All parent member reviews for Giants Beware!

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 1 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent of a 5, 7, and 15 year old Written byBookNerdMom August 19, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

A fantastic choice for young graphic novel fans.

My 5 & 7 year-old daughters love this book, in a cart-it-with-them-everywhere-we-go kind of way. Four key elements draw them in. First, the pace moves along quickly, and their interest as readers never flags. Second, the humour is frequent and edgy (by first grade standards). I spent a week hearing "I'm going to kick your ever-loving butt!" followed by peels of laughter. Third, the characters are interesting and grow. They have flaws, and learn from their experiences (this also makes for great reading coversations). Fourth, the images are well-drawn and in colour. While we read many other things, both my daughters have heartily embraced graphic novels. Giants Beware is a great pick for fans of Amulet and Zita the Space Girl. I only wish there were more graphic novels for the younger set of comparable quality.
What other families should know
Great role models