All teen and kid member reviews for Catherine

Kids say

(out of 11 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old August 3, 2011

cute girls

I love the cartoon of the girls in it
Kid, 10 years old July 26, 2013

from a causual 10yr old

ive seen worse form gta this game shoul be rated A(For Adult)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byKalynn July 8, 2015

Fine for kids 13+ depending on the maturity of them

I'm 14 years old, i actually bought and finished this game just after turning fourteen and from what these reviews say i thought it was going to be a terrible game, i thought it was going to be completely inappropriate and something i'd have to stop playing in the middle because i just wouldn't be comfortable with it, but in all honesty compared to what a lot of people on here say about this game, it's pretty tame. There's nothing that you wouldn't see in say- a PG 13 movie, mind you I've only finished one route so far. I'm the kind of person who knows my boundaries though and if i'm playing a game or reading a book etc. that makes me uncomfortable i'm going to stop playing/reading it, my parents didn't care if i got the game because they know if it ended up being really dirty i'd stop playing, but they also know i know what's right and wrong and they don't mind if i play dirty games whether i stop when they get bad or not, i'm just not into that sort of thing. I was actually more scared about getting this game than my parents were after reading these reviews- only to find out it's no worse than most games now-a-days. Ok, i'm rambling, my point is, it's not that dirty, it's actually pretty tame, if you have kids who know their boundaries and are the least bit mature you should be fine, mind you there are some scenes where Catherine will describe her sex with Vincent to get a rise out of Katherine or describing what happened that night to Vincent like- "I didn't know you were so..kinky" And sometimes Catherine will send Vincent pictures that are somewhat provocative, the player can choose whether to look at them or not but as far as I've seen none have showed any bits or pieces, all in all i think it's fine for most 13 year old's now-a-days but really it's up to the parents and how they feel about the game and the somewhat provocative themes and how the kid feels about them.
What other families should know
Great messages
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written byPart IV August 19, 2012
LEARNING

Fun, but to much sex

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCWG1 April 2, 2013

A weird game.. but still good with kind of a good message

A game that is not only bizarre but is incredibly strange. This game has a strange story and a very nice twist ending. This game has long cut scenes and some of the strangest game-play you will ever experience. The game however does get very close to nudity but misses it barley with catherine sending you pictures of her in a towel and stuff like that they just barley miss showing the nipples. The main character wakes up next to a girl in bed with him and she keeps reoccurring, but never is the sex shown though in one scene as she prepares the camera goes down to his toes that curl up and the camera fades. This game doesn't actually show the sex, but it is strongly implied. The language has a lot of F words in this game and other mild swears. There is heavy drinking you can pick your drink and the more drunk you get the easier I think actually the nightmares become easier. It has some cleavage shown, but what do you expect from a typical anime style game. The violence you hit things out of your way with pillows, a girl is stabbed in the stomach, and some of the sheep people get stabbed by spikes in the ground and blood is shown. The game is disturbing, but a great twist and weird story I give this a great rating... Also this shows the bad of cheating also. if this were rated as movies are rated it would be R: For Sequences Of Strong Violence, Disturbing Images, Sexuality, Use of Alcohol, and Language Throughout.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byPART III August 19, 2012

Great, but to much swearing, sex, and drinking

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 February 26, 2012

Catherine.

Catherine can be a sadistically hard game for those who can't solve a game of chess right in their heads.On the other hand,those with quick minds can easily finish the game.I did this game with much ease although I took some time to master the puzzle sequences.If your hero dies,the death scenes are extremely gory and brutal almost always.A good game but not for the faint hearted.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bysineytheotaku June 13, 2015

Not As Bad As You May Think

Let me start off by saying I got this game for my 12th birthday. The game ISN'T as bad as you think. The game DOESN'T SHOW FULL NUDITY. It has a good message to it that kids and teens need to know, such as cheating is wrong and can destroy a relationship. This game hinges on the player's morality; forcing them to make tough decisions about what to do with the girls involved. Overall, if the kid knows the difference between right and wrong he should be able to get the game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bypitatron June 2, 2014

A GREAT, UNDERRATED PUZZLE DATING SIM

Despite the cover (a women about to take off her cloths) the game is not as inappropriate as you may think. Now to get this straight, this is not a game for kids, heck not even for teens. I was 17 when I finished it and I felt that I should been in a real adult committed relationship before I started it. Now content wise I think 16 and up is fine, but the whole overall concept of marriage, cheating, and commitment will blow over many peoples heads. Sexuality is the main issue with this game. It usually doesn't use sexually charged dialogue (I believe the most sexually charge conversation involved someone being "kinky"), however sometimes the way characters say things are said in a sexy way, but not necessarily inappropriate. Our main character wakes up a few times next to a girl who is fully nude, however sheets, various objects and camera angles covers all nudity. Sex is never shown, but heavily implied. There is never anything like foreplay either. Our main character I'd sometimes sent pictures that are revealing and provocative which the player can decide if he wants to look at or not. This game however is very mature with it's more sexual related decisions. Questions relating to marriage and commitment are frequent and will challenge the player on how relationships work and can't work. Drinking is present, however it is not excessive or heavily focused on. Getting drunk is implied but not 100% shown. Some characters also smoke infrequently. Language is an issue as f*ck and sh*t are heard quite frequently for a videogame. Violence is presented in an overthetop comical manner. When you fall to your death during the puzzle sequences you are shown dead on the ground littered with blood stains. Certain traps and boss attacks make you get vaporized into a bloody mist and get to watch as you bones fall the the ground. Some bosses are quite creepy and grotesque. They wield chainsaws and knives with blood on them and have horror movie type faces. These horrific bosses include babies, girlfriends and weird assortment of limbs and body parts. This game however is full of good role models. Out main characters girlfriend is caring and understanding, his friends are supportive and listen to each others problems. Our main character himself is good hearted, despite is accidental bad decision to cheat on his pregnant girlfriend. You really feel for him and understand how hard it is for him in his horrible predicament. This game is very well made and is very fun and rewarding. It is also quite difficult and the story is definetly geared towards adults. Give it a try, depending on who you are you may fall in love with Catherine and it's amazing gameplay and structure.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byPart II August 19, 2012

IT all works, but to mature for kids

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMashedAvacado December 21, 2011

It's NOT hentai.

Do not be fooled by the cover of this game, this game is supposed to be a little sexy, you get fan service every once in a while but no full nudity. Believe it or not this game actually does have a positive message. Its about this guy trying to decide if he wants to get married or live a life of excitement. This game also tells you that cheating is wrong you can loose everything if you do it. When you play the game when Vincent dies there is some guts but if not detailed at all. If someone takes this game seriously any 14 or older kid can play it but if they are gonna view it as porn NOBODY should play it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex