Parents' Guide to

Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms

By , Common Sense Media Reviewer

age 9+

Inventive fantasy adventure based in African mythology.

Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms Poster Image

A Lot or a Little?

What you will—and won't—find in this book.

Community Reviews

There aren't any parent reviews yet. Be the first to review this title.

Is It Any Good?

Our review:
Parents say: Not yet rated
Kids say: Not yet rated

This inventive fantasy adventure about friendship and legacy inspired by West African mythology. It's perfect for fans of Tristan Strong. Central to the plot of Cameron Battle and the Hidden Kingdoms is The Book of Chidani. It's a dynamic plot device that tells the history of Chidani and connects Cameron to his family's legacy. The novel is a celebration of African culture, from the food the characters eat to the clothes they wear. The magical action scenes are epic, though at times violent, but the violence is never gratuitous and any injuries are healed through magic.

The plot gets a little confusing as far as the sequence of some events, but not so confusing that it'll deter readers' enjoyment. Cameron as a character is unlikable at times with his negative outlook and outbursts, but he's a realistically flawed character with difficult emotions to work through on top of not having the tools to deal with them. It's great to see a 12-year-old Black boy feeling his feelings instead of biting them down.

Book Details

Did we miss something on diversity?

Research shows a connection between kids' healthy self-esteem and positive portrayals in media. That's why we've added a new "Diverse Representations" section to our reviews that will be rolling out on an ongoing basis. You can help us help kids by suggesting a diversity update.

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate