All parent member reviews for The Sopranos

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 11 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 and 10 year old Written bydavid.wallace May 13, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Worse For Kids than Pornography

Excellent show. Awful role models, profuse cursing, nudity, simulated intercourse, frequent displays of high end items ($15,000 Patek watches, Harry Winston diamond earings and necklaces). Virtually every character curses- including the FBI, Kids, and Doctors. The mobsters commit murders as if life has no value. The mobsters show no remorse and the show portrays them as the heros. There are numerous bar scenes, heroin, meth, crack, cigars, and cigarettes. There is domestic abuse, graphic decapitation, people burned alive, smothering elderly women, brutal beatings (often accompanied by laughing and cheering), strangling (shown close up), prostitute killings, castration (implied), a head gets run over by a idling car with children in the backseat, and countless shootings (literally countless, at least one per episode). There are also many illegal gambling scenes, prostitution, and robbery. The show sends the message that it is cool to be a mobster. This show can impact a child or even some adults in a very negative way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAllie Pierson June 10, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

The sydicated version is okay for kids, I'm sure.

I have not seen this show but I'm pretty sure that the sydicated version shown on A&E is okay.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 18 and 20 year old Written byfamily kid January 8, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

12 and up

this show is very good although there is harsh language and brutal violents it is amazing and u will be a fan very quickly i recommend this for ages 11 or 12 and up
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written bymoviedude19 May 25, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Tame Compared to Some of the Stuff on TV Nowadays

I used to sneak the channel to HBO to watch this when I was 11. I'm 24 now and rewatching it with an adult mindset. I always was more mature than the other children. But I can definitely say that this show is not for kids in the least. The sexuality isn't a deterrent so much as the gratuitous violence. I'm sure a kid of 13-14+ would have no problem watching it. I've seen worse stuff on FX nowadays.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bydalton81000 December 24, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Is it really that bad?

This TV show is one of my favorite shows ever made. I don't think this show is that bad, nothing is actually graphic, the only thing that jumps people is the swearing. You can find most HBO shows on this website and if you scroll down on that page, then you will see 5 circles line up on columns meaning how much of that category applies in the thing you searched on. On the "Language" category, most HBO television series have 4 circles or more on each show, but it's just some words, it's not like anyone is gonna hurt someone. More about this show is guns play a big role. There is a lot of shooting, beating, killings, and somewhere in between season 1, Tony Soprano strangles and kills someone (I can't remember the guy's name but he was rare to the show.) This show came out on HBO when I was 7 years old so my parents convinced to order HBO. I never thought anything was graphic at all. Language big thing and one more thing if you ever find this show again watch it uncut so buy the DVDs. I wrote this on 12-24-11 so it is not on HBO anymore. I think it is very awkward to watch it on a different channel because they replace every bad word with something that gets awkward after a while. I don't think you can ever picture Tony Soprano not swearing. Great show buy on Amazon and, Enjoy!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written bypulliamjrp April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bythe wise one March 19, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

The Sopranos

I recently finished the entire six seasons of The Sopranos a few weeks ago, and I would like preface my review by stating that it is definitely one of the best pieces of entertainment I have ever seen. The acting, the writing, the pacing, the cinematography, the music, and the characters are the best I have ever seen in a TV show. The Sopranos is an amazing show because it takes the stereotypical mafia genre and transforms it into something incredible while exploring various complex themes such as loyalty, family, friendship, trust, greed, death, lust, violence, crime, racism, revenge, substance abuse, pop culture, Italian American culture, betrayal, guilt, corruption, mental illness, jealousy, and morality to name just a few. Throughout the show's six seasons I was always blown away by what the writers were able to fit in 55 minute long episodes. The acting here is top-notch, every single character has their own unique personality and they are easily distinguishable from each other. The character arcs are amazing and many different and interesting subplots are explored throughout the show. However, the true star of the show is without a doubt, Tony Soprano. As the audience, we are able to witness Tony go through an incredible range of emotions and changes. We see him at his lowest points and his highest points. The show provides us with an intimate look into Tony's world by showing us how he handles all aspects of his life. We see how Tony handles relationships with family friends, business associates, police officers, politicians and of course, his enemies. There are two things that help this show keep away from the tried-and-true traditional themes we usually encounter in mob movies, and those are Tony's therapy sessions and his dreams. The therapy sessions and dream sequences humanize Tony Soprano, a ruthless mob boss, in a way that no other mob movie has. The supporting cast such as Carmela (Tony's wife), AJ and Meadow (Tony's children), and Christopher Moltisanti (Tony's nephew and associate) always give amazing performances and never fall flat. The dialogue is witty, sharp and many times, extremely humorous. With all this mind, it is without a doubt, not a show for children by any means. Every episode of The Sopranos contains constant strong language, nearly every vulgar word you can possibly think of is said on this show. The show has no positive role models. People lie, cheat, steal, backstab, and kill without any hesitation. Politicians, judges, police officers and the FBI are all portrayed as being mostly corrupt and incompetent at their jobs. The majority of the men on the show cheat on their wives and have many different girlfriends. One of the main characters deals with a serious drug addiction and there are many graphic scenes of heroin and cocaine use. Nudity is prevalent in nearly every episode as one of the main hangouts of the characters is a strip club. Sexual content is graphic and often includes thrusting, explicit dialogue, nudity, and loud moaning. Oral sex and anal sex are graphically shown. There are explicit discussions about both heterosexual and homosexual sex. Violence occurs frequently and sometimes suddenly. There are brutal beatings shown throughout the series, many people are shot suddenly with copious amounts of blood spraying or oozing from their wounds, some people are stabbed or strangled to death, and other people are mercilessly beaten with blunt objects, sometimes leading to their death. An old woman is smothered to death in one episode. Mutilated body parts are shown in one episode, including a severed human head. At one point, a man throws another man out of a second story window. Many characters drink to excess and insult each other. Most of the main characters make their money by intimidating and stealing from others, sometimes at gunpoint. Characters often engage in disrespectful and reckless behavior. The spoils of the criminal life are shown very often with the main characters living in large homes, wearing designer suits and expensive jewelry, and driving luxury cars. Both legal and illegal gambling are shown often, including card games, table games, sports betting, and horse racing. One supporting character develops an extreme gambling habit and is forced to sell his business because of it. Women, for the most part, are treated very poorly and are expected to put up with it. There are some scenes of disturbing domestic violence, including men beating women. It also implied that many of the women employed at the strip club owned by the main character are prostitutes. Overall, there is nothing positive or of redeeming value here for children. I would recommend this show strictly for adults.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byDavebrayfbu December 28, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not for kids

100% not for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRIPsquishy August 10, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Badabing!

i'm a sucker for mafia-related paraphernalia. that said, this show is definitely one of the most intense & crazy tv shows i've ever seen. i can only say that i've seen it on A&E (edited), but even then, they show you enough to give you a little bit of a taste for the uncut version. NOT FOR THE KIDDIES. not even for teens, in my opinion. tons of violence, naked people & f-words flying off the pan. do yourselves a favor & keep this show for late-night watching when the kids are in bed. with your door locked. if the kids walked in on this, i can guarantee it'll be as awkward as the "mommy, where do babies come from?" conversation.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bybigevil1888 January 19, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great Show!

This is a great show i love the story of Tony and his family. I'd give it a 10 out of 10. I'd recommend it for Mauture Audiance Only because of Language, violence and sexual content.
Adult Written byGhcool April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY