All parent member reviews for Borderlands 2

Parents say

(out of 20 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 12 year old Written byJohn Dawson October 7, 2012
 

Censor the gore and you are good to go.

For this game, you really just have to know your kid. If they play anything like skyrim or tf2, they should be fine. There is the issue of violence, but there is a "censor gore" option in the settings menu. This not only takes care of blood, but also the language (which by the way is nothing worse than what your kid hears in middle school). Censor gore basically turns borderlands 2 into a T rated game. The positive message is kind of a stretch, but the game is basically about overthrowing a dictator to free innocent civilians from his clutches. Now, if you ask me, the cover is the most violent thing about the whole game. I think it looks that way to attract fans of incredibly violent series like gears of war or call of duty. Also, the art style makes borderlands 2 look like a giant graphic novel, which also helps tone down the violence. I hope this helps. -John Dawson
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Parent of a 15 year old Written byLAXDad October 3, 2012
 
LEARNING

OK for mature 12+, too much of a joke to be taken seriously.

In all fairness, it's a violent game. Not as violent as games like 'Call Of Duty' and 'Battlefield 3' but it's got a lot of shooting in. The thing with the dismemberment is that it only happens when you use a sniper rifle or explosive weapon, and even then it doesn't happen often. There is a 'toggle gore' option which removes most of the profanity, excluding things like 'as*' and 'Bit*h'. It also removes all decapitation and mutilation, and removes blood from the equation as well. The only thing left on when playing with no gore is red splatters on your screen. As long as you have a mature 12+ then the game shouldn't be a problem, in all honesty, it's too over the top and cartoon like to be realistic in any way.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written byHappyness December 10, 2013
 

Borderland 2 is good for your little Scout

Borderlands 2 is a cartoony, open world loot game. Like call of duty, but more tame with violence, the worst you see is a red laugh-inducing splat. It treated the mission in which you must consume alcohol lightly, just picking up the beer and making the edges of your screen have hearts. There is sexual innuendo but that will only be caught by 15+ years old. It utilises teamwork as a core mechanic, and treats it as a must, as you get better items. The bad language wasn't really noticeable, as it was either bleeped, or replaced with funny words. There is no sex, but people do flirt about 3 times. The message of "Co-op is essential" is good for a Boy Scout or such equivalent. It is very good, funny and cartoony, an excellent game, and the item stats will make you flex your math muscles.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written byJimWilson May 27, 2013
 

Borderlands 2 Review

Set shortly after its predecessor, borderlands 2 takes place in the fictional land of Pandora, where a tyrant by the name of Handsome Jack rules with a n iron fist. A group of treasure hunters, known as Vault Hunters, come to Pandora in hopes of striking it rich, however, their train explodes and they find themselves on a quest to liberate the people of Pandora. Borderlands 2 is a very fun game, however, it's not for younger kids. The game is violent and fast-paced (not to mention funny-I had to laugh a few times) and is an excellent title that will provide hours of entertainment. However, it's not exactly kid-friendly. while the game is bloody, the blood looks comic-book like and isn't very realistic or disturbing. There are a few sexual references, and a lot of them are jokes made by the characters. Borderlands 2 is violent, but not as violent as other popular titles (Mortal Kombat, Bioshock, Call of Duty). The violence almost exclusively takes place in gunfights. One thing my wife and I were glad to see is that there is none of the brutal throat-slitting or neck-breaking found in other games. The art in this game makes it all very hard to take seriously and the humor helps to add to that even more so. I bought this game for my older son who had been begging me for it before the game was released. I was pleasantly surprised to find hat the game had a content filter which removed the blood and most of the profanity and sexual references, resulting in a clean game that would be rated T for Teen if it was its own title. With the filter on, I even felt comfortable letting my younger son play parts of the game. Both Borderlands games are very teamwork-based, and I played with my older son and watched him play with friends online. This game sefinitely builds teamwork and helps devwlop cooperation skills. The game reminds me of comic books and made me laugh a few times. All in all, Borderlands 2 is a quality game that I would reccomend for ilder kids, (11, 12, 13+) unless you have the filter on and you are monitoring your child. I don't usually enjoy videogames, but I had fun playing this with my son(s). This is a great game and I highly reccome d it to parents with children older than 11.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7, 9, and 13 year old Written byCaringGameReviews February 15, 2013
 

Not as bad as you may think

My 13 year old wanted this game a lot. We went to Best Buy and I saw the cover of the game, I said no right away. After watching YouTube videos of this game, I realized that the cover is the most violent part of the game. There is a 'Toggle Gore' option which not only gets rid of blood, it also censors out swears. The one thing that concerned me the most was 'Sexual Content'. The worst it gets is that Maya, one of the playable classes has tight fitting clothes. This game has a good message too. To fight for what you believe in. The evil Handsome Jack, dictator of the world of Borderlands, wants ultimate power. You with the help of the resistance and several friends (My son LOVES the robot Claptrap) will take him down. The verdict is if you have a kind, loving child 13 or older, this game is harmless.
Parent Written byCDotBadMaw October 3, 2012
 
LEARNING

Great game for teenagers

First off you have to understand this is a cartoon game. Everything is like reading a comic except you get to control it. There is an excessive amount of blood and gore but no something a 13-14 year old couldn't see . As I said before its like a comic so its not realistic. There is some crude humor but its nothing kids don't hear in school with a few light swear words but nothing bad. To be honest I thought this game was tamer than the first. It has a somewhat positive message of teaming up and stopping a dictator type character along with helping various civilians along the way. It teaches about money spending and how to save money to achieve goals such as upgrades. As far as story goes I loved it. It had a great plot and flowed nicely. The bottom line is that its NOT for really young kids. If your around 13 maybe 12 you could play it. Compared to other games this is a step up from Halo and a step down from Gears of War.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byBuck Wheat December 25, 2012
 

Sex in the game.

Cartoon porn magazines scattered around in the game. they depict females with almost no clothes in a cartoon oriented way. Female character you can play as also has skin tight clothing thoroughly expressing her sex.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 11 year old Written byHealthWyze.org October 17, 2012
 

Disappointed

While the language in this game may be better than in most M titles, the sexual content is unacceptable. One of the upgrades for the Gunzerker class is "Sexual tyrannosaurus". This same text is also featured in several mods. So, there is a good chance that a child may then decide to ask his parents what "sexual" means. It is a real disappointment that a co-op game, which should be a family game, added such sexual content.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byThegamingguy November 18, 2012
 

A great game.

This game is very good. The violence is the only issue, but it's too cartoony to take seriously. The language is not too bad, and the sexual content is very slim. i think I recall hearing 1 sexual reference, and all it was was someone saying they would like to :get some of that". Overall, this is a very good game for preteens and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byParent155 October 3, 2012
 
LEARNING

Great

dont let kids play multiplayer if they have a head set and you can filter cursing and gore on the video and audio options in game. Also the fying body parts you can barely tell that they canme off. Its alot better (and more apropiate) than the first one.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byJackAlbricht March 1, 2013
 
LEARNING

Shows Dangers of Dictatorships

Violent games are found all throughout society. Whether you like it or not, your children will be exposed to violence and murder, and if they are 12+ they have already been exposed to it. The main point that I want to bring up is the plot. The antagonist, Handsome Jack, is a dictator. Subconsciously, your children will learn the horrors of dictatorships and letting unfair authority rise to power. They will also learn when resistance is necessary, and when it is not morally correct, all while having fun!
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byvideogamedad November 10, 2012
 
LEARNING

it a good game

It is ok for 12, they curse a few times but not really bad. There is not really any blood.
Adult Written byBlueCactus24 November 4, 2014
 
LEARNING

Another "common sense" mishap

Rating: Violence:7/10 Language:6/10 Drugs/Drinking:3/10 Suggestive Themes:4.5/10 (there is a way to turn gore off, keep reading to find more info) Info: First off, the main reason this game is M is for violence. You can use many different types of weapons to shoot n' kill your way through the game. There is blood, and gore when you kill and attack enemies, but not very noticeable while playing. The most violent part of the game is in character introductions where people are smashed, impaled, and shot, with blood everywhere. You can explode enemies into different body parts, which is quite gross. There is a fix which drops the violence to a 4/10 which is the turn off gore mode. It is in gameplay settings, and takes care of the ugly gore. It will not edit the cutscenes though, so be careful about those! Next off, language. All you need to know is that there are frequent uses of "bi**h, hell, and jackass. You will need to warn whoever you are reading this for about these words, and make sure they're used to them. No use of the F*** word, and two uses of S***. The drugs are acceptable, and there is not much drinking or drugs at all, just a few instances where people smoke and drink, but no noticeable drugs. For the suggestive themes, there is a lot of dark humor and torturous humor used. There are bars with people who ask for "work" that use stripy clothing. There are gambling machines (that if you ask me are incredibly expensive) that use money up like a fire, in game of course! Expect dark humor throughout, violence, mild language, and a bit of suggestive items.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bytrevork August 13, 2015
 
LEARNING

COMMON SENSE THINKS THE WORLD IS SUNSHINE AND RAIMBOWS AND EVERYTHING BAD SHALL BE BANESHED BY DEATH

Sorry I messed up on the other one. I want everyone to never get on common sense ever again. Common sense got this game took away from me. I HATE YOU COMMON SENSE. This game isn'T bad at all. Just a few sexual references Some playboy magizenes but you don't have to look,read,or pick up. This game has a good message about teamwork. Cussing isn't bad. Drinking is only in one mission. I AM NEVER LISTENING TO COMMON SENSE EVER AGAIN P.S THE violence isn't bad turn off the gore.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byAllCanadianGirl April 11, 2015
 

It's Fine, I Promise.

This HILARIOUS game will have you on your toes. Don't let the little children play it, as it is violent, but it's about as violent as skyrim, and to be honest, it's not that bad. There is some language and sexual innuendo. But ITS A GAME.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byparkerm1 February 16, 2015
 
LEARNING

Turn off gore

A great game, with tons of replay ability. Would be worse , if not for the toggle gore option.
Adult Written byadultwith4kids September 13, 2014
 

ok for kids 12+

outstanding game but too funny and futuristic to be taken seriously. There is a lot of blood and a bit of swearing but that can all be censored. My 13 year old son wanted this game so I bought it for him and I played it myself. Also totally hilarious
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Parent of an infant, infant, 1, 7, 13, and 18 year old Written byLilipie June 22, 2014
 
LEARNING

Horrible

It is horrible
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byStrictParent March 16, 2014
 
LEARNING

Supercool Game is FUN AND GREAT FOR LEARNING

My three toddlers play this game all the time, even when they're going to the bathroom. It has really inspired them. Now they all want to be sniper assasins when they grow up and maybe even join the military. Or not join the military and become sniper assasins anyway. You should buy this game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Parent of a 12 year old Written byCave Johnson February 26, 2014
 
LEARNING

Hey not to bad

Other than some swearing and inappropriate jokes the game is not to inappropriate. I mean it's really unrealistic and no worse than skyrim.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing