Santa, Are You for Real?

Book review by
Mary Dixon Weidler, Common Sense Media
Santa, Are You for Real? Book Poster Image
For those ready to learn the truth about Santa.

Parents say

No reviews yetAdd your rating

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 1 review

A lot or a little?

The parents' guide to what's in this book.

Positive Messages

Your parents have your best interests at heart. Gift-giving at Christmas is an expression of love, in the tradition of St. Nicholas and Jesus. Holiday traditions have great meaning for families and cultures.

Positive Role Models & Representations

The dad gently tells his son Todd the truth and helps ease his concerns that his parents have lied to him about Santa Claus. St. Nicholas was kind and set an example for future generations. He also inspired the Christmas tradition of gift-giving. 

Violence
Sex
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

What parents need to know

Parents need to know that Santa, Are You for Real? explains that the Santa Claus myth is just that and goes on to discuss the real St. Nicholas and the holiday traditions, such as gift-giving, inspired by him. Author Harold Myra was CEO of Christianity Today International for 32 years, and his Christian perspective informs the storytelling. 

User Reviews

  • Parents say
  • Kids say

There aren't any reviews yet. Be the first to review this title.

Kid, 11 years old November 8, 2015

The exceptional way to break "the news" to your kids.

The title gives away the plot- a boy wonders if Santa is real, and his father answers his question. This definetly gives away the spirit of Christmas to still b... Continue reading

What's the story?

Does Santa exist? And, if he doesn't, can Todd ever again have faith in the adults who told him the Santa story? The answer is a resounding yes when those grown-ups teach Todd the true story of St. Nicholas and about the spirit of giving.

Is it any good?

What this story does best is present the truth -- a truth that's sometimes hard for parents to fess up to their children. It's a rite of passage in every child's life: Is Santa Claus real? This book is directed at those who are ready to learn the truth (and is definitely not for those who are hanging on to the myth a little longer). The rhyme helps keep children's interest, and the pictures are lively and almost cartoon-like, which lends to the book's appeal.

Unfortunately, the story turns to prose at the point where Todd's dad tells him the truth about St. Nick and the tradition of giving Christmas presents. It may be more direct, but it's dull in comparison with the liveliness of the poem. When children are ready for the truth, though, explaining our December traditions through the use of this book can be a special shared moment between parent and child, and can help make the explosion of the Santa myth a little easier to take.

Talk to your kids about ...

  • Families can talk about holiday traditions and stories. What are your own family traditions? Are they long-established or new to your family?

  • How is the story of St. Nicholas different from stories you've heard about Santa Claus? What elements are similar? 

  •  What's your favorite thing about the holidays?

Book details

Themes & Topics

Browse titles with similar subject matter.

Top advice and articles

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate

About these links

Common Sense Media, a nonprofit organization, earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes when you use our links to make a purchase. Thank you for your support.

Read more

Our ratings are based on child development best practices. We display the minimum age for which content is developmentally appropriate. The star rating reflects overall quality and learning potential.

Learn how we rate