The Invisible Tower: Otherworld Chronicles, Book 1

Common Sense Media says

King Arthur meets gamers in action-packed series start.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

What parents need to know

Educational value

The Invisible Tower is based on the King Arthur legends, but author Nils Johnson-Shelton takes liberties in developing the Athurian characters. Readers new to the story will learn about King Arthur's court. Those familiar with the Arthur legends may enjoy the reinterpretation of these famous characters. 

Positive messages

Artie Kingfisher and his sister Kay start on a quest to save the world. Through their experiences, they transform from gaming teens to nobility with the courage and honor that goes along with it. 

Positive role models

An average kid who's often bullied at school, Artie Kingfisher finds inner strength when he is sent on a dangerous quest to save the world, free the imprisoned magician Merlin, and dispose of some dangerous creatures along the way. Although he comes by his skills and expertise magically rather then by years of training, he uses them to help the world and his loyal subjects. Artie also shows compassion to many creatures he encounters in his quest and uses his newfound magic to heal. 

Violence

There's a lot of violence in The Invisible Tower, as Artie and Kay fight dire wolves, dragons, and all sorts of mythical creatures. Although the descriptions are not overly graphic, limbs get severed and blood is spilt. A severed hand plays a pivotal role in Artie's quest. 

Sex

There's a subtle suggestion of an affair between Merlin and a water nymph centuries ago. 

Language

Swearing is limited to "freaking," "fudge," and "bull." 

Consumerism

The Invisible Tower is based on a fictitious video game, Otherworld, but Artie and Kay play other real video games such as Call of Duty and Fallout. There's a lot of focus on Mountain Dew, which is not allowed in the Kingfisher house but used as a special reward. Gamers are called "Dr. Pepper Heads."

Drinking, drugs, & smoking

There's no alcohol in this story with the exception of wee Tom Thumb drinking what appears to be beer out of a thimble.  

Parents Need to Know

Parents need to know that Otherworld Chronicles: The Invisible Tower is an action-packed adventure story with battles against fight dire wolves, dragons, and all sorts of mythical creatures. The battles are designed to be similar to the first-person video games that main characters Kay and Artie are obsessed with. There's some blood and gore (limbs get severed and blood is spilt; a severed hand plays a pivotal role in Artie's quest), but in general the violence is mild. There are also some more mature themes here: Kay is abandoned by her mother at an early age, when Artie is brought to live with the Kingfishers by Merlin. How being abandoned has affected Kay is explored later in the book. Qwon, a teen friend, is kidnapped and taken to Otherworld, and readers will need to read the next book in the Otherworld Chronicles to find out what happens to Qwon. 

User reviews

Parents say

Not yet rated
Review this title!

Kids say

Not yet rated
Review this title!

What's the story?

Avid gamer Artie Kingfisher starts getting messages in his favorite video game, Otherworld, only to find out that his destiny is to save the world from disaster. When he meets Mr. T (aka Merlin), he discovers that he's a clone of the original King Arthur and his quest is to venture into Otherworld. Merlin also helps him to claim Excalibur from the Lady of the Lake. Well equipped, Artie, along with his older sister Kay and a few other trusted knights, faces challenges in Otherworld such as a ferocious she-wolf, tornadoes, an evil witch and a dragon, all to bring back the key that will unlock Merlin from his imprisonment in the invisible tower.

Is it any good?

QUALITY
 

Full of action and adventure, OTHERWORLD CHRONICLES: THE INVISIBLE TOWER will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan, King Arthur, and/or gamers. The action is fun and the violence not too gruesome. The characters are funny, wisecracking teens who rise to the challenge to save the world. Ultimately, this is an easy reading book, a perfect summer read for teens. 

Families can talk about...

  • Families can talk about what teens learn from video games. Can some games be educational and informative as well as entertaining?

  • Even though his sister, the loyal Sir Kay, plays second fiddle to King Artie, Kay is a smart brave teen who faces danger alongside her brother. Families can talk about gender stereotypes in media and how girls are portrayed. 

  • Why do the centuries-old King Arthur legends remain so popular in books and movies? What others books or movies have you encountered that draw on or update them? 

Book details

Author:Nils Johnson-Shelton
Genre:Adventure
Topics:Magic and fantasy, Adventures, Book characters, Brothers and sisters
Book type:Fiction
Publisher:HarperCollins Children's Books
Publication date:September 4, 2012
Number of pages:352
Publisher's recommended age(s):8 - 12
Available on:Hardback, iBooks, Kindle, Nook, Paperback

This review of The Invisible Tower: Otherworld Chronicles, Book 1 was written by

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are conducted by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

About our buy links

When you use our links to make a purchase, Common Sense Media earns a small affiliate fee from Amazon or iTunes. As a nonprofit organization, these funds help us continue providing independent, ad-free services for educators, families, and kids while the price you pay remains the same. Thank you for your support.
Read more

See more about how we rate and review.

What parents and kids say

Write a user reviewThere aren't any reviews yet. Be the first to review this title.

Poll

Did our review help you make an informed decision about this product?

Digital Compass