The Last Star: The 5th Wave, Book 3

Book review by Sandie Angulo Chen, Common Sense Media
The Last Star: The 5th Wave, Book 3 Poster Image

Common Sense says

age 13+

Intense finale to alien-invasion saga is violent, upsetting.

Parents say

age 15+

Based on 3 reviews

Kids say

age 13+

Based on 9 reviews

Did we miss something on diversity?

Research shows a connection between kids' healthy self-esteem and positive portrayals in media. That's why we've added a new "Diverse Representations" section to our reviews that will be rolling out on an ongoing basis. You can help us help kids by suggesting a diversity update.

A Lot or a Little?

The parents' guide to what's in this book.

Stands out for .

Community Reviews

age 13+

Great book for teenagers

It's extremely engaging and interesting to read. All violence and sexual material is essential to the plot. The sexual material is very minimal and I found that it made the story more interesting because it added so many twists. I would recommend this book to anyone in the 13-14 range. Also I would say that make sure your child is mature enough to handle the violence in this book.

This title has:

Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
age 13+

Lots of violence but a positive overall message

I found the last novel a bit disappointing personally because I saw the ending coming back in book two, however I think that teenagers will find it far more interesting. There is some kissing and one of the characters ends up pregnant, but the scene where this happens was so vague I had to go back and re-read because I was confused as to when this had happened. It is as violent as the last two books and not suitable for sensitive youth. However if a teen was able to read books one and two, this one should not be a problem. Comparing this book to other science fiction dystonia such as the Hunger Games, Divergent, and Matched I think that it is much darker. The ultimate story is about what it means to be human and what we are doing to our planet rather than an in depth look at authority. It does not have as much of a happy, satisfying ending as some of the others but remains a lot more ambiguous. Still, for fans of Maze Runner or Lord of the Flies, this may be a good choice.

This title has:

Too much violence

Book Details

Our Editors Recommend

Themes & Topics

Browse titles with similar subject matter.

  • Cartoon picture of a sister and brother holding hands
    Brothers and Sisters
    See all
  • Cartoon hands high fiving
    Friendship
    See all
  • Cartoon picture of a UFO
    Space and Aliens
    See all

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate