Parents' Guide to

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Riddle of Ages

By Carrie R. Wheadon, Common Sense Media Reviewer

age 9+

Kid geniuses are grown up in exciting 4th mystery-adventure.

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Riddle of Ages Poster Image

A Lot or a Little?

What you will—and won't—find in this book.

Community Reviews

age 9+

Based on 1 parent review

age 9+

Great book, a little strange

Fourth in the series, Constance is having a voice haunting ,known as the Listener, and she is feeling left out of the team because the rest of the society does not what the Listener to know their plans to save her and Mr. Benedict her father. Constance leads a little boy named Tai Li, who is five, to protected him from the ten men and the Listener ( who is with the ten men). Constance does said the mysterious Benedict Society members have crushes on one another, and kate kisses Reynie and Sticky on the cheek when she arrived on the patio, she was skydiving. Constance and kate said that Sticky was good looking. Other than that the book was great and a very good message about growing up and going your own way, but never forget your best friends. Use your talents for good.

Is It Any Good?

Our review:
Parents say (1 ):
Kids say (5 ):

This bonus adventure that takes place years after the original trilogy is a treat for fans of Reynie, Sticky, the Great Kate Weather Machine, and Constance, the mind-reading contrary poet. Most fans of the original Mysterious Benedict Society series would be happy to read about the intriguing quartet doing just about any old thing: hanging around the house, inventing stuff, supping on strongman Moocho Brazo's superb lasagna surrounded by a table full friends and relatives. Instead, we get the MBS out fighting the Ten Men again -- and this time Kate's an amazing shot with the tranquilizer gun. They jump out of planes and have to use their smarts to dodge traps and trick doors and a mind reader who will easily foil their plans by knowing everything they think. The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Riddle of Ages stays almost as clever as its characters, though the logic gets a little fussy at times as the story wraps.

The 5-year-old character, Tai, is a wonderful addition to the story and to the MBS. He brings out the best in them (Kate's playful interactions with Tai are beyond sweet) and adds a lightness and humor when things get a little scary. What a nice trick of author Trenton Lee Stewart: in keeping the MBS positive around the mind-reading Tai when things get harry, so as not to scare him, these parts of the story become less frightening for younger readers as well.

Book Details

Did we miss something on diversity?

Research shows a connection between kids' healthy self-esteem and positive portrayals in media. That's why we've added a new "Diverse Representations" section to our reviews that will be rolling out on an ongoing basis. You can help us help kids by suggesting a diversity update.

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate