Parent reviews for TikTok - Real Short Videos

Common Sense says

Sing, lip-synch, and share videos; watch for iffy content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 15+
Based on 282 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 563 reviews
Parent of a 10 and 12-year-old Written byKitsmom February 22, 2016

Caution! Very fun but not for Tweens!

This app is so easy to use and allows the creative juices to really flow. It seemed potentially much more desirable than having the kids stare at the TV for their downtime entertainment. My kids had worked together and used our pets, stuffed animals and even we parents got in on making some pretty hilarious music videos. The BIG problem is that a lot of the available music and sound bites contain all the very adult language and innuendo you hear on the radio. So when left to her own devices, I found my 10 year old lip syncing to suggestive lyrics she didn't even understand. And dancing and gesturing the way a rock diva does- not the way I want her spending her free time. What's worse is that the rating system becomes addictive (see the reviews by the kids) She and her friends kept pushing the envelope to see how many "likes" they could get. What originally was supposed to be a private account became public for the thrill of getting the approval of strangers. Definitely started off sweet and innocent, then due to these unsavory lyrics, went down a bad path when I wasn't watching. Family decision was made to delete the app tonight amid lots of tears and even I was sad to see our cute videos go. Wish there was a version of this app for kids with say, Radio Disney pop songs and sound bites only.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bycoolgal808 January 10, 2019

18 Y/O PERSPECTIVE OF TIK TOK (ADULT CONTENT BEWARE)

Hello, if you are a parent and you are reading this review, please take in a lot of consideration if you allow or see Tik Tok on your child's mobile device. Tik Tok is a social media platform where children, teens, and even adults can interact with each other through messaging and sharing videos, which makes the app have a lot of safety concerns. Tik Tok boasts that the user has to be 13 or older to make videos, but I have seen plenty of children under 13 which use it and Tik Tok does not revoke their accounts. There has been a spike of creeps and pedophiles on the app which I have heard accounts of them 'grooming' children w/o their parents knowledge. Also, there is too much sexually suggestive content for a young teen to see on this app. The adult content I mentioned in the title is that there has been news of a 17 y/o minor who flashed on their live video also causing an uproar because they also said a racial slur multiple times because of " peer pressure". Overall, Tik Tok's community is toxic and is not safe for children, as many people follow users just to make fun of them and their videos (while sharing them on Instagram and calling them flops) which is essentially cyber bullying.

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byTriple2004 April 18, 2016

Mature eyes only!

My 11 year old son downloaded this app and within 2 days we made a decision to delete it. I think a kid version would be a great way for kids to be creative and sing and dance to, let's say, Disney or Kidzbop songs, but THIS version is anything goes! What we have here is unlimited access to explicit lyric songs, and tweens copying all the highly suggestive dance moves that accompany these unedited videos. Pair all this with hashtag "ratings" below each video that lead to even more explicit material, and your tween could really see some eye popping material!! I can see why this app is immensely popular amongst the tween set, because it's an easy way for them to start communicating/sharing with members of the opposite sex, but it's too hard to monitor-
What's more, you can't filter the content that other kiddos are uploading- lots of bored girls and boys locked in their rooms bumping and grinding and trying all this "latest" moves to sexually charged songs. Some of these kids didn't even know what they were lip syncing- I saw a sweet girl from my son's class lip syncing about "lighting a reefer."
There are privacy settings available, but the default setting is open to ALL.
Too much too soon.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byJen P. August 24, 2016

Great app!

