Kid reviews for The Accidental Cheerleader

Common Sense says

Easy read on fitting in not worth cheering about.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 5+
Based on 3 reviews

Kids say

age 9+
Based on 17 reviews
Teen, 13 years old Written byValerie Torres September 29, 2015
The Accidental Cheerleader, by Mimi McCoy. Genre: Realistic fiction. The Accidental Cheerleader is about two seventh grade girls and also best friends Kylie and Sophie who are going back to school and they can’t wait. Kylie has a wild side, while Sophie is really shy and thoughtful, but they make a great team together. But Kylie wants to fit in with the popular girls, so she signs her and Sophie for the cheerleading team. But Sophie is the one who made it and Kylie didn’t. Then they end up fighting and saying that they aren’t friends anymore. Sophie then feels really torn between her best friend and doesn’t know what to do now. I can relate to Sophie because we are both shy and my best friend is also wild like Kylie. I also understand that Sophie gets really sad when her and Kylie fight and she starts to over think too much and tries to figure out what is the best thing to do. It makes me think about me and my best friend when we fight sometimes too just like them. I get really sad and I start to over think too just like Sophie.I love this book because of the drama and feelings of it. I didn’t expect to like a book called Accidental Cheerleader because I don’t really like those kinds of things like all that drama, but it turns out that I like really liked it! And I was amazed on how Sophie and Kylie became stronger characters and solve everything out together. Although I got to say some of their actions were unexpected and really surprising because based on their character. My favorite part is when they solve everything all out and became friends again. My least favorite part is when they were fighting and stop becoming friends. It is really sad when friends end up fighting and stop talking to each other. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves drama, feelings, middle school and realistic fiction. This is a fantastic book I couldn’t let it down so on a rating system I would give The Accidental Cheerleader a 4/5.
Kid, 11 years old November 17, 2011

Why did you give this 2 stars?

This is really good. I liked it alot. Really easy to read but fun. Reccommended!
Kid, 11 years old August 19, 2011

The Accidental Cheerleader 101

The Accidental Cheerleader is a great book for kids 7+. There is some flirting and girls get really excited about some boys, but other than that, the book is awesome. The characters are good role models and present positive messages. Thanks for reading! :)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMASSICLIKPERCYJ... July 31, 2011

Uuuh

Ugh i'm so girly and perfect i need to fit in and eat my calorie-free lunch with the populah cheerleadeh gurls, ugh ugh i'm sooo pretty wow!! Hahahahahahahaha!!! I hope u know i'm joking...Don't take this personally please. I am a...well, CRAZY FANGIRL! :) And i admit it...SO ZELDA, PERCY JACKSON, AND SUPER MARIO ARE THE BEST CUZ THEY AIN'T GIRLY. Popular girls= 00000000000 points!!!! Me,proud super-awesome gamer saria's best friend midna's friend, annabeth's sister HEROINE OF TIME with powers of din, nayru, farore, MASTER SWORD and kirby my awesome friend who helps me in my quest = infinite points. Well goodbye...I need to go back to defeating Puppet Ganon...Dang! What a hard boss! How many forms do you have, dude??? Gaaaah! Oh and girly girls you wouldn't survive one day of playing video games because "it's so sad that the lil monsters are dying" LOL
Teen, 16 years old Written bybooks_books February 8, 2011

PERFECT FOR 11 YEAR OLD KIDS

LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 12 years old December 19, 2010

Not bad, but not good

Honestly. This book I read because I was a cheerleader and I wanted to read a book that could follow up my interest. I read it. I actually had to perform a play about the book that we were reading in english class about this book one day with my best friend. It is not bad but is still not the best. I don't really think that anything stands out. No bad content-no good content. But if your little cheerleader wants to read it go ahead and let her. It is a good reading experience.
Kid, 8 years old October 22, 2010

Such a bad book. So badly written.

SO BAD........ :( I did not like it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Kid, 8 years old September 19, 2010
I think this book is OK for 8+.I kinda like this book.And I really hope Mimi Mcoy Makes Accidental Cheerleader 2.I am 8 years old almost 9 years old.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 8 years old May 19, 2010

The book is Cool and funny.

Love it
Kid, 8 years old February 20, 2010
Teen, 14 years old Written bySnowflake123 December 12, 2009
Mimi i would love o ask and i hope you read this !
Please please please make a second book of The Accidental Cheerleader! I want Sophie and

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Kid, 12 years old November 3, 2009
I LOVE THIS BOOK IT IS AWESOME MIMI MCCOY U R THE BEST WRITING CANDY APPLE BOOKS

This title contains:

Educational Value
Teen, 13 years old Written byruby96 May 18, 2009

'A little to easy for a thirtheen year old'

This book was a bit to easy for me because it had very little new vocab. On the upside I think most all girls can relate to it because it deals with fitting in with the 'in' crowd,boy crushes, and being yourself. I would recomend this book to girls at the age of 11 to 13.
Teen, 13 years old Written bykeekee13 March 1, 2009

The Accidental Cheerleader

GOOD
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008

It's in my Candy Apple Collection Volume 1!

I just finished reading this book, and let me tell you it was amazing! I can really understand where Sophie is coming from becuase I had a simmilar thing happen to me. It was such a good book, I wish I could read it again! But sadly, it's over. It's short, sweet, and if you don't believe me, then read it for yourself! I highly reccomend it!