Kid reviews for Dead Island

Common Sense says

Ambitious zombie game loaded with violence, mature themes.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 32 reviews
Teen, 15 years old Written by11michelle47 September 11, 2011

Beautifully written and designed game!

okay so i absolutely love this game.Im a bout 40 poercent through and it is magnificant and beautiful scenary as it is a resort town.Here is my assesment Educational-not really except other cultures like indian hawaiian and others positive messaged-I personally think it is full of positive messages and some very sad ones though as well.I am willing to not only admit i shead a tear in the game but also in the trailer.Might look it up on youtube to see how deep it is if you want. good role models-The charecters you can play as have mostly noble stories and help many people out of kindness. violence-pretty high but still i believe it isnt worse than some others sexual content-some at the beggining about molestation and you see a female zombie handcuffed to a bed in lingerie and cameras littered around the room.She was obviously about to shoot an adult film but most suggestive thing ive seen also suggestive billboards languige-yes product placement-none alchohol/drugs/smoking-all 3 but not in priotties just tpo ecieve health overall i give this game in content rating a 9/10 I was thourally impressed.I suggest you go out and buy it for anyone.
Teen, 13 years old Written byijarritos June 15, 2012

Get it!

okay so i absolutely love this game.Im a bout 40 poercent through and it is magnificant and beautiful scenary as it is a resort town.Here is my assesment Educational-not really except other cultures like indian hawaiian and others positive messaged-I personally think it is full of positive messages and some very sad ones though as well.I am willing to not only admit i shead a tear in the game but also in the trailer.Might look it up on youtube to see how deep it is if you want. good role models-The charecters you can play as have mostly noble stories and help many people out of kindness. violence-pretty high but still i believe it isnt worse than some others sexual content-some at the beggining about molestation and you see a female zombie handcuffed to a bed in lingerie and cameras littered around the room.She was obviously about to shoot an adult film but most suggestive thing ive seen also suggestive billboards languige-yes product placement-none alchohol/drugs/smoking-all 3 but not in priotties just tpo ecieve health overall i give this game in content rating a 9/10 I was thourally impressed.I suggest you go out and buy it for anyone.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old July 12, 2013

Good for Mature kids 9 and Up

Here we go again with another gory and violent zombie shooter. But it isn't half as bad as you would think. First off, there will be some language, but words are just words and your child knows not to use them. Second, many characters in this game will go out of line to save lives, after all, this is a game about survival, unlike COD and Battlefield, which present kill to win. Dead Island has lots of killing, but you wouldn't survive a zombie apocalypse without decapitating a few zombies here and there. If you think it's too much for you child, there are parental settings. You can turn off practically anything. It's a good game if your child is mature and understands that this is not a game where you kill for fun, but there is a meaning behind slaying the undead. You keep not only yourself alive but also 3 other people. Good to learn about teamwork and loyalty.
Teen, 17 years old Written byEvilSorcerous May 28, 2012

Great for kids 11+

Dead Island is not bad at all. If your child wants this game get it, now it depends on how mature your child is playing this game. If you watch your child play this game, and he kills a zombie, then starts hitting the zombie on the ground rapidly, then they're not mature enough for this game. On the other hand if your child is mature enough to kill a zombie then not bother it again then yes, they're mature enough, when i watch my son play it he sometimes says to me that he has to hit him again if they get back up. The Blood and gore is alright to but, just like i said if your child isn't mature enough and start hitting the zombie on the ground when he's dead already, yeah if you do that then you'll see gore (minimum), violence isn't to bad just shooting and hitting zombies with weapons. Sexual Themes, you don't need to worry about, all it really is, bikini girls that's all, no making out or anything like that. Use of Alcohol, not bad at all there is a (bar) (where you drink beer) cut scene where your drunk, and through out the game you can pick up alcohol (rarely) (you don't have to either). Now the biggest one of all, Strong Language. however they do throw in f-word and some of the other bad words but they only say bad words in cut scenes. You can't turn strong language off but you can skip all cut scenes! I asked my pastor about this game and he approves this for my 11 year old son, He said to my son as long as you skip the cut scenes. I talked to my pastor afterwords when my son was at school and we talked about the game and he said to take it back to the store if he does anything bad afterwords, (such as going around in the streets/threatening people that he's gonna kill them)-I approve for 11+ Positive role models to/ Positive messages. Teamwork, surviving.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byburned00 September 25, 2011

Good for 15 and up.

Good game for 15 and up. Lot's of blood and language. And by the way, how do 75% of people think this game has positive role models? It's just people killing zombies.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written by007SPY April 10, 2014

Don't Bother

To much swearing at sex cometary inappropriate that's why I choose 15 and up

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byConor Coyle March 22, 2012

Best Zombie Game of 2011!

This game is much better than the "Dead Rising" series, that was rubbish! But this is 10 out of 10. The zombies are very scary especially the infected (ones that run fast) and the butchers (ones that run fast and a have knives has hands.) The environments are a very well done, and I think the jungle is the scariest place to be, because you may think that zombies would just suddenly jump out from the trees. Overall, this game is absolutely brilliant as well as the sequel Dead Island: Riptide!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDarksouls444 September 6, 2014

Its really a game for zombie fans and mature teens

Its really the best zombie game next to dead rising and left 4 dead it takes a lot of skill to keep zombies down and take out the bigger ones and the special types there is cussing and there is dead bodies with zombies festering on them but you can skip the bad parts in the game 10/10
Teen, 15 years old Written bydaughterofhappiness May 4, 2013

Dead Island

Dead Island is a very gory and violent zombie game- you can cut off limbs, break them, blow zombies up, shoot them, etc. but it's very fun and satisfying. The game can have a lot of swearing, it can seem scary, one girl is raped (but it's never said), you can get drunk, the zombies can wear skimpy suits, and there's even a house with a pornography being filmed, which is why I wouldn't recommend it to younger kids. You can also connect to other players online, but you can choose to turn this off. It's really only fun playing with friends. But if you've got a mature child who understands the world isn't all sunshine and rainbows, Dead Island is a great game.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written bytrollface200 December 31, 2011

Use your heads, please

To Start, this game is EXTREMELY bloody not much gore but A LOT of blood. Characters drink druring the opening cutscene the person's perspective in which your viewing during that time is drunk however he/she (the game never tells you) Is nowhere to be found ingame. The sexual content stops after zombies and survivors in skimpy bikinis. Mature 12 year olds should be able to handle it.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 17, 2011

Its a good game, but please be mature.

Hey, I think Dead Island is a really good game if your kids are mature. It does have a lot of swearing, but doesn't everybody swear a little to much? There are some scenes, maybe two, that aren't too great ( sexually ). If your kids are mature they would be able to play this game. It has alot of gore, but some other games are gory also. Anyway, mature kids could be able to play this game.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 17 years old Written bymovieaddict725 September 12, 2011

Great for older teens and adults

Although this a fantastic zombie RPG, no kid under 16 should play this game. It has pervasive language and A TON of gore. I mean I've played my fair share of gory games but this tops them all. Amazing game for older teens-adults.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byCoolpool785 January 6, 2017

Good game!

This game is a zombie survival game, so, right off the bat, there is violence and gore, but it isn't that bad. If you don't like blood, you can turn it off, but ONLY in the PC version. This is the first zombie game I've played besides Call of Duty's Zombies mode, and it isn't that bad. The first 5 minutes or so of the game is to actually AVOID zombies instead of fighting them, but you can look into other hotel rooms to find dead bodies and blood on the walls or floor. There is a cut scene where it shows burning zombies fall to there doom, but isn't that bad, and doesn't show they "infected" hit the ground. But after that, you can do a mission to save a character from a horde of zombies, and your only weapon is a boat paddle. When you attack zombies with the boat paddle, only about 5 ounces of blood will appear with each hit until they die. Each weapon is different, with different attacking methods and damage caused. (I haven't found any guns yet, but once I do, I'll tell you guys) There are boat oars, lead pipes, and shovels that basically do the same thing, you use them to whack zombies to death until they die. Then there are bladed weapons, which slice and cut, like machetes and knifes. These weapons can sever zombie's limbs and can cause decapitation. You can also use things like hammers and wrenches, that can bash into zombies, cause a crunching sound and sometimes you can whack there heads off. You can also beat zombies with brass knuckles, your bare hands, or kick them, but this resolves with them falling over dead with either little or no blood. There are 4 playable characters in the game. Two female and two male. You have Purna, the leader, Sam B, the tank, Logan, the "Jack of all Trades," and Xian Mei, the Assassin. Each character has there preferred weapons. For Sam B, he prefers Blunt weapons. For Purna, she prefers Guns. For Logan, he prefers Throwing weapons, and for Xian Mei, she prefers Sharp weapons. You can craft weapons as well as finding them. I've only been able to craft two, but they are BOSS! They do more damage, and sometimes they have faster attack speed. I've only been able to craft the "Nailed Baseball bat" and "The Ripper," and they are BOSS! The Nailed Baseball bat is just a, well, a Nailed Baseball bat. But the Ripper, OMG! It's a buzz saw blade on a metal baseball bat. It does so much damage. But it doesn't sever limbs in one hit. Depending on the enemy's health, level, and type, it'll take multiple hits to sever a limb or kill the zombie, but it can sever limb and stuff like that once there health is low. There are 6 types of enemies: the "Walker," which is the standard zombie. Then there's the "Infected," humans that just turned at least a couple hours ago, they are fast and extremely agile, they also shriek really loud before attacking. They are not decomposing like all other zombies. There is also the "Floater" type, they produce corrosive slime capable of hurting humans, or even blinding or disorienting humans from a distance for a short amount of time, and they are harder to kill than walkers and infection, because there tissues can absorb lots of punishment before being killed. Rams are said to be the toughest to kill, having that all there attacks are ramming motion, and all frontal attacks do little damage to them. The scariest looking ones would have to be the "Butcher" type zombies. They attack with a slice and stab motion with whatever is left of there upper limbs. They also have a leaping attack that is very fast and hard to block. Then there is the "Suicider" type, which is a highly deformed zombie, that explodes when you get close to it. I suggest to fight this type of undead from a distance. All of these "Undead freaks" are terrifying and may frighten young children. There is one area in the map where a man is on his knees in a pool filled with blood with corpses surrounding him, weeping and saying how he had to do it for self defense and that he didn't want to do it and says at least two F-words when he explains everything. Some may find this upsetting and disturbing. Some characters say F-Words constantly when attacked or scared. Not much sexual content, but lots of female characters are in bikinis, including zombies. This makes sense because the entire island is basically a beach. But there is a house with a zombie tied to a bed in a bikini. Not entirely sure why, though. It is never mentioned in the game why, and you only encounter the house once. Other than that, no sexual content. You can drink beer and wine to heal yourself, but you usually drink energy drinks or eat granola bars. Some characters make jokes about heroine. No other drug content. This game has an online mode, and headsets are enabled, and there are some "potty-mouthed" people out there (as if the game isn't potty-mouthed.) in many ways, and may offend people. Over all, the game can be suitable to 13 year-olds who can handle the average amount of blood in a zombie film or older. I'd suggest zombie fans to play this. One of the best zombie games ever made.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written bySimoniacChicken May 11, 2016

Good Game

Well teaches team work and how to help others when needed.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byHardCoreNate November 19, 2014

Amazing game!

I own Dead Island, Dead Island: Riptide, Dead Island: Epidemic and there all great games there some good stuff in it like you can do sidequests to help other survivors plus, your technically not killing the zombies (or as i like to call them: zambies) because there already dead. Yes, theres a lot of violence because you have to survive the apocalypse also you can't kill/hurt the survivors or your teammate if your in the Co-Op mode which is good. There is no sex but there is sexual talk, you can drink alcohol which makes you drunk theres also a skill you can get through leveling up called "Drunken Master" so whenever you drink alcohol you can kill the zambies better, faster. Other than that it's perfectly fine for teens 13 and up if there mature.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written bymattguy15 January 7, 2013

for once resident evil 1 looks good compared to this

horrible . it sucks third person with gore. basicaly the most improtant level is you have to get a girls teddy bear. REALLY ! i checked to see if there were any zombies behind me. ( none) the from behind i instantly die . This game sucks dont bother with dead island dont even buy it for 5 bucks or if its free you will get ripped off.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 15 years old Written bymadi7896 May 9, 2012

Fun game for older kids

I really love this game, it does have a lot of blood, and the language is very bad at times but overall it is a fun game for anyone who likes zombie games. Also if you are playing it, don't let little kids watch because it could give them nightmares.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 11 years old September 15, 2011

gory and more goryness

not for kid (no go at all)it very gory.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySergei Milakovic September 13, 2016

Dead Island? More like super fun island.

Gory, bloody and somehow very fun. This is yet another zombie title worth mentioning. Combat is great. Atmosphere is amazing. Characters hmmmmm not so much,but still okay.Story is bit repetitive, but still pretty good. Overall Story 9 Graphics 10 Characters 7 Open world 10 RPG 9 Atmosphere 9 Writing 6 Voices 8 68/80 Rating A

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 12 years old July 24, 2014

Appropriate for mature gamers.

This game is not bad in comparrison to other popular games such as Red Dead Redemption and Saints Row. The violence and gore is similar to many games such as Prototype 2 and Left for Dead. Language is as inapprinapproprate as PG-13 movies and MA-14 shows. Drug reference is almost unheard of, and is hard to catch unless you are looking for it. Sexual theme include, an "easter egg", bikinis and thats is it. bikinis are not as bad as what you would see at a public pool. Alcohol is found and can be given to npc's for cash. Consuming alcohol causes blurred vision and loss of control, but on the plus regenerates health. Overall if your child has played the left for dead series, saints row, or prototype, this game is good for your chid. Good evening and happy zombie hunting!

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages