Pendragon series

Book review by
Barbara Schultz, Common Sense Media
Pendragon series Book Poster Image
Entertaining but violent series weaves fantasy with history.

Parents say

age 10+
Based on 1 review

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 6 reviews

Did this review miss something on diversity?

Research shows a connection between kids' healthy self-esteem and positive, diverse representations in books, TV shows, and movies. Want to help us help them? Suggest a diversity update

A lot or a little?

The parents' guide to what's in this book.

Educational Value

Bobby Pendragon goes back in time to the United States at the time of World War II. Readers will gain some historical knowledge about the war and the way it was perceived by Americans. Bobby also meets Amelia Earhart and witnesses the Hindenburg disaster, so readers will learn about Earhart's life, and about the lives lost on the Hindenburg; they will also learn generally about air travel during the 1930s.

Positive Messages

Bobby Pendragon shows readers: If you have a special gift, use it to help others. Bobby's adventures also illustrate how important it is to respect the culture and traditions of foreign lands; peace between peoples requires mutual respect and understanding.

Positive Role Models & Representations

Bobby's mentor is his Uncle Press, a seasoned Traveler, who teaches Bobby survival skills and encourages him to use his gift to help the world.


Throughout the Pendragon series, violent events occur involving individuals being clawed to death and/or eaten by animalistic creatures. In the World War II-era scenes, Bobby finds out about soldiers being shot and killed. The Hindenburg airship explodes, killing 35 passengers. Some violent passages include descriptions of blood.


Bobby Pendragon has a girlfriend, Courtney, and they kiss and hold hands. At the end of the series, Bobby is an adult with a wife and readers "see" that they sleep in the same bed. Before he settles down, Bobby is tempted by a girl called Loor, but they just flirt with each other.


Curse words are used: "damn," "hell," "bulls--t."


Product mentions include Sprite, Coke, McDonald's.

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Adults smoke tobacco during the World War II-era scenes to set the time period of the scene. Those parts also depict adult passengers on the Queen Mary drinking wine.

What parents need to know

Parents need to know that the 10-volume Pendragon series tells the story of Bobby Pendragon, a space/time "Traveler" who learns to use his special gifts to protect the inhabitants of Halla -- the fantastical world where he lives -- from the diabolical villain Saint Dane. Like Harry Potter, Bobby -- age 14 in Book 1, The Merchant of Death -- grows up as the series progresses and becomes more skilled at using his powers. The books include a few curse words ("damn," "hell," "bulls--t"), the occasional boy-girl kiss, and a couple of scenes with adults smoking tobacco or drinking wine. Of more concern may be the degree of violence. Sensitive readers may be upset by the books' mention of dead and wounded soldiers, the Hindenburg disaster, and fantastical creatures that kill with claws and teeth.

User Reviews

  • Parents say
  • Kids say
Adult Written bymillustyler February 5, 2019

Edgy and keeps him reading!

The vocabulary in Pendragon is expansive. Although there is some violence, it is not much more than he will bump into when watching commercials during the Super... Continue reading
Teen, 13 years old Written byMasterreader April 30, 2020

Captivating book! Recommend for everyone 11+

This book series is my all time favorite series! There is a lot of action some bad words but it is not terrible but I would not recommend for kids under 10. In... Continue reading
Kid, 10 years old February 10, 2019

I am 10 and this is still one of my favorite books despite a little stuff that i find boring in them

I read these books when I was 8 and 9 years old. I would rate it a 4 95/100 out of 5. I like how there are 10 books and I like the concept. One thing I don’t li... Continue reading

What's the story?

In D.J. MacHale's 10-volume PENDRAGON series, middle-schooler Bobby Pendragon discovers he is a Traveler, meaning he has special powers that allow him to travel from one planet, or \"territory,\" to another within Halla (all the territories combined). Bobby's mentor, Uncle Press, is also a Traveler, and he guides Bobby in a mission to prevent the evil Saint Dane from destroying Halla. Bobby also time-travels to visit World War II-era America, where he witnesses the Hindenburg disaster and learns about tragic events in the war. Bobby is often assisted in his mission by his friends, Courtney and Mark. Along the way, Bobby learns survival skills, including the importance of respecting the traditions and values of each world he visits. Fourteen years old when the series begins, Bobby grows up over the course of the series, becoming more adept at using his learned and natural powers.

Is it any good?

The Pendragon fantasy-adventure series is very popular with middle-grade readers, particularly boys, with good reason. While these books don't have the same balanced level of humor, feeling and character development that the great Harry Potter series has, D.J. MacHale creates a fascinating, original world where the stakes are always high and readers are constantly in suspense.

Talk to your kids about ...

  • Do you think Bobby is lucky to be a Traveler? If you could travel back in time, what time and place would you visit?

  • Pendragon bears some similarity to other fantasy series like Harry Potter or Percy Jackson. If you've read these, or others, what are the similarites and differences?

  • Learn more about World War II by reading great books like these: Bomb, Mare's War, War Horse.

Book details

Our editors recommend

For kids who love fantasy

Themes & Topics

Browse titles with similar subject matter.

Top advice and articles

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate

About these links

Common Sense Media, a nonprofit organization, earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes when you use our links to make a purchase. Thank you for your support.

Read more

Our ratings are based on child development best practices. We display the minimum age for which content is developmentally appropriate. The star rating reflects overall quality.

Learn how we rate