Parents' Guide to

The Nobleman's Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks: Montague Siblings, Book 3

By Andrea Beach, Common Sense Media Reviewer

age 14+

Adventure series finale turns serious about mental illness.

The Nobleman's Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks: Montague Siblings, Book 3 Poster Image

A Lot or a Little?

What you will—and won't—find in this book.

Community Reviews

There aren't any parent reviews yet. Be the first to review this title.

Is It Any Good?

Our review:
Parents say Not yet rated
Kids say (1 ):

This third, final installment in the swashbuckling series about the Montague siblings takes a serious and sometimes quite dark turn from the funny, campy adventures in the first two. Readers who enjoyed Monty and Felicity's earlier escapades should know that The Nobleman's Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks has many more long passages about Adrian's mental and physical struggles than it does about adventure or romance on the road or at sea. There are adventures, pirates, mysteries, and even some funny parts, but the book is first and foremost a story about a young man struggling to accept his mind as it is, and learning to live with the knowledge that there will always be good days as well as bad ones.

Some of the extended parts where Adrian describes his thoughts can feel repetitive. But he'll definitely inspire empathy in teens who can handle the darkness, violence, and strong language as they get to know someone with anxiety and compulsive disorders as a whole, regular person like anyone else. Fans of the first two books will be glad to see favorite characters return, bringing humor and adventure along with them. The satisfying ending is sweet and hopeful.

Book Details

Did we miss something on diversity?

Research shows a connection between kids' healthy self-esteem and positive portrayals in media. That's why we've added a new "Diverse Representations" section to our reviews that will be rolling out on an ongoing basis. You can help us help kids by suggesting a diversity update.

Common Sense Media's unbiased ratings are created by expert reviewers and aren't influenced by the product's creators or by any of our funders, affiliates, or partners.

See how we rate