All parent member reviews for Deus Ex: Human Revolution

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byschwango September 11, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

language is the only bad thing

This game is on the milder side among M rated games. Although common sense media exaggerates everything, this game is not that bad. There is no forces violence, and when violence is chosen, its quick and nothing gruesome or all that bloody about it. Also, its easy to die in this game, so its not likely that violence will be chosen anyways. Like all other reviewers on this site, I agree that there is absolutely nothing to be worried about sex wise. Theres no nudity, no sex, and the worst thing you can do is talk to a prostitute and have her compliment your augmentations, which are basically machine transplants that make you superhuman. The drinking is discouraged, so thats not a problem. The only potential thing is language, and while when they use it, its fairly strong, with a couple of f***s and s***s and some other weaker things like b****** and b****. But hte thing is, is that its not used often at all! Really, I think that anyone 13 an dup would be fine with this game.
Parent Written byFPocket September 8, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not just another futuristic shooter.

Playing this game, I wished several times that there was an option to turn off some of the swearing, since it felt unnecessary. The game can be played non-violently, and when done that way, there are ample opportunities for you as a player to make choices about how your character will handle both conversations and potential fighting situations. I think that some of the philosophic issues raised in the game can make for good discussion, but that would require your kids to be interested in examining and discussing how different sets of morals and ideals can both seem valid, but also clash with one another. Since there's no option to turn off blood or ease off on the language, I think the M rating is appropriate if you're not interested in watching or discussing the game with your kid. If you do like to talk about games with your kid, and enjoy a decent story in your games, you could go a few years younger, down to 14-15; in that case though, I'd say make sure to play the game yourself so you're familiar with the story enough to ask questions about how things are going.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bybigman99100 September 11, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not bad at all

Honestly, this game is not bad at all. There is only as much violence as the player wants there to be, and even then, its not as much as call of duty or halo. There is curses, but only in fights, where the player is too busy to really pay attention. there is absolutely NO sexual content what so ever, and when you drink, it only has negative effects. The only reason i would reccomend that only people over 12 get this game is because people younger than that probaably wont understand the plot. It really is not bad at all.
Parent Written byJORG3Z October 29, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

It's all about choice

I don't think this game is that bad for kids, the violence is there but not as violent as other games, you can shoot any person but it will have a bad consequence for your character. I played this using stealth all the game and also the game gives you the option of not killing guards but to leave them unconscious, it is a great game but it all depends on how you play it, how bad it will bee for your kid. You can take decisions that will make people die or lie in your own benefit but you can always do the right thing. It's all about choice.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bywehavecook1es July 8, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

:)

This game is for a mature audience. But not just because of the violence, language, and innuendo. The game contains several themes (globalization, trans humanism, greed, etc) that are too complex for kids. Nonetheless, get this game. Parents, know that Adam can take down enemies non-lethally.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byBrioCyrain May 6, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

A world, not a game

The most ambitious and compelling game I have ever played, and I think everyone mature enough to play it despite the mature content should witness a virtual world pretending to be just a game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bybigman200 September 11, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Violent, but not too violent

This game isn't as inappropriate as the esrb or commonsense media say. The sex is nothing, with the worst thing walking into a brothel for certain missions. The language is not often there, and is only bad occasionally. The drinking is discouraged, and has absolutely no perks, so its not bad. The only thing is that when you choose to use violence, it has some blood. You can also use you augmentations to kill people, making it more close up. Still, its really not that bad, with just as much blood as some T games like ghost recon. Thats why i think anyone 12 and up is fine with this game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bythe good reviewer September 11, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

There is no sex

This game is appropriate for kids 13 and up. The only real reasons that there would be any worry about kidss younger than that is the violence and language. The violence is only a problem for really young kids, like 7 or 8, where they might not realize that violence is bad. Its not really a problem for kids older than that because you don't have to use violence and its usually encouraged that you don't. I think the language could be a problem for people younger than 13 because while they probably hear and use worse language, the use of it in video games just reinforces it even more. I think thought that at 13, kids really don't think anything in video games should affect the way you act. The only thing I really don't think is a problem is the sexual content. It says that its there, but even if a kid did think that video games could be taken as real life, there wouldn't be anything to desensitizr them. Great game for teenagers
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bycsi guy September 11, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

milder than most

This game has many different things that could be considered inappropriate, but in milder ways than other games. For example, it has violence, but it doesnt even have to be ussed. It also has language, but its only used by enemies, in battle, meaning your not even paying attention to it. It has drinking, but it just makes the game harder, encouraging not to do it. Its also rated M for sexual content, but there really is none so it doesnt matter. all in all good for 12 and up
Adult Written bywhats right September 11, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good game

Anyone whos says that this game is violent is stupid. You don't have to use any violence if you don't want to, and when you do it really not that bad. Also, the sex. honestly, there is absolutely no actual sex related content in the game. You can be around people or things that relate to sex, but since you don't actually do anything sexual in the game, i don't think it should really affect anyone. The only problem is language, which is there, but still not as bad as gamkes like black ops. So if your kid is under 11 or 12, then the language would be a problem but otherwise, its not bad.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byrealistic judge September 11, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

13 and up

This game is very interesting, because it does not require that the player uses any violence. Even when the player does choose to use violence, like in most games, there is blood, but its really just a quick spray that is there is then's gone two seconds later. There is also some language, and if your kid is below 13, it's inappropriate. But honestly, teenagers hear worse from others,and probably say worse in one hour than you do in the entire game. There are also drugs and drinking, but personally, i don't believe that that sort of stuff affects children. An d even f it did, then there would be very few drug addicts out there because of all those "above the influence commercials" all in all, a very good game appropriate for 13 year olds and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking