Parent reviews for Gacha Life

Common Sense says

Friend sim game promotes ads more than relationships.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 111 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 546 reviews
Adult Written byqegyducuv June 30, 2020

It’s a dress up game. Be careful of the GLMM

It’s a PG game thats completely fine. There is no way to communicate in the app with strangers so it’s good in that way.
I see no problem with it other then the users. Some people make “13+” videos or “gacha heat” making edits and drawing over the characters making them look lewd. Carefully watch the videos they watch, as some people make videos with 14+ topics. The app itself is a innocent game, where you make a character, interacte with NPCs, play mini games and create stories.

In short: Good app, bad community.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byHonestreviews111 September 26, 2019

Some Parents Are Just Worried

Dont let kids under 12 play it. It's just the community thats messed up, meaning the app overall is fine.
Adult Written bysamanthacross999 July 7, 2020

Really helped my kid

Great app, awesome community. The app itself holds unlimited creation potential and the super supportive community is a good addition to it! My daughter made a lot of friends that really cared about her and it has really improved her social skills.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byAn0nymous June 11, 2020

It’s OK.

This app is OK for children in my opinion. It’s just the community. The only problems is that the community is toxic, and some of the content made from this game is disgusting.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byEpik January 22, 2020

Awesome app that stimulate creativity

My daughter has been using Gacha for a couple years, now aged 12 and just loves it. Yes, it not exactly intuitive but that’s part of the learning process, many apps aren’t intuitive but you learn how to used it anyways and the next app as a result is easier to learn etc...

Because of this app, my daughter has developed an aspiration to be a graphic artist, the pre built content has given her the confidence to create content while her drawing skills grow; learning to draw takes time and needs motivation, Gacha floats her boat!

Negative side to Gacha’s popularity; there are a lot of twisted people on this planet, much like a knife, it can be used to make wonderful food or terrible things and younger kids might not be able to make the right choice over what they watch on YouTube.

I was aware of this from the time I agreed to install it on her iPad as we don’t restrict Youtube. We had an open and honest conversation about how twisted and maladjusted people can be for YouTube content, the deal we agreed on, she was to tell me about any inappropriate content so we could discuss the content rationally; I’ve had discussion ranging from drugs to self harm and while uncomfortable at first, I’m now glad this is happening as it’s helping me, help her to be a more balanced young adult before she leaves home when I won’t be able to help her as life on a daily basis throws stuff at her...

If you are an open discussion parent this is a great tool that is supper fun and as a way to have difficult conversations they would never ask about if they come up at school, but through Gacha, it’s OK to talk about these teen issues... If on the other hand the idea of talking about how babies are made turns you green - Stay clear of Gacha as they will want to watch what other people have created with Gacha on YouTube.

A tool in its self is not bad, how we as humans choose to use it defines outcome.
Adult Written byMikudayo_K September 23, 2020

Game itself is okay, community is not

Pros:
- Promotes jobs such as video editing, fashion and graphic design
- easy to play
Cons:
- Community for Gacha life on platforms such as Youtube can be inappropriate
- Game has inappropriate terms such as "Sadist"
- has a reference to a shota/paedophilic hentai
- has a 9/11 joke
- can make children too obsessive of the game

Gacha life is a dress up game that is somewhat friendly. While the game itself contains some inappropriate terms, it's overall a fun relaxing game to play.

However, you should be highly aware of what pops up when you search up Gacha life on the internet. A minority of "Gachatubers" (Youtubers that post skits and videos using Gacha life) tend to make very inappropriate content with Gacha life. Themes of these videos can go from self harm to sex and drugs. This issue has been put in the spotlight several times, yet no matter what happens people can still edit Gacha life characters enough to create dirty content.

I have also been aware of a few cases of predators using Gacha life characters to lure in children. A story about a girl being told to send a picture of her topless to a Gacha life themed group chat has been spreading around.

The developer of Gacha life (Luni) has issued an update on Android users and Window users which remove some of these harmful objects from the game, such as skinned coloured clothing (Skinned colour clothing is used to make the characters look naked), and possibly inappropriate terms and items. Unfortunately, IOS users were not given this update.

(The inappropriate content seems to be made from people of all ages, from 7 years old up to early 20s)

Overall, the game is fine. Just be careful around what your kid watches that is Gacha life related.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written by1224o94iurhfi June 5, 2020

Others ruined this app. Too many sexual depressed undertones.

found many of these videos posted else where on YouTube and tiktok. What people can create on this app appears to be a cartoon too many have insert sexual undertones in the story line. And girls that are in depressing situations where they are about to be taken advantage of. Don't let your child get in these cartoons that look like this the story lines I have found are mostly all bullied and depressing stories.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byFavorite way June 28, 2020

It's not the apps fault

It's not the app that's bad it the people who use it for no good like some YouTube videos the game is great and it helps bordom

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byAmandaB88 March 1, 2020

Gacha Life is okay!

This is a great game and my children love it! I know tons of parents are very worried, but you don't have to be worried as much now as you did before. Gacha Life used to have a chat feature which was the most concerning part for me, but Lunime removed this feature and other things that can be sexually suggestive. Now there is some times where Lunime forgot to remove some suggestive content but it's only rarely seen. Now there is always going to be some sexual content ( especially on youtube ) but my children don't watch Gacha Life videos, they just play the game. I saw a parent write a review about it containing gambling but that is not true at all! In Gacha Life you are able to play games to earn gems, with those gems you are able to earn items to give gifts to NPCs. How is that gambling? Almost every game has a currency system where you buy stuff. My 5 and 8 year olds love it so much and they play it almost everyday, and most of the times I watch them play it and have never seen any real sexual or inappropriate content. There are guns and knifes but my kids don't ever use those items for their characters. So basically Gacha Life is only inappropriate if you make it inappropriate.

In conclusion Gacha Life is pretty safe for kids. The only main exception is the videos made with it and the weapons.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byWinstonburton5 August 24, 2019

okay but...

People on youtube make innapropiate videos about it the only thing is the charecters bad words do not get censored out

This title contains:

Language
Adult Written byZeBlueHairedFish May 28, 2020

Its not all bad!

This game is for all ages! If you keep a eye on your little one then this game is a friendly and safe game. If you kid does bad things then it might be the parenting not saying it to all the parents i'm just saying if your kid is doing bad thing the n the kid must of done it before they even started playing. And not all the players do bad or depressing content . so please do not hate on this game I will be very upset if it was pulled.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byHonest Reviews . January 15, 2021

Here's the thing...

Gacha Life is a good game, with a good developer. It is fun and easy to use with some practice. There is a large number of options for character creation.
But, there is a problem. Some of the community is a problem. They make violent/pornographic things. And before you say that its the developer's fault, think about it. The developer tries to prevent it, all while trying not to remove options for those who want to make appropriate things. The problem isn't the game itself, its some parts of the community. I think the game is just fine!
But, if your child watches YouTube, TikTok, or anything similar, they will most likely find something inappropriate. Therefore, I do recommend this game, but be sure to check in sometimes on what they are doing on YouTube, TikTok, etc.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byAshie_lovley September 26, 2019

I love it for my kids and little siblings

I love too see my kids and siblings play this game I think it’s wonderful so amazing..I can’t wait to see the update!!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byTruth_be_Told May 13, 2020

Good game.

Honestly the people who think badly of Luni for creating a game are just outright dumb- If you find YOUR child making sexual/mature content on a game for 9+ year old kids, don't blame the creator. In some way you're to blame for not moderating what your child is watching. Because at the end of the day, Lunime studios never meant for a sexual drive to come out of his game, it's a dress up game. It's honestly pitiful to see all these angry mom's when someone/something was brought into their lives not by the game's developer but the parents themselves. And to the person saying he should go to jail, just restrict your kids to an extent but other than that what are you going to do? You can play the blame game all you want but it's annoying and is getting old. You don't have to agree with me, I don't really care, but take responsibility and don't drag the developer of the game himself into the situation. He did nothing wrong.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written bySlowSarcasticClap April 19, 2021

Look On The Bright Side

So, people are getting all sad because their kid made something sexual. What does that say about how they were raised? They had to have learned it SOMEWHERE. If you search for Gacha on YouTube, only 1/2000000 videos are bad.

The GachaTubers are working on calling out and getting rid of this sexual stuff, and it is WORKING. If you base your opinion on the game based on your child's dirty mind, then you are a horrible parent.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Consumerism
Adult Written byxXImaWolfieXx UwU November 3, 2020

It's A Great Game But...

Too many sexual assault things on Gacha life the developer needs to update the game to make sure that you can't use skin tones for your T-shirt and your pants and just tell your kids to use gacha club because Will ask for your age and it is rated 10+ so yeah also may I add At adopt me doesn't block out the cursing words when you pick swear words in the chat bubbles they don't block it out with hash tags I have the game myself, Very easy to you like you just have to tap on buttons that are on the screen and then you can also watch ads to get diamonds and you can spend your diamonds on Gacha which is basically just a gift so you can give to go into life mode do you give people gifts and stuff but not in real life, also You have to make sure that your kid is safe on the app!, just keep just monitor them at least like every five minutes or so but like yea.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byHelloWorld1234 January 17, 2021

It has some stuff to stay away from but it is fine

Safe if you browse safe. Anywhere there will be toxic people
As long as you just ignore them the community and app are pretty safe.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byDora_Queen December 5, 2020

Great app but...

This app is amazing my kids and I love it and when we look at the kid gacha stories we laugh a lot or when we see little videos that are for kids in gacha we also laugh so great app but there are a lot of videos that we've watched and we've came off the video traumatized for example: we've watched a mini movie called 'mean annie' and my youngest child started crying because of how mean the step mother is my eldest child though, she's a teenager, started laughing and was saying "it's fiction" but I was traumatized at it so overall great app but some of the videos could be bad for kids (this includes stories with swearing, abuse etc.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byFantasydeath October 5, 2020

I enjoy the game

I enjoy making pastel characters but I don’t enjoy how you allow little kids download this game because there’s always sexual, suicidal stories. For me I make the story of my life so suicidal topics is ok if it’s about me but this shouldn’t be for kids

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDarkmoon51 April 19, 2020

Pages