Parents' Guide to

Five Dark Fates: Three Dark Crowns, Book 4

By Carrie R. Wheadon, Common Sense Media Reviewer

age 14+

Bloody but satisfying end to mature magic-sisters series.

Five Dark Fates: Three Dark Crowns, Book 4 Poster Image

A Lot or a Little?

What you will—and won't—find in this book.

Community Reviews

age 11+

Based on 1 parent review

age 11+

Why you should read the 3 Dark Crowns series!

Before reading this last installment of the 3 Dark Crowns series, you should read the other books too! The 3 Dark Crowns is a 4 book series (not counting the extras) by author Kendare Blake about 3 queens triplets fighting to death for a crown with their magical abilities. From experience, it is 100% worth your while as it contains diverse POVs, complex and well thought out characters that you’ll enjoy reading about, and plot twists that you won’t see coming that will make this already fascinating read even more impossible to put down! Instead of telling the tale of the tragedy that struck Fennbirn (where the series is set) of the three queens, using only one POV, Kendare Blake uses 3, none other than the main characters (Arsinoe, Katharine, and Mirabella), as this allows the readers to comprehend each complex character and their own unique decisions. Each sister has a special place in the book series, as Katharine is both the villain and the victim, Arsinoe is the lone survivor of the sisters in the end, Mirabella is the most powerful queen (at least at the start) but refuses to kill the same sisters that were once in the Black Cottage with her when they were all young. The 3 Dark Crowns also includes 3 different POVs that provide an insight to our character’s minds that each tell the story in a different way, diverse and complex characters, and plot twists so sudden and shocking that it will make you jump as you read! I assure you, this amazing series will make you stick around til' the very last page.

Is It Any Good?

Our review:
Parents say (1 ):
Kids say (3 ):

This bloody queen-takedown finale doesn't tie up all of the series' loose ends, but it's still tantalizing with its mix of battles, creepiness, and complex sister conflict. Of course, with a warrior queen in the mix now, there have to be battles. With the superhuman powers in play, Five Dark Fates gives off a cool Wonder Woman vibe. The creep factor comes in as readers see more of Katharine's ghosts in action. For most of the book, she's barely in control of these volatile spirits but still using them to keep her power.

The complex sister conflict is really the best part of this book/series. Mirabella defects right away to see Katharine. Mirabella is the sister who always wants to make peace and save the other ones, but she's in over her head. Arsinoe, even when she's abandoned, never gives up on Mirabella. And eventually all remaining know what has to be done -- and their difficult roles to play. There are a few mysteries that are never solved in Five Dark Fates (like, what happened to the ghost of Queen Daphne?), but otherwise, this finale more than satisfies.

Book Details

Did we miss something on diversity?

Research shows a connection between kids' healthy self-esteem and positive portrayals in media. That's why we've added a new "Diverse Representations" section to our reviews that will be rolling out on an ongoing basis. You can help us help kids by suggesting a diversity update.

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate