All teen and kid member reviews for Boy Toy

Kids say

(out of 8 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byxaltrockgirlx October 27, 2011

Great, but extremely mature

This is an extremely well-written but extremely disturbing story of a boy who is seduced by his teacher but believes it is his fault since his teacher tricked him into thinking they were in love. Lyga makes a sympathetic character without making him the perfect victim (giving him anger and intimacy issues, etc.). All the characters are colorful and they breathe life into this twisted story. However, this is definitely for mature teens due to the SVU-like story told from the victim's point of view and harsh langauge like the F-bomb, s***, and etc. Even so, those who can handle it will find a fast-paced story that will break anyone's heart.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byTils August 17, 2010

Amazing book!!

I loved this book!!! I could not put it down, the chapters ended the way they should, making you not want to stop, to find out what comes next. It may make younger readers a little uncomfortable at times, but not to bad. I do not recomend this book for anyone under 13.
Kid, 12 years old October 30, 2009

Amazing book!

This book was incredible and intense. At times it is a little bit disturbing because of very explicet detail of how the teacher (Eve) molested a student(Josh). Josh believes he is in love but in reality, hi teacher is abusing him. I read this when I was almost twelve and I think that I am old enough. I am a very advanced child and I attend an extremely enriched high school so I was prepared to read this sort of book. If you are not a very experience reader I would consider waiting until I were fourteen or fifteen to read it. I hope you found this review helpful and enjoy ''Boy Toy" if you read it!!:)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bystuffhappens September 26, 2009

Great for older teens, but not recommended for under 15

This was a great book, but at times (i.e. when the flashbacks of Josh with Eve) I felt very uncomfortable.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written bySpidey1707 June 3, 2016

Twisted

This book a a good read, I read it in two days. I think it helped us realize how in real life situations most 'victims' don't realize they are victims.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byphoenixadvanced June 7, 2010

Great book, bit confusing if you don't know all the rules of baseball

I thought it was a really good book. It has pretty graphic sex scenes which might make a younger reader a bit uncomfortable. The characters swear, but not a crazy amount, and most kids will already know all the words they use. I knew what the book was about before I read it, but because the blurb is fairly vague, it would be kind of confusing at the start if you didn't know what the book was about before you started reading it. The only criticism I had was that the character was constantly spouting baseball figures and always working out his batting average and slugging percentage and spouting off baseball statistics. Cause I'm English, I had no idea what the hell was going on cause I don't know all the ins and outs of baseball.
Teen, 16 years old Written bykmillsz January 27, 2010

Didn't know what to expect

At first i was kinda confused, but if you follow the book its really good. It gives a good inside look at what molested children go to.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bylizzy1993 April 9, 2008

not for imature/young

Great book i loved it. It has very expliciate language and flashbacks of sexual experiences. Very detailed about the differnt sexual experiences (detailed porn, oral sex, sex, hand jobs.. and so on