralize that all autistic college graduates are good in science. Indeed, while many autistic college graduates- and college students- are, not all are. That said, this series shows how autistic people sometimes see things differently. In Shawn Murphy's case, that is an asset. In other words, he's a good doctor not in spite of having autism, but BECAUSE of it, as he is able to save lives that his colleagues felt were unsavable. This is a great opportunity for parents to talk to their teens about autism, and how- like snowflakes- each one is unique (meaning that no 2 autistic people are alike). They should also talk about how the different perspectives of someone with autism sometimes sheds a new light on a subject- any subject. As for ages, this show gets a red light for 11 and under, a yellow light for 12 and 13, and a green light for 14 and up.
Adult Written bylisa c. October 31, 2017

Great

que lino el drama

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 12, 14, and 16 year old Written byCarol S. January 9, 2018

Autism in a positive light

The best part of this show is that the lead character is autistic and the portrayal not only highlights the struggles he faces but about people who take the time to understand, guide, believe in and befriend him. I think the general public doesn't know how to react to people who have unconventional behavior traits - and its really cool to see the characters on this show that embrace those differences and adjust themselves for him. Yes maybe some of the themes are more for adults - and I hope they don't ruin it by having it go too far with those things. However they portray Shaun as a variation of normal and they show all the normal things that a young guy his age would be doing. If nothing else, The Good Doctor has the potential to educate on understanding and behavior that is a good model to approach anyone who is "different" from ourselves.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byDebra H. April 1, 2018

Best Series

I love the Good Doctor and have been watching since day 1. Please do not let Dr. Glassman die. I just watched this episode and every time I watch an episode I think this is Great television. I personally can't believe the reviews this is getting. Love the show and I am really picky about what I watch. Best show in a long time.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byDolored D. May 5, 2018

I think it's great

Personally dealing with a child with autism Austin now is 15 he has learned so much from watching Shaun Murphy the character has brought him forward it showing real life from every aspect to your allowed to make mistakes too there is going to be nudity there is going to be some sexual innuendos and that people are human but people also are accepting
Adult Written byDolored D. May 5, 2018

I think it's great

Personally dealing with a child with autism Austin now is 15 he has learned so much from watching Shaun Murphy the character has brought him forward it showing real life from every aspect to your allowed to make mistakes too there is going to be nudity there is going to be some sexual innuendos and that people are human but people also are accepting
Parent Written byElla D. May 1, 2018

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Adult Written bycharlotte s. April 10, 2018

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byJessica M. January 23, 2018

Could be so much better

Main character and premise of show is great. However there are no other strong characters in the show except Dr. Glassman. All of the other characters are horrible actors/actresses. PLEASE get rid of Kulu and Manendez and Claire. All HORRIBLE actors. I don't know if they have a medical advisor or not but if so; fire that person or if not get a good one. Most of the medicine is so blatantly wrong and many of the characters don't even pronounce easy medical terms correctly. If I were the producer I would be embarrassed. Grey's Anatomy is a much better show and this one will never compete and I hope it gets cancelled unless major changes are made.
Adult Written byAmandaM 20 January 18, 2018

So good!! I love this show Mondays at 9pm im right there to watch

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models