Parent reviews for Savvy

Common Sense says

Newbery Honor Book is moving and thought-provoking.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 9+
Based on 9 reviews

Kids say

age 9+
Based on 27 reviews
Adult Written byBookersbuddy September 26, 2011

Savvy is Savvy

Everyone is special in some way

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 12 and 12-year-old Written byMarlamama May 17, 2011

We love this book!

We loved this book! I bought a hardcover when it came out, and it was completely worn out and ragged, it was read so many times.
The characters are mostly tweens, and are discovering themselves, and who they are. The story is delightful, and the lessons the kids learn about themselves are great to relate to.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent Written byZMW March 31, 2011
Adult Written byawesomeeeee December 6, 2010

awesome

Love it its an awesome book sorry no consens

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 7 and 10-year-old Written byMe and Her October 19, 2010
I loved the book. One of the best I've ever read but there is a
character that is rude and mean to others. She never swears or uses any violence, but is a bully. The story is a wonderful tale of a girl coming of age and all the questions and experiences that come with it.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 15 and 17-year-old Written byPNW TeacherMom July 3, 2010

Fun Book

A fun and easy to read book about a family with odd super powers. In this book a group of children end up in an adventure when they try to go to the hospital to help a dying father. There is particular group of Christians that some will find objectionable (fussy, interfering and self-righteous).

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 7 and 10-year-old Written byrells September 19, 2009

perfect for tweens

i think it is one of the best books i have ever read!
the role models are very good and the story line is nice.
if you are into magic then this is for you!
i just think the messages are'nt the best. but other than that its a great book!

This title contains:

Consumerism
Positive role models
Parent of a 8 and 12-year-old Written bylilmollysunshine August 26, 2009

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 9 and 12-year-old Written bybellingen July 18, 2009

Great Coming of Age Title, Great Fun!

This is a great "coming of age" book. It would make an excellent read aloud for families or classes of kids gr. 4 and higher. There would be many excellent discussion points. It is lots of fun, but with a good message, too. This is the author's debut novel, she has excellent writing style; I hope to read more from her!