Personally I think this is a great fun easy to use app for kids and teens. My 12 year old daughter has it and loves. Yes there are many songs with inappropriate lyrics but if your child is mature and knows what to watch out for they should be fine. Also you can make your account private. My daughter has a private account so only her friends can see her videos. Overall I would say just check your child's profile every now and then to check on the songs they are lip syncing to and listening to.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Adult Written byDetective Reviewer July 26, 2020

TikTok let a person DIE on the app

Don't download this app. I'm warning you. About a year ago, a user (no name for his privacy and his family's privacy) killed himself on TikTok on a livestream. TikTok says it has features to use to be alerted, but they just didn't care. Eventually, when TikTok found out, they alerted their own PR team to delete the video and waited a full 3 hours to call an ambulance and eventually hours and hours later law enforcement. They wrote a statement in case it ever came viral so that TikTok would be able to hide its tracks. Basically, TikTok cared more about making sure no one knew what happened rather than a user's LIFE.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bygriffaccord April 9, 2016

Dangerous

My 12 year old has been using about a week and showed me some cool sports related videos he made...something prompted me tonight to look a, little closer. Found that others could view and request to follow (didn't even know it was a social app). TEN "people" messaged him asking for him to "follow"... Obvious attempts to lure him to who knows what. These were professionals, without a doubt. Beware!
Parent Written byMonica B. December 22, 2016

Mature content. Not appropriate for kids!

My daughter was using this app on her phone. At first it seemed harmless, like a fun app for her and her friends to play on. Looking further into it, I read reviews about mature content, so I explored the app further. There is a lot of explicit language and sexually suggestive material. Definitely not something I want my daughter exposing herself to on a regualr basis. On top of that it is extremely easy to get to pornographic material through the hashtags. I understand you can report this, but if my daughter has already seen it, it's too late and reporting after the fact does no good. Also, we found out that you can't delete the account! They don't have that feature yet. The best you can do is make everything private and delete the app. The best thing to do is not even get it in the first place!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byDY19 February 9, 2016

Hard to Protect Kids

While this is really fun for the kids and you can have a "private" account, there is a Search Icon on the home page which opens them up to any and all adult videos. In addition, when they open the App, adult videos come up unprompted. This is not an App that parents can fully supervise. Very disappointing.
Adult Written byvirtualmojo September 28, 2020

NOT for Kids

Can anyone tell me how to 'disapprove' TikTok for download. Once approved I can't seem to disapprove.

I hate this app and want to remove from my daughter. Best I have found so far is to limit use to 1 min.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byBlues7 September 9, 2019

pathetic and perverse

I don't want to see it as an adult. I had it for 3 days, I got it to download something off the internet oh, that was actually wholesome. The only thing they sent me was stuff I would never watch and really disgusted me I'm trying to figure out how to remove it and make it where it can never get near me again. Your kids don't need to see this stuff it's not funny, and it's worse than TV which is pretty hard to even imagine. It definitely looks more R-rated than anything else if it was a movie. All I can say is yuck have a great day.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byGiglesias36 August 26, 2019

A bunch of child molesters on this app. My daughter was contacted by an older person a few times, also a 15 year old girl was sending my daughters xxx pics from random guys . App got deleted right away

Don’t allow you kids to talk to random people through this app. Bunch of sick bastards using it to contact kids.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byMomHero September 2, 2016

Musical.ly Out The Mom Way: A Guide to all the Basics and how you can Control your Kids; Part 1; The Basics

Musical.y is a very confusing app. I would know because when my 11 year old boy wanted to dowload it, I thought it would be easy to control and use. But boy I was wrong. So, today, I am going to be talking about the basics of musical.y.
First of all, you can get the app on your Classic Apple Devices, (iPhone, IPad,IPod) and whatever other brand that has access to the Internet and the Google Play Store. But you can't dowload it like you normally do. There's a special website that has a link to the real IPhone version because if you search it up on the App Store, several versions will come up that look alike. You can get that website from people you know that have musical.ly. (My son found this website from one of his friends.) Once you get to the website, just link on the correct link (Apple Store OR Google Play Store) and it'll be dowloading afterward. (This app takes up almost a gigabyte) Once you fully dowloaded the app, click on it and there it will give a small slideshow of photos, These photos don't give you much details about musical.ly but they do let you get a picture on who he might be following or what his musical.ly might look and sound like. Once you get to the end of this, click the sign up button if it's your first time or sign in button if already have an account created. (For this tutorial, let's just pretend we pressed the sign up button) Once you press that button, it will take you to a page that wants you create a Muser Name and a password. A "Muser Name" is like a Username and how everyone else sees your name. You have to be really creative with this.
Parent Written byFaithlynn2016 July 16, 2016
Adult Written byZackOfRich736 January 14, 2020

Parents always hating

A lot of these negative reviews are false. As usual on the Common Sense Media, there is always parents hating on social media apps. If you make your account private, view your child's account, and make messages from friends only or no one, it is safe and suitable for kids. This app could also make kids very creative.
Adult Written byThe Lion Guard 88 June 30, 2019

I love this app

This is my favorite app, But small kids shouldn’t have this app because when someone says a swear word they might say it, I have never seen anything sexual in this app before though

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Adult Written byAnonymous97 May 13, 2020

As a 23 year old who uses tiktok please don’t allow your kids to use this app

I love tiktok but it has a massive community of kids and frankly it’s not safe for them to use. Most of them are following well known adult tiktokkers who’s content is not kid friendly (swearing, sexual references etc.), sometimes their content promotes sexism and racism in a “jokey” but offensive manner and your kids absorb that material because they’re impressionable. These tiktokkers also make money off feeding that type of content to your children. I see a lot of kids harassing adult tik tokkers for calling out other adult tiktokkers who promote these toxic beliefs because obviously these kids believe their favourite tiktokker undoubtedly. The amount of times I see children call adult women dishwashers and black people the n word is too much (there are adult tiktokkers who do this). They’re too young to understand what they’re saying and the reality is those type of comments and videos stay on the Internet forever. Even if you’ve deleted their accounts, the app still possesses that information. A lot of teenagers have already ruined their future for posting something racist or sexist - where it resulted in them not graduating or going to college etc. & so the fact that actual children are absorbing this material and spewing it out on TikTok is concerning for their future & self growth. I enjoy the app very much and for the most part it can be a pleasant and an insightful app but only if you’re mature enough to analyze and process the information you’re watching. I feel like this about most social media. I wish I wasn’t on social media until I was 15 because it can have real negative affects on the brain and self confidence. I know kids love the app, but they’re far too young and until the app puts more effort into ensuring that offensive and hateful content is removed without a doubt and that kids will only see appropriate content, I do not recommend this app for children. I’d also like to add that children are clever, they find ways to lie about their age to experience the “age appropriate” content.

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 10-year-old Written byLisa R. August 26, 2016

Disturbing

My granddaughter had this app on her phone to watch her friends post videos. That was fine until she looked at her profile and saw she had fans. She clicked on her fan to see what it was and got the shock of her life. She was crying and said it was do nasty. I can only imagine what she saw because I went on there and basically saw porn and child porn. This app does not need to be for kids of any age. I know now that there is a private button you can use but it's too late. Do not let your child download tbis app! Disgusting!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byLilyHossler July 13, 2020

The 16+ plus rating is a joke !!

This app is amazing I think that 9 year olds should be able to use it. My 9 year old is using very well though there some swear words in songs it’s ok because nowadays 4th graders casually swear and it’s fine it just comes up in the song. Some tiktok can be a little inappropriate but there is no nudity or anything sexual just maybe some subtle jokes which they may never even see because of the wide variety.Most older creators know that a lot of their viewers are young so they are very careful. I love it when my daughter makes tiktoks, she asks me to be in them especially in quarantine when no one else is there. We have a lot of fun with that she used to very distant from me but with tiktok she has opened up more to me and she tells me about the famous tiktok era and the dramas going on with them. Overall it’s a very cool platform with so many awesome videos. People use it to show off all there talents in very fun way like singing, dancing, comedy, baking, art and a lot of academics I know a lot of teachers make tiktoks to teach there students in a very engaging way. You should definitely get it! Just make sure your child is mature enough not to do everything they see online

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written by[email protected] February 25, 2019

Really Innaporrpite and a lot of swear words

Every Parent that has a kid that has tik tok have them delete it! Not ok for kids 13 and under

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 5-year-old Written byDualipa23 February 23, 2019

TikTok

Has very bad scenes

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety

Pages