Kid reviews for God of War: Chains of Olympus

Common Sense says

Violence & sex make prequel off limits to kids.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 7 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 12 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byGamersnews32 June 22, 2019

PSP entry is great but boring fast

I like a God of War, and with it being PSP is cool. Though after an hour or so, the game just becomes boring. Unlike other games in the series, this one reduces gore, but still copious amounts of blood are poured and sprayed. Decapitation, evisceration and dismemberment is graphic and results in a "waterfall" of blood. Sexuality isn't frequent, but there is a minigame where you do have ___ with topless, nearly naked women. You don't see the sex, but moans are heard, and are loud. The room also shakes a bit after a few buttons you press are triggered.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 15 years old Written byJdw3po April 17, 2013

Fun but violent hack n' slash for psp contains nudity.

A prequel to the original god of war is as the rest of them full of violence and nudity. One of the less violent of the Greek mythology epics COO is still full of gore such as ripping the head off of a gorgon or shoving a sword down a cyclops' eye socket. The nudity, as usual is one of the worst at least 4 cutscenes have bare breasts in them not to mention the sex scene wich shows nothing but very sexy moaning, if that sort of thing bothers you. After all they are computer generated, right? Certainly not for kids under fifteen although very fun.
Teen, 15 years old Written byESRBrules June 2, 2012

NOT FOR KIDS AT ALL??? WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH COMMON SENSE MEDIA???

It's a very good game. Loosely based on Greek Mythology (so it may be somewhat informative) God of War: Chains of Olympus is chronologically the second chapter in the series and it focuses on protagonist Kratos, a servant of the Olympian Gods, who opposes the goddess Persephone (who allies with the god Morpheus and Titan Atlas) in her attempt to destroy the world and Mount Olympus.
Let's talk about its inapproriate content. There is only one sex scene (threesome) and it's interactive (you must press buttons to hear women moaning), however everything happens off-screen. There are only two (or maybe three) scenes with nudity, and these scenes are not explicit at all (only breasts). Violence is not so strong (there are only two depictions of STRONG violence), and i personally think this game is suitable for 15-16 years and over. Blood and gore are not explicit, and most of the violence is targeted against various creatures (not humans).

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 March 18, 2012

Love GOW.

Yeah I have this game for PSP I don't play it a lot but it's very fun.Awesoem action moves and Mortal Kombat style violence,It's not as bad as other GOW games like GOW 3 or Ghost Of Sparta but then again if you're the strict type,dont get this game.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Teen, 14 years old Written byEthens September 13, 2011

Not For Children!!

It's not something you'd want anyone about 15- playing, or any very impressionable people. The violence is a quite graphic, you have one combo where you strike your opponent upwards and then slam them back down into the ground causing a small splash of blood, the game is LITTERED with violence hence "God of War" and the sexual content is about to the extent of a short sex minigame, no content is shown but is VERY implied. the women that you ingage in the minigame with are topless, the rest of the sexuality includes a cutscene with a topless woman w/ nipples shown and topless harpies, all that is shown on harpies are the outline of breasts. i'd say 16-18+ or if your child is VERY mature, maybe 14+. Not something you'd want to play around little children..

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Kid, 12 years old November 4, 2010
im not an adoult but i love the game

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Educational Value
Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 10 years old August 19, 2010

UUUUUUUUUG. ANOTHER VIOLENT GAME THAT TEMPTS KIDS!

My twin sis played it and got farther than our godfather but then Godfather turned it off. We were with littler people and it was nearing to the sex part. very innappropriate

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Teen, 16 years old Written byThe Informer February 9, 2010

Great God of War game on the PSP.

But just because it's on the PSP doesn't mean it's appropriate for kids; there's lots of bloody violence and kills (but not as bad as the console versions) and some sexual scenes with nudity. I'd say anyone around 16 should be fine; it's easy to play and you might learn a bit of Greek mythology playing this.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Educational Value
Teen, 15 years old Written byShinigami1994 November 6, 2009

Fun for older teens

Sadly, my mom doesn't let me get M-rated games yet. Solution? Free demo downloads! This review may or may not be accurate seeing as I have only played a small portion included in the demo. However, the violence in this game is overrated. There is nothing here that a fifteen-year old can't handle. There is no dismemberment, evisceration, or any other form of graphic violence. You simply strike an enemy, and a puff of blood comes out and splats on the floor. There are some cinematic finishing moves, which are typically more violently explicit than the rest of the game. In one, Kratos stabs a basilisk in the head several times, then in the eye, and then smashes its head with a large mace. There is no gore in this, but quite a bit of blood. I have also heard of a non-explicit sex scene. Fun, creative, and great for older teens. But be advised.
Teen, 13 years old Written bygtafan6 January 3, 2009

HILARIOUS!

I can't even believe that a kid could even try to this stuff in real life!
Teen, 16 years old Written byMikeTheGamer April 9, 2008

Good Game,Not for anyone under 15

God of War isnt