Parent reviews for Wishbone - Compare Anything

Common Sense says

Answer, create fun, shallow polls; beware ads, data mining.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 10 reviews
Adult Written byMGTULL333 February 29, 2016

Beware of chat rooms!

I didn't realize there were chat rooms associated with this app, but found out my 10 year old basically texting with several people she didn't know, talking about where they were from, eye. Very scary!!!also the wishbones have seemed to get sexier as time goes on.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byM2GB June 21, 2016

Potential for dangerous interactions with your child

Please monitor this app with your children. This app seems innocent enough, but the danger is that the app provides a profile show what your child personally likes. Perfect for predators to know how to reach your child. I say this because your child can private message with their followers and who they are following. Pornographic images are not suppose to be posted but in our case it happened one was shared to my daughter. This person then requested my daughter to send one back. The way they asked how she felt and if she did not feel comfortable they could just talk told me it was someone unsafe. I am in the process of contacting the app administrators to make them aware and to deal with this situation further. I have chosen to not allow her on this app any longer, but if you choose to allow your child on it, please follow them closely.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byJ P August 10, 2016

No privacy settings

I allowed my 10 year old daughter to get wishbone and 8 year old son to get slingshot on a trial basis. I just checked my sons app. There is someone following him with a penis as their profile picture and some the the things this person follows is inappropriate (naked pics). There do not seem to be any settings to have to approve who follows you or block people. This persons profile says pedophile to me. I do not recommend the app. I know my children are young for the app, but all of their friends have it so I gave it a try. It is deleted now.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 12 year old Written byDid_dog July 2, 2016

Not suitable for children

The app itself seems pretty tame at first and is on the surface, however, the ads can be R rated and inappropriate for anyone under 16. Also, the comparisons often send questionable messages for young minds.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 8 and 12 year old Written byLaura T. March 1, 2017

Not for Kids

There is a ton of pornography that kids can access easily. Lots of profile descriptions that request nude photos to be sent and promises nude photos in return. And lots of nude profile pictures. I have restrictions on apps for my son - only 12 + / This app in no way should be for any child!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDon V. July 16, 2017

Too unregulated

Our 10 year old was using this and at first it seemed innocent but we then saw a lot of dodgy images and suspect people following her. We were recommended MirrorMirror (www.askmirrormirror.com) as an alternative. It's similar in concept but a lot safer, there's no ads and people can't leave comments, so it's safe from trolls and evil forces.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 14 year old Written byAddie B. July 30, 2016
Parent of a 10 year old Written byKimatdcl September 15, 2017

Sex in ads

My 10-y-o was showing me this app, which I know she has used over the past year and which she says "everybody uses." It has some cute animal photos, places, etc. to choose from - but is also somewhat offensive in its own right when it asks for ratings of which people are better or who wore what better, a la Us Magazine. But I was not at all prepared for the ad that popped up. We voted on about 10 sets of pictures, and she scrolled quickly past a couple she apparently knew I would find objectionable (which couple was better; which boy was cuter). Not one minute passed before a sexy cartoon ad popped up! She immediately turned the phone over so I wouldn't see! It was a cartoon Disney-style princess and prince in a compromising position, in what appeared to be their underwear, and it sure looked like it was going get worse, so I quickly exited. I wonder how much of this type of stuff she has seen and I am kicking myself for not being more vigilant. :(

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 9 and 10 year old Written byMike J. March 19, 2017

Our 9 y/o daughter's friend got a request for inappropriate pictures. Scary!

Title says it all. I don't know anything about this app, but there is enough of a chat element that somehow a very inappropriate request came through.
Adult Written byKing10047852 April 25, 2016

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byKell j. September 4, 2017

Don't Allow Your Children On

This is app is dangerous. This has gotten hacked before and revealed a bunch of young girl's emails and phone numbers. My daughter made a friend on this app and one day she asked for her password and she can't get back in to her account. I'm fine with her using it but the experience of not being able to get back into her account has got her very sad. The app will devesate your children. Don't allow on before a log chat with your child.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byIdontevenknow12345 June 18, 2018

Dont brother

It’s not good for kids. It has a chat room and you can talk to random people. It gets sexier and sexier every time

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bySomeToast August 29, 2018

Great app-but needs technology safety

Overall Wishbone is great and 97% percent of the people on there are awesome. The other 3% are mostly just cyberbullys, but nothing too serious. I advise against directly monitoring your children, but instead, question them about it and encourage sharing.

This title contains:

Ease of Play