Rainbow Magic Series

Book review by
Betsy Bozdech, Common Sense Media
Rainbow Magic Series Book Poster Image
Friends' fairy adventures are fun intro to fantasy.

Parents say

age 5+
Based on 3 reviews

Kids say

age 4+
Based on 8 reviews

Did this review miss something on diversity?

Research shows a connection between kids' healthy self-esteem and positive, diverse representations in books, TV shows, and movies. Want to help us help them? Suggest a diversity update

A lot or a little?

The parents' guide to what's in this book.

Educational Value

Lessons about friendship and ingenuity.

Positive Messages

Friendship, quick thinking, creativity, ingenuity, and perseverance inevitably save the day. Even "bad guys" can be sympathetic; sometimes they do mean things because they feel sad or hurt. You can solve problems without fighting. The fairies represent a wide range of hair/skin colors and style choices, though there isn't much variation in body type.

Positive Role Models & Representations

Kirsty and Rachel are polite, responsible, enthusiastic, and all-around exemplary tweens. They're delighted to help the fairies whenever they can, and they always use their brains to figure out problems to potentially tricky situations. The fairies are sweet, positive, and friendly. Jack Frost and his goblins are nasty (in a mild way), but sometimes even they have sympathetic moments.

Violence & Scariness

Each adventure finds Kirsty, Rachel, and their fairy friends in some kind of danger/peril (typically while trying to outsmart Jack Frost and his goblins), but it's usually quite mild and resolves quickly. Jack Frost can speak cruelly, which might bother kids who don't like meanness.


What parents need to know

Parents need to know that the Rainbow Magic series is made up of several smaller sets of seven adventures, for a total of more than 200 individual books. Each story follows best friends Kirsty Tate and Rachel Walker as they help their fairy friends resolve a problem involving bad guy Jack Frost and his goblin minions. Each story follows best friends Kirsty Tate and Rachel Walker as they help their fairy friends resolve a problem involving bad guy Jack Frost and his goblin minions. Though the stories are all pretty similar, they're a fine introduction to fantasy adventures for young kids; there's always some kind of suspense or mild peril, but it's always resolved quickly and painlessly. And Kirsty and Rachel are model tweens -- respectful, polite, helpful, and clever (they usually use their brains to outwit the bad guys, rather than brawn) -- who value their friendship and their secret alliance with the fairies. These books are great for read-aloud.

User Reviews

  • Parents say
  • Kids say
Parent of a 6-year-old Written byBecky L. June 18, 2019

Motivate independent reading but don't make me read another!

There are so many Rainbow Magic Fairy books, all written under the same made-up author's name, all with similar themes. They seem to all go about like this... Continue reading
Parent of a 6-year-old Written byHero P. May 21, 2017

Consider it a snack, not a meal

When my daughter was five, she found the goblins and situations just a little scary, but as a six-year-old she loves them. The writing is mediocre. The characte... Continue reading
Kid, 11 years old August 16, 2017

No, Just No...

Growing up, I have always disliked this series, even when I was the target audience! When I read two books from it,(I was six or seven) I was like, "Ok, th... Continue reading
Teen, 13 years old Written by22schnauferj April 13, 2017

This series is awsome!

I love this series because you get to read about a whole bunch of different fairies with different talents. Jack Frost and his goblins might scare kids that are... Continue reading

What's the story?

The RAINBOW MAGIC SERIES follows best friends Kirsty Tate and Rachel Walker, tweens who first meet during family vacations to Rainspell Island, where they help Ruby the Red Fairy and get involved in the first of many adventures to come. In each set of seven books in the series, the two girls meet a new group of seven fairies, all of whom have something in common (rainbow magic, weather magic, party magic, flower magic, and so on) and all of whom are somehow at risk of losing their magic because of a plot by the mean Jack Frost, who's usually motivated by a feeling such as jealousy or greed. The fairies (who are led by King Oberon and Queen Titania) recruit Kirsty and Rachel for help, typically in the form of recovering some kind of magic item that's also the target of Jack Frost's minions, the bumbling goblins. Inevitably, the girls face some kind of challenge or peril, think quickly to save the day, and help restore peace to Fairyland ... until the next time the magic finds them.

Is it any good?

This series won't win any awards for originality -- once you've read one of these books, you've pretty much read all 200+ -- but it's a sweet, fun introduction to fantasy for young children. The dangerous situations and quickly resolved cliffhangers are both fast-paced enough to keep kids interested and mild enough to ensure that those who aren't ready for anything edgier won't get too stressed about what's going to happen to Kirsty and Rachel. There's a somewhat stereotypically "girly" focus on fashion (the outfits of Rachel, Kirsty, and the fairies are always carefully described), but at least the fairies have a wide range of hair and skin colors and clothing styles.

If you're reading these aloud to your kids, once you're used to the books' pattern, you may find your mind wandering to bigger-picture questions -- just how many weeks off school do these girls have, anyway? And why aren't there any boy fairies? -- but as series for young readers go, Rainbow Magic is a fine choice. It's not a problem to read the different subsets of books out of order (any references made to other adventures are quick and in passing), and it's possible that a little fairy magic could encourage kids on the verge of "real" reading to make the final leap, which is always a good thing.

Talk to your kids about ...

  • Families can talk about what kids like about the Rainbow Magic series. Is it the characters? The plots? How are the different adventures similar to one another? What sets one group of books apart from the other?

  • What makes Kirsty and Rachel such good friends? Do you have any friends you're that close to? What kinds of adventures have you had together?

  • Which other book series do you like? What do they have in common?

Book details

Our editors recommend

For kids who love fairies and friends

Themes & Topics

Browse titles with similar subject matter.

Top advice and articles

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate

About these links

Common Sense Media, a nonprofit organization, earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes when you use our links to make a purchase. Thank you for your support.

Read more

Our ratings are based on child development best practices. We display the minimum age for which content is developmentally appropriate. The star rating reflects overall quality.

Learn how we rate