Kid reviews for Eighth Grade Bites: The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod

Common Sense says

Exciting vampire tale sucks in reluctant readers.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 11 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 63 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byThalia Grace September 18, 2020

Eighth Grade Bites

I think it's a great book! Moving on to the rest of the series, because I want to know what happens. It doesn't have much violence in it, until the end and even then it's not gory. There is (as you would expect for a book about a vampire) blood, but really it's mostly not drunk from someone. Vlad himself never actually drinks anyone's blood in it, only the older vampires do. It has less action than most of the things I read, but it was still really good. The romance in it is just some crushes and a few mentions of kissing. The main characters are 13/14 ish. It actually covers a whole school year even though it's only 200ish pages, it's just that there isn't too much action, it's a lot of investigations.
Also, just want to point out that it is in the teen fiction area at libraries, but it definitely doesn't belong there, the main characters are teens, but that's it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 10 years old May 16, 2020

Great

It’s a little scary, and has some language, but other than that it’s great!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Kid, 10 years old August 27, 2017

This gave me nightmares

Don't do this its creepier than a troll face

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCastielWinchester September 27, 2016

Great for hard to convince readers

I feel this book is perfect for kids who refuses to read books. It's a fun and very entertaining book that many can enjoy.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byMyMyRa96 June 5, 2014

Reall enjoyed it

This book was an exciting, super entertaining read. I loved the charcters and the unique world Brewer constructs around them. This book kept me up reading. It was funny and engaging. I loved how it wasn't too intense and focused more on the social lives of the characters. I would recommend it to anyone who is up for a light, funny vampire read!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byVersace_Crew October 18, 2013

Vladimir

This is a great book about an average teen that has a unique gift. HE'S A VAMPIRE.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Kid, 12 years old November 12, 2012

Give it a chance

I love this book! Its really amazing!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written bybasketball#4 May 19, 2012

the best ever

i love these books they r sad but so entertaining at the same time u just dont want to put the book down
Kid, 11 years old February 12, 2012

Good series for 11 and up.

Vladimir Tod is an awesome vampire series. It's not as good as Cique Du Freak, but it's still worth a try. Parents need to know that this book is mostly appropriate, but the rest of the books are very violent and gory, especiall Twelfth Grade Kills. Overall this book is good and appropriate, except for some kissing and a murder.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byRachel Basinger December 26, 2011

Awesome Book & Very Emotional lovee

It's The Best Book I've Ever Read.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byCriticalMovieRater01 October 9, 2011

2 Words: Love It!

Loved it. Absolutely loved it. The series is just flat out amazing. Original storyline, but the only thing bad about it is all the talk of blood. Some people that get sick by talking or thinking about blood may not love the book, but the story is great, the characters are awesome role models, my all-time favorite series.
Teen, 13 years old Written byJ-Cray October 4, 2011

READ THE BOOK AND YOU WILL LOVE IT!

This book is freakin awsome.....I was adicted to one series called Warriors(about cats and clans) but when i read a little bit of this book i was already hooked.. I thinks this book is more for Pre-teens and teens.. It has situations on which an older kid would understand..Im just finish the third book and going onto fourth..I Definately RECOMEND!!!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byamaritri July 3, 2011

Vladimir tod is awesome

this book is designed for teenagers and pre-teens. not adults and not children. i love the fact that it is about a vampire boy but i like even more that he lives a very normal life. it isnt sexual which is another thing i love about it. if i wanted to know about pornos i can watch the internet.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMiranda B. May 27, 2011

Wonderful series that will most definitely draw in even the most reluctant reader.

When you're just getting started with the first book in this series you don't want to put it down, and you shouldn't because this is one amazing series. But once you get to the last couple books in the series you start realizing a pattern: life is somewhat normal for Vlad, weird things start happening, someone tries to kill/harm him and there's a fight/battle, and then the wrap up. I'm not saying this pattern is bad but it does make you wish something more unexpected would happen to spice it up a bit. So, true there is some product placement. There isn't any language except some name calling from bullies. Being a book about vampires there, of course, will be talk about blood and other murderous vampires. But none of the talk is terribly graphic or brutal. As you read you start to feel an understanding for Vlad, but his thoughts at times are muddled because they're not always very descriptive.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 16 years old Written byanime123rox May 18, 2011

Great

I REALLY LOVE THIS BOOK. there isn't really anything bad with the book. Really great series

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byEmo_vampire May 15, 2011

Perfect for Tweens and up

I LOVED IT BEST BOOK I EVER READ ABOUT VAMPIRES!!!!!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysuper-duper-boo... May 2, 2011

really really outstanding!

This book was wonderful! Vlad was very relatable to in the way that we're all different, and we might have our own secrets, thought obviously not as HUGE as being a vampire. he's also accepted by who he is as a vampire by his aunt and his best friend. But, being a vampire book, it does have violence (sucking blood) but also his parents were burned in a fire. He revisits this memory many times throughout the series and always cries when he does. he says how he came home and saw his parents all burned, which was kind of depressing

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byDeNyS April 13, 2011
I love mcr. They are the best band have ever heard they are my i idols =i

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2011

very good

it was great

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byblackpanda March 23, 2011

da best!!!

I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models

Pages