Kid reviews for Call of Duty: Black Ops

Common Sense says

Superb but violent shooter is definitely for adults only.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 207 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 556 reviews
Kid, 12 years old March 9, 2011

hold up a second

What the review fails to realize is that you can yurn of the blood and cursing. The game is violent. Baisicly the games goal is to kill as much as possible. I mean I hear worse words at school.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive role models
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old July 24, 2011

What the heck??????? is wrong with game makers????!!!!!!

Constant blood repetitive bad language. First there is some thing messed up with treyarc for making a game where you can blow peoples arms off and light them on fire over use of the F word S word and every other swear word lots of blood and its not that fun plus ciggaretes and knives in peoples arms

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 10 years old January 16, 2011
MW2 is better and less frantic

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bybLaHbLaHjjjjjjjj June 24, 2015

Bloody, but really fun.

Call of Duty: Black Ops II is worse than the first one. Campaign features torture, massive amounts of killing and massive amounts of blood and gore. F bombs are thrown CONSTANTLY in online and the campaign. NOT suitable for kids.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written bycookiemonster2013 November 21, 2010

Good for 13+ ages

First of all. There is no specific"language filter." But.. There is a content reducer. It takes out F-Words, blood, and gore. If you play the game with the content filter, it is just like a rated T game i think. If you play without the filter, it is really profane. It has a lot; and I mean a lot of blood and language without it. It tells a really complicated story but it makes sense at the end. I guess it can be "educational" by showing all of these different places and etc... that had to do with the Cold war and such but its my opinion. The controls are very easy to pick up on. If you have played MW2, the controls are the exact same. In conclusion, it is a great game. If you are a fan of the series or not, you will like it

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Educational Value
Teen, 15 years old Written byLuv life August 1, 2013

Violent, but not extreme

Being a 14 year old, I don't expect many people to take my review seriously. This game is a violent, military first person shooter. Throughout the single player campaign, there is heavy language, excessive gore, and some disturbing sequences. However, this is only present in the campaign and there is an option to censor the gore and language to a minimum. Also, when compared to games such as Fable or Borderlands. There is still heavy violence, as the game is a realistic first person shooter,but this allows some control over the level. The multiplayer has noticeably less blood than the campaign, and there is no scripted profanity. However, open voice chat is enabled, allowing for a somewhat higher degree of inappropriate language than usual. The zombies mode is, if anything, more gory than campaign, and there is no way to turn it down. Also, many characters often swear, and you can drink bottles of "perk-a-cola" to enhance your abilities in the game. Overall,
I think no one under 13 should be allowed to play this game, but some mature teens should be able to handle to violence and language. On a side note, this game offers a historical lesson- the main story follows the Cuban missile crisis, Vietnam, and the Cold War truly enough to teach a little about that era of history.
Teen, 16 years old Written byRaineKnight May 20, 2011
It's a good game, but it irritates me.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byBookworm_96 April 30, 2011

good game

I play this game all the time with my dad and i love it! its better than modern warfare in my opinion. i love this game and play it all the time when my nose isn't stuck in a book. :)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byBauer Power April 26, 2011

Best Call of Duty yet!

Best Call of Duty yet. Zombies are the best and so is Combat Training! It is even better if you have Xbox Live!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byblackopsisteengame February 14, 2011

FINE FOR KIDS ABOUT 13

can someone tell my parents in a comment that this game is just fine. they think that just because i play it i am going to go outside and shoot someone. thats crazy.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old November 20, 2010

B0

Good COD.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byAdeday June 11, 2021

Game has no ratings

Tbh I've always played game that are far too violent in stuff i played gta, pubg, Fortnite, and Cod ever since I 12. But I've played GTA ever since I was 6. I tried playing COD at 6 but I couldn't understand it u see games have no rating it is so ok to play games that are like 16+ bc It doesn't harm you it isn't anything sexual, movie, its just a war shooting game and trust me its ok for any age if they understand the game ofc. I'm not saying it is ok for photosensitive people but it is ok to play it at any age, gender etc...

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byLeonvol January 28, 2021

Good ps game

This game is one of the best call of duty game ever made, I have almost play them all(call of duty Cold War is the best) Teens who love play games on ps need to play this game
Kid, 12 years old January 16, 2021

REALLY GOOD GAME!!!

REALLY GOOD but there is PLENTY of violence and swearing. There is shooting, stabbing and bomb explosions as well as people fighting in helicopters and with grenade launchers.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byAsphalt76 January 2, 2021

Great war shooter

Great game for a beginner C.O.D. player

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byMrMee December 23, 2020

Call of Duty: Black Ops ist NICHT für Kinder geeignet.

Ich denke, das liegt daran, dass es irgendwann im Spiel eine grafische Folterszene gibt, die nicht als Unterhaltung angezeigt werden sollte.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byskazzel December 1, 2020

This games amazing

This games amazing but it does include lots of violence in the main Campaign. Of course, you could just play multiplayer or zombies (can scare young ones) which is a lot less violent. Campaign also includes some heavy language and scary themes but other than that it's fine, really

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byRusher November 21, 2020

It’s not as bad as you might think.

It’s really not that bad of a game. Sure you are still like shooting people but it isn’t like enough to compel your kid to like be more violent in the future. And as an added feature, the creators have added setting to disable graphic content. Literally the first thing that popped up on the game screen is an option to disable graphic content meaning there will not be gore or blood or a single voiced swear in the entire game. Like the did a surprisingly good job taking all the bad stuff off. You can disable the chat in multiplayer games as well. Overall a super great game and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who can handle it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byXxX_MLGSNIP3R_xXx November 2, 2020

Any CoD game is amazing IF your kid is mature.

I played this when i was six, had all gore on. Was I affected. No. Did i kill my family or freinds because i shot a pixel gun? No. All you karens who haven’t even laid a finger on this game need to shut your mouths.

If your mature, youre good.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byTHEMANDOLORIAN September 5, 2020

18+ ? hahahaha

this is not that violent

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism

Pages