All member reviews for Winx Club

Common Sense Media says

Fairy-themed cartoon raises body-image issues for tweens.

Users say

(out of 115 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Parent Written byMrsAmyola December 3, 2011

Profanity used on show!

An episode aired 12-1-2011 titled "Breaking The Mask" showed a male angry at a female fairy yelling "you (word for a female dog)" at her. Definitly language that is not welcome in my home. I filed a complaint with the FCC and hope this makes other parents just as furious as it does me.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byA-Deadly-Serenade February 3, 2013

Bad influence? You're kidding, right?

This show is a bad influence? Haha, oh gosh... If you people only have problem with how the girls are proportioned, then the show clearly isn't as bad as few of you claim it to be. The girls are drawn slightly skinny, yes, but that is just the style of the show. Yes they are a bit on the skinny side, but at least they don't have large breasts and wear practically nothing at all. (Like most women/teens are portrayed in animes) The girls hardly wear anything as revealing as few of you claim. Sure they show their bellies once-in-awhile, but at least their clothes are tasteful. Tecna hardly reveals anything; same goes for Musa, Layla, Flora and Bloom. (Stella tends to wear strapless dresses but, is isn't that bad) The most revealing outfits they wear are there Sophix and Lovix outfits and those are shown in one episode. Big deal. The girls are not self-centered and do not only care about boys and their reputations. Each member of the Winx sends out their own positive message and the characters themselves are not vain and do not obsess over boys. (Stella maybe, but that's about it) Tecna is smart and cares very much about her studies and being successful in life; Layla is strong willed and doesn't let a difficult task bring her down or discourage her from why she's trying to accomplish; Musa enjoys the arts and music, being creative and supporting creativity; Flora loves nature and tries showing this in mainly all the episodes she's in—reinforcing that we should and love and appreciate the Earth we have; Bloom is a leader and believes in trusting your friends and believing in yourself; even Stella sticks up for her friends and shows that beauty isn't everything. I also like how the show incorporated real-life situations. Stella's parents are divorced; Bloom was adopted; Musa's mother passed away—all very real situations that an audience of teen girls can relate too. (Some more than others) I know that Stella's situation will be the most relatable and I like that they added this hint of reality into the show. I for one, respect Stella's character more due to this. She struggles throughout season one dealing with her parents being apart. She loves them both equally and really feels awful that they separated; she even blaming herself at times. And what's wrong with a little romance? The girls are teenagers so they are bound to have a love interest. They hardly even kiss throughout the series so I don't see what the problem is. (Plus, when season five came around, the girls were already in their 20's so...there shouldn't be a problem with hugs and kisses) This show isn't a bad influence and if you still think so, you might as well take Barbie away for driving a convertible; take Pokémon away for promoting 'animal' fighting; and take Harry Potter away for portraying evil and promoting sorcery.
Adult Written byChrisams August 20, 2010

Great for Tweens

For a show aimed at Tweens (9-14+), Winx Club is right on the mark. The character design is distinctive, colourful and girly, other reviewers have pointed out the "sexualised" nature of the characters, but I disagree there - I don't see it as any more sexist than Barbie, Bratz or any other kids show. The actual characters themselves are all generally likable, which by comparison to many other shows actually have some depth - as far as them being role models is concerned, they're not any worse than most other kids shows, giving them longterm boyfriends (some of them are engaged) rather than flings was a great idea, im my opinion - it re-enforces the ideals of marriage and lasting relationships. Comparable shows would be W.I.T.C.H, Transformers or He-Man. Your kids could do a lot worse than watch this show.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5 year old Written byTahiti1 February 18, 2012

Fabulous example of "Girl Superhero's"

Let me quickly start by saying that a small part of me agrees with some of the other reviewers that this show's boyfriend/girlfriend element is not necessary for younger kids, but I don't think it was made for super young kids anyway. That said, I do believe that its strengths completely outweigh this aspect for younger kids - not to mention the fact that the 'boyfriend' element is really pretty benign in that they generally refer to each other as friends and there is very little physical touching or sappy love talk. Now, that being said, we are pretty strict as to what we allow our children to watch and at face value perhaps would not have introduced this show to our 5 year old just yet if we were just flipping thru channels. HOWEVER, we were struggling to find a positive female superhero role model for our daughter, who was beginning to believe that only boys could be strong and fight evil and that girls were only supposed to sit back and be 'lovely' or 'cute' but were not strong and had to 'be saved'. Our daughter attends a school where most of the kids are boys (not sure why), but she was having trouble finding a "girl superhero" that she could pretend to be who was acceptable to the boys that she plays with. The boys had declared that there were no such thing as girl superhero's because there were no shows, or anything else for that matter, to depict them. We of course disputed this with her, as we all know that there are indeed girl superhero's. However, upon reflection from today's 5 year old perspective, looking at shows available to them, movies, toys, room decor, etc., they are right. There is very little depiction of wonder woman, bat girl, spider girl, etc. anywhere to be found these days. Winx Club is really a wonderful show that not only illustrates that individuals have different strengths, but emphasizes respect, acceptance and kindness. It depicts a group of girls who are each from different 'worlds' and backgrounds - some princesses, some not - who come together at school to form the Winx Club. They are at this school to learn how to develop their powers and yes, do look like Barbies that transform to Fairy's, but they are all very different in both looks, personality and strengths. To me, they are what I would call "classical" teenagers, where they spend their free time giggling, shopping, grabbing pizza and having sleepovers - there is very little thought to modern teenage drama surrounding hurtful gossip, cell phones, & facebook. The girls can only earn greater power by doing selfless things for others and are provided guidance by a kind, yet strong, older woman who is their school director. The girls all respect that fact that they come from different backgrounds and support this in each other. They also recognize and respect the fact that they each have different powers and never display envy or selfishness in believing any other girl and/or her power is any more or less important that any others. They also recognize the value in teamwork and trust, and that each of their powers is necessary to ultimately defeat the evil Valtor. Their 'boyfriends' also have some power, but tend to provide more of a support/partner element to the girls - and are completely fine with their roles. This show provides girls (and boys) of all ages the message that its OK for girls to be leaders and team players; to have great strength, yet acknowledge that we all have weaknesses; to work hard at achieving something, yet sometimes fail; to befriend others from different backgrounds and not only accept them for who they are, but to find value in each others differences; it teaches the importance of giving of yourself, of friendship, trust, courage and communication. This show is has been wonderful for our daughter, in that its helped her begin to define who she is as a girl, a friend, and a 'superhero'. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byVictorian Gentlemen February 22, 2012

Nick I don't know what you were aiming for but you missed it

This show is to mind numbingly foolish and low budget for parents to survive watching for long times, and it is most certainly not for children. If your little boy watches it you need to have a serious conversation with him. If your little girl watches it either you are going to end up paying for serious therapy or spending much of you life regretting not living in the Victorian era. The characters are obviously portrayed as though they are supposed to be role models for young girls, and are obsessed with boys and dress the part. They are constantly mentioning fashion, which makes little girls think the way they dress is supposed to be fashionable and therefore the way girls should dress. I think the worst it gets is when they are on some ice world and one of the characters has made a special outfit to keep the cold out, which was effectively a glorified bra and mini skirt (and there I was thinking if you want to retain circulation in sub zero climes you should where at least a shirt, but I guess I'm just an old fashioned know-nothing).
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byprotectthechildren August 2, 2011

Let's not sexualize our youth!

This show is absolutely horrible. The outfits are so inappropriate. Girls will think they need to be that skinny and their self confidence will be damaged. Not to mention an increase in anorexia. The girls have boyfriends in the show and are always kissing, its disgusting. The girls in the show always have their legs spread apart and I see hidden refrences to porn in the way the girls sit and lay. It seems to me porn poses are hidden throughout the show. We dont need to sexualize our children, cruddy shows like this is why teen pregnancies are high.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byStellaMe August 7, 2011

I love the show, seriously amazing

Ok lets be honest here.. the Winx club is an amazing show the "violence" that people are going on about doesnt really exsist seriously i have watched ALL four seasons and i have YET to see blood/guts or anything too disgusting. thats point one point two i think it DOES have a lot of positive messages like "friendship, team work and self acceptance" ok the body of the Winx parents should talk to their kids tell them this is impossible explain it to your children, if parents arent willing to take the time to explain this stuff to their children then they shouldnt really blame the show for that, say they didnt have the "skinny" appearance would that really be better? somewhere down the line they will be exposed to certain "body images" from models as well so why hate on the Winx club characters?, this is a cartoon and no offense to anyone but if your kid cant seperate between reality and fiction...... As far as the boyfriend thing it goes from Like to Love as i see it .. which gives them hope of true love someday when their ready and that it doesnt happen automatically The clothes may be a little over the top but in the end its only a cartoon doesnt really matter, ive seen characters in worse on other shows so its not an issue as far as my family goes but i think the outfits are colorful playful and beautiful. its fantasy. people recommend "the little mermaid" to people when its only shells covering the upper body but claim this is bad?.. As far as the character "Stella" that everybody seems to dislike i dont understand why? the character is sweet popular and social . i think its qualities people want in their kids true fashion is imporant to the character but who doesnt have that crazed friend who cares about appearance atleast with her character she shows people that although appearance isnt everything it is important. dont you want children to take care of themselves? her character may seem Shallow but if you watch season 3 episode 22? i think the eisode when she gave up her looks for the "water stars" you'll see that appearance isnt everything to her .. now look at me i sound crazy going in depth with a fictional character but the thing is I love bubbly fun Stella.. although shes not my favorite character. I think the Winx club is thrilling, exciting, romantic and just plain fun to watch.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of an infant and 7 year old Written bySteffauri516 September 3, 2010
LEARNING

Lovely show! But body image is an issue...

For those of you who don't know, Nickelodeon did not create this show. In fact, Winx Club [the 'original' series] is over 10-years old. It came to America several times, being adopted first by the 4Kids network, briefly by Cartoon Network, and now by Nickelodeon partnering with it's studio of origin, Rainbow. -- Winx Club was created in Italy, it is a European cartoon. As an illustrator, I actually like the artwork. Yes, the exaggerated proportions [specifically on the girls] make unattainable and unhealthy body image an issue that may need to be addressed with tweenage girls, but it's doubtful your five year old will worry about her figure after watching. Anyways, I digress; the style is very iconic and uniquely recognisable. There is no other like it that I've seen. When I see this artwork, I know it's Winx Club, where a lot of cartoons and animes get lost in trying to keep up with the hype and copy one another's aesthetics, Winx Club stands out. My son is 4 and has no interest, and my daughter is 11 and practically eats up my season 1 box set! Now there may be a lot of concerns by parents, but I assure you, overall, the show is fun, proves that good actions always win over bad, makes the good and bad very obvious and easy to understand, and praises positive actions, as well as stressing the ideas of friendship and family. There are 6 seasons in the show, and each season is another year in time, so the main characters are approximately 20 to 23 years of age. They have had boyfriends since season 1 [most of them] and are in serious relationships with several girls hinting engagement. -- There is also the concept of arranged/forced marriage addressed by one member of the Club, Aisha who hails from a very traditionalist royal family. She is also around 17/18 years old at a time, so the young age may be problematic. While there is no blood or gore present, there are still fights, most of which have been very watered down compared to the original series, where "actual" weapons have been seen used by "humans" [non-magical people on Earth] These are now omitted, and the characters who utilize magical powers turn to light swords, shields, power-blasts and dodging blows mid-flight instead. Despite the watered down fight scenes, there is a death in the show. The boyfriend/fiancee of the character Aisha is "killed off" at the end of season 4. His death is not graphic or violent, as the show is quoted, he absorbed "too much dark energy" to save his friends and dies. Obviously, since this is a show aimed at children, there is no sex or hint to it in the show, but, I mentioned relationships earlier; the girls regularly hug and kiss their boyfriends, but there is no "graphic" or overly sexualised romance. However, by from the pictures, you can tell that the clothing is quite revealing for girls supposedly in their teens [at the start of the series] As they age-up in later seasons, and enter adulthood/progress into their 20s, their outfits become subtly more mature and less revealing than the skimpy clothes they sport in their teens, so it's really a fading issue. I put that learning really isn't existent in this show, because I believe it is mostly entertainment. There are some positive values present, but as far as having any educational value, there really isn't any. The show is purely grounded in fantasy and is meant [at least from my view] to be food for the imagination. It's wildly colorful, creative and fun. I would supervise younger children in watching the show for the first time or so, but for children 8 and up, I think they'd greatly enjoy it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 2 and 7 year old Written byluvblue34 September 20, 2012

Sailor Moon Returns in Fairy Form!

Does anyone remember Sailor Moon? Winx Club is just Sailor Moon for the next generation. A group of girls with super powers fighting evil in scantily clad clothes and high heel boots. Both programs portray and encourage friendship, selflessness, and doing the right thing because it's the right thing to do, not because there is some sort of reward. Both shows also gave the heroines boyfriends. BIG DEAL! I appreciate the heterosexual relationship displayed in the various stages, friendship turns to love, etc. There is nothing gross about it. It is not any different than Cinderella kissing Prince Charming in 1950. Get over it. The girls all seem to have a healthy relationship with their boyfriends. I think having the strong male presence throughout the show is crucial, it demonstrates how men and women can help one another and work together for a common goal. Getting upset about the boyfriends is just silly. Children understand at a very early age that men and women love each other, and that love is not lude or vulgar. If you think of sex instantly when you think of a boyfriend and girlfriend, then you have a dirty mind. I think a closed-mouth kiss or holding hands is sweet, and in general Winx Club depicts the innocent side of young love. I saw in a previous review that the idea of arranged marriages being addressed in a children's show is disturbing. Fact is, many cultures still enforce arranged marriages. Why shouldn't your little girl appreciate that she has the freedom to love and marry whom she chooses when she is grown? Also people, this is FANTASY, a cartoon, the creators of this show were not trying to depict real life. If you're concerned your child will become anorexic after watching Winx Club, then you should be equally concerned that they will try to fly or cast a spell. Cartoons are supposed to be outrageous and fun. True, the clothes are a bit...what's the word...oh yeah, skanky. I agree, the clothing is way too revealing for my tastes, but so is pretty much every other fairy show or fairy movie (Tinkerbell isn't exactly from the Victorian era) So, I would recommend watching this show first, without your child, to see if you think it is appropriate. There are worse shows out there.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byNorthWoodsMom November 22, 2013

Smart and kind female superheroes!

My daughter (age 7) just discovered this show on Netflix. Initially I was put off by the skimpy outfits the girls wear and the fact that they are very thin, but the positive messages from the show far outweigh the negative issues. I am picky about what I let my daughter watch, but I was shocked to read some of the negative reviews of this show -- and I feel like there are a lot of hypocritical and/or unrealistic parents out there. Gimme a break, even the Disney princesses aren't perfect role models! Some of the newer princesses like Rapunzel and Merida are portrayed as strong, smart, capable females who can take care of themselves, but most of those Disney girls are damsels in distress waiting for their prince to come and make their life perfect. Not only that, but Ariel is not exactly dressed conservatively -- her skimpy top and bare mid-drift rivals anything your kid will see on Winx! Tinkerbell is another example is a scantily clad Disney girl. And the same goes for Barbie, Monster High, and so on -- people who bash this show for the skimpy outfits and skinny bodies need to be honest about the fact that girls these days are bombarded with the same images from almost every toy, TV show and movie. Unless you live deep in the jungle or on a secluded mountain-top, your kid is GOING TO SEE these images - be realistic. Parents need to sit down and talk to their daughters about clothes and body image. All that said, I love that this show portrays strong, smart, and KIND girls who work together to solve problems, help each other, and fight bad guys. As another reviewer said, they are female superheroes! I love that my daughter gets to watch these girls use their brains and powers to help others and defeat bad guys. There are male characters in the show -- I love that the males and females help each other and come to each others' rescue (I don't like shows where either the males or females are portrayed as weaker or stronger than the other - as in the Disney movie Brave where Merida's father was portrayed mostly as a buffoon - BOTH men and women can be strong and smart and work together! I don't want to see sexism against men OR women!). Also, I like that these girls also have very different personalities, just like people in real life -- they are not perfect. And they are teenagers. There is one character (Stella) who is somewhat immature and selfish, but she always sees the error of her ways in the end and comes thru for her friends. And the main character, Bloom, is a very honest, kind, courageous, intelligent girl who wants to help others and seeks to do the right thing, even when she has to make sacrifices. The male characters do end up being boyfriends, but as another reviewer said, there is nothing overtly romantic or sexual going on -- the most they ever do (and VERY rarely) is kiss. Mostly they just refer to each other as friends and work together to defeat bad guys. C'mon people! There is more kissing in a Disney movie than in Winx! And as for violence, yes there are battles where a character get blasted out of the sky and falls to the ground, but there is nothing graphic (blood, etc). Looney Tunes is more violent than Winx. The male superhero cartoons (Batman, Superman, X-Men, etc) are way more violent than Winx. Are people uncomfortable with the fact that girls are engaged in physical combat? Welcome to the 21st century where women are now allowed to be on the front lines in the U.S. Military. If you want a show for your daughter that provides strong female role models who are smart, savvy, and can fight their own battles, then I recommend this show. If you want a show for your daughter that teaches kindness, compassion, courage, honesty and selflessness, then this is a good show. However, you do need to be willing to sit down and talk about the fact that it is not possible for a real girl to have a body like these fairies, nor is it appropriate to dress the way they do in real life. But these are fairies -- they aren't "real" anyway, so the message is that much easier to get across.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymamabear123 September 12, 2009
Sorry, Winx Club fans. My kids are banned. The sexy outfits on the girls are inappropriate, but I can overlook that in a cartoon if there are good messages. Last week I sat down to watch an episode with my 6 year old and there was a song about mean girls getting what they want. Messages that are sung are more likely to stick with a kid. No matter what else is good about this show, a song like that proves to me that the creators of the cartoon are not paying attention to younger (11 and under) audiences. Judging from the reviews on the fan sites, the audience for this cartoon is jr. high and up. We changed the channel. I think this show is fine for older kids.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written bykatumus5 February 9, 2013

Highly inappropriate outfits

A description of some of the clothing these fairies wear: Short mini skirt, mid thigh stockings, tiny bare midriff, and tight shirts over big boobs. Without looking at the pictures, what does this description sound like? A cute little cartoon for kids? Or a sexy dressed woman aimed to turn men on? Even the way these fairies pose is usually something we can see in most soft core pornographic images. So ask yourself, especially with the increasing amount of sexual predators, would YOU ever want your small young little girl wanting to dress like a sexy woman?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byKJordan714 December 14, 2011

NOT for a NICK JR channel, what gives Nick!?

The channel stayed on and this show came on, I perked up from studying after hearing "I just cant fathom the fact my parents want me to marry a complete stranger" and they went on to talk about arranged marriages....really? We turned the channel and I did some research on the show. Added: I wanted to also point out its time slow on the west coast is during prime preschooler time, my school age children are not home yet from school so this is a really bad time for this show.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old December 22, 2012

boring

the reason that i said not for kids was because its for girls not for boys and why did they create this show
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old August 14, 2014

Winx Club suck

To inappropriate to dumb to stupid. I mean really bras and bikinis. It sucks. I mean you wanna make you child watch inappropriate stuff. Whoever likes this suck. Whoever hate this is awesome. You are common sense media. Change it to 17. So whose with me. I even think My Little Pony Magic is Friendship is better. Even Barbie is better. I mean looking at there bellies. I was about to watch LEGO Legends of Chima but Winx Club but couldn't I change the clannel because of my sister but now she thinks it trash. There outfits are inappropriate. I watch the first season and the last episode. 1 person called this Stinkz Club I would call that to. Walking around with no clothes on. So come on whose with me.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byhowrselover January 25, 2012

don't bother

These fairies are like, anorexic. and they dress like hookers. sorry, it's the truth.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byATLparent June 28, 2011

Winx Club is great!

Action. Adventure. Fairies! My daughter loves the show! Stella and Bloom are her favorites. We won't miss an episode.
Kid, 12 years old July 24, 2012

WORST DANG SHOW EVER

I was gonna watch The Legend Of Korra, but this stinky show was still on, so for ten minutes I was stuck watching Winx club. Yeah right. More like Stinx club! First of all, they show too much skin. I HATE to see a cartoon girl showing her stomach for that is innapropriate behaviour in real life. Their bodies are VERY unrealistic. Come on! Korra is very muscular (based off of MMA fighting women) and those girls have skinnier stomachs and arms. At least Avatar The Last Airbender is realistic. This is horrible! Oh, and the drama is the worst thing ever! I hate it so bad that when some fairies fell into a black hole I was cheering only to be let down when they're rescued. This show is truely the definition of Tv excrement. I'm not joking! Seriously! I'd rather watch Hannah Montana than this poo. And that's saying something, cuz I'm not a girly girl, hence why may favorite show is The Legend of Korra.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educator Written byKristyC May 28, 2012

I'm a fan!

I think Winx Club does provide quite a few positive messages for young viewers. These girls have goals and work very hard to achieve them. They are constantly and completely supportive of each other, which is particularly refreshing, and respect their elders. Moreover, every character has their own look, interests and talents, which is/are admired by the other characters. They have a strong sense of right and wrong and overcome challenges without sacrificing their moral standards. The education they receive at the boarding school equips them with the skills they need to succeed in the real world. Despite the comments by the other reviewers, I actually like that these girls have long hair, wear makeup, and are interested in fashion. I think our society often conveys to young girls that you can either be pretty and vapid, or ugly and interesting. I would want my daughters to know that you can care about how you look without being superficial, and you can be beautiful without that being all you have to offer. That being said, I do think that the sexualized outfits and unrealistic body types do warrant discussion, and I would not recommend this show for children who are not old enough to understand that kind of discussion. Older children should be able to understand that there are differences between the fairy world and our world, and just as people from different eras or places act, dress and look differently to us, so do the Winx. For tweens and teens, this show could be a sounding board for a discussion on femininity, body image, and the extent to which how we present ourselves defines us in the eyes of others. The relationships that the Winx have with their boyfriends are a positive factor in my eyes, and I was surprised to read that other reviewers felt differently. It is so rare nowadays to see female role models on TV who have LASTING relationships with their boyfriends like the Winx do. The male characters treat their girlfriends with respect and appreciate their talents, strength and independence. They add to the quality of the girls' lives without being the center of their lives. Overall, I think this is a delightful fantasy show for girls aged 9 and up. Moreover, I think parents would enjoy watching along too, and I often catch myself humming the theme song!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old May 22, 2012

Winx Wins

Personally, I disagree with peoples comments on the "sexy" content of the show. I cartoons your allowed to make the characters designs as unrealistic as you want. Your allowed to have the shorts dresses and skirts, your allowed to have the unrealistically tiny wastes and bodies. This show conveys that when in trouble you can count on your friends to help you. The goal of the show is not to discourage natural beauty or the fact that the unrealistic goal of having a tiny waste or body is depressing, the goal is to show that friendship can defeat evil or a bad day. The boyfriend is not bad content at all there are plenty of movies or tv shows that show kissing or crushes, like one that is unexpected Sunday School Musical, there is also that tiny detail that the characters are in between the ages of 16-18 and that is normal for that age group to kiss and flirt, and who doesn't flirt any ways, there are some contents of flirting in some tv shows like Lilo and Stitch, one of the tv shows you wouldn't expect. All I am saying is that the goal of the show is not to depress girls who think that accomplishing the tiny waste or body is realistic but to show true beauty in friendship,laughter and magical essence. I love this show and would recommend it to all.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages