Steelheart: The Reckoners, Book 1

Book review by
Michael Berry, Common Sense Media
Steelheart: The Reckoners, Book 1 Book Poster Image
Teens stand up to supervillains in action-packed sci-fi.

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 3 reviews

Kids say

age 11+
Based on 8 reviews

A lot or a little?

The parents' guide to what's in this book.

Educational Value

Steelheart upends the conventional superheroic setup, asking what would happen if people who gained phenomenal powers used them only for evil. Although focused on fantasy action, the novel also promotes discussion of what it means to be a hero.

Positive Messages

Steelheart focuses on what it means to act as a team and sacrifice your own agenda for a greater purpose. The novel also explores the difference between vengeance and justice.

Positive Role Models & Representations

David, the 18-year-old protagonist of Steelheart, is a remarkable young man: brave, resourceful, creative, and focused on destroying the being who killed his father. He discovers, however, that there are loftier goals than vengeance and that he might be better off channeling his energies in other, more constructive directions.

Violence

Filled with almost nonstop superheroics, Steelheart features a high body count that doesn't spare the innocent. As an 8-year-old, David witnesses his father's death firsthand, then grows up to be an expert hunter of the villainous Epics who rule Newcago. He and his fellow Reckoners engage their enemies with a wide range of weapons, from handguns to explosives.

Sex

David is immediately attracted to buxom and beautiful Megan, who barely puts up with his awkward flirtation. Although it never becomes physical, their relationship deepens over the course of the novel.

Language

Although there are a half-dozen instances each of "hell" and "damn," the characters more often use made-up swear words, such as "Sparks," "Calamity," and "slontze."

Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

What parents need to know

Parents need to know that Steelheart is a fast-moving, action-packed, clever take on superheroics, set at a time after supervillains have taken over the world. The body count runs fairly high as David and the "Reckoners" use everything from handguns to explosives against their enemies. "Damn" and "hell" appear a few times each, but the characters mostly employ made-up curses: "Calamity" or "Sparks," for example. David is attracted to and flirts awkwardly with buxom and beautiful Megan, but their relationship doesn't become physical.

User Reviews

  • Parents say
  • Kids say
Adult Written byJeremy B. May 31, 2018

Gripping to the end

This is a fantastic book for teenagers and young adults, particularly boys. The characters are original, relatable and a bit quirky! The opening chapter is my... Continue reading
Adult Written byPetalknits December 22, 2015

Violent, but interesting story

I'm not finished yet, but I had to note a few things that I wouldn't want my 12 year old listening to. Violence is prevalent, including: a man's... Continue reading
Teen, 13 years old Written byKeziah Kaye January 7, 2014

Amazing

I LOVED this book. It's a page-turning book that is also clean.
Kid, 11 years old June 20, 2014

Great Book

Lots of action but not a lot of violence and gore.

What's the story?

When 8-year-old David Charleston witnesses his father's death at the hands of the supreme supervillain known as Steelheart, the boy vows to get his revenge. A decade later, he sees his chance to join the \"Reckoners,\" fellow humans working to depose Steelheart and the other superpowered \"Epics\" who rule over Newcago. At first, the Reckoners aren't inclined to take him seriously, but David soon wins them over with his eye for strategy and his encyclopedic knowledge of the Epics' habits and vulnerabilities. But will that be enough to bring about the downfall of Steelheart and his minions?

Is it any good?

STEELHEART upends the usual superpowers setup, presenting a world in which the bad guys have already won and there seem to be no heroes willing to stand up to them. David and his fellow Reckoners devise elaborate plans to depose Steelheart and his minions; the action scenes are vivid and full of tantalizing twists. Author Brandon Sanderson's fantasy scenario has great potential: Although this book reaches a satisfying resolution, it's clear readers will have plenty more wrinkles to explore in forthcoming volumes. Fans of X-Men and Batman will rejoice.

Talk to your kids about ...

  • Families can talk about why superheroes have been popular for so long. What is it about them that captures the imagination of readers, moviegoers, and gamers?

  • How do you define heroism? What are the characteristics of a hero?

  • What are the differences between justice and revenge? Does Steelheart make you think differently about this?

Book details

Themes & Topics

Browse titles with similar subject matter.

For kids who love superheroes and science fiction

Our editors recommend

Top advice and articles

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate

About these links

Common Sense Media, a nonprofit organization, earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes when you use our links to make a purchase. Thank you for your support.

Read more

Our ratings are based on child development best practices. We display the minimum age for which content is developmentally appropriate. The star rating reflects overall quality and learning potential.

Learn how we rate