All parent member reviews for The Last Olympian: Percy Jackson and the Olympians, Book 5

Parents say

(out of 16 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 2, 4, 6, and 8 year old Written byjennwhitmer October 14, 2010
 
I enjoyed the story, and it's action packed. The biggest problem is with the way the demigods were conceived. There is a lot of talk about the gods sleeping with humans to make the demigods. Until your child is ready to understand babies out of marriage, this book isn't for him.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Adult Written byDrSpongebob January 21, 2010
 

Best Conclusion Ever Since LOTR 3

The title says it all. This is one of the best conclusions to a series I have read since Lord of the Rings. Definitely more violent than the others, it is a very good book that really made me sad that the series was over. It gives lots of messages throughout the entire book involving friendship, and standing up for what you believe. If you son or you like the other books you are going to go bananas over this one. Enjoy!^_^
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written bystuhlly December 9, 2009
 
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Adult Written byunknown person June 10, 2011
 

Percy Jackson's final book

The final installment to an acclaimed series, The Last Olympian is a novel full of action and suspense. A lot of violence throughout the book, though, and a little of parent guidance may be needed. A breathtaking book.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent of a 6, 8, and 10 year old Written bypebchristian March 23, 2010
 

The best in the series

Very enjoyable. An excellant twist with Greek mythology. This was by far the best in the series. It is way better than Harry Potter.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written bycatsforpeace@aol.com May 18, 2011
 
my whole family loved the whole series. My son is now soooo into mythology. LOVE IT........??
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written bymartalowe February 25, 2011
 

Percy jackson series ROCKS!!!:)

Love it . the climax is chop full if anxiety. ITS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byJustin 974 October 29, 2010
 

This game is great for pre-teens and above.

Great book. But, I don't want to say too much about it because I don't want to spoil it for you. YOU HAVE TO READ IT!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byhumberto September 18, 2009
 
The book is totally perfect, every one should read it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bycasandreas July 1, 2009
 

Great for tweens and up!

This whole series is a great introduction to the whole world of Greek mythology. The main character, Percy Jackson, is a good role model, always striving to do the right thing and live up to what it is supposed to mean to be a 'hero". There are positive messages concerning friendship and family, and for parents, a warning to show their children they love them especially during the difficult teen years when you might suppose a child doesn't want to hear that sort of thing.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byBlooper September 4, 2010
 
This book is extremely environmental, and wastes so much time trying to get kids to think about "saving the wild" instead of family values, morals, and other way more important stuff. If the author takes time to try to get an idea into a child's head, I would like to think it is one that is worth while.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 21, 2010
 
amazing
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byironman2 May 17, 2010
 
Parent Written bycommonsensek July 1, 2015
 

By Percy Jackson Fan

I think people should read this book because it's a really good book with good details , and it's really fun. They would need to read the other books before reading this book, otherwise it will not make sense. My favorite part about the book is when Percy goes in the river, Stix.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent Written byunknown65917 January 24, 2015
 
Very good book, but a lot of violence and war, as well as death. More sadness and steaminess than before. The teenagers are growing up, so there is more love, kissing, etc. Many deaths and sad explanations of the characters' stories and childhoods.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 10 year old Written bylana Noel October 31, 2009
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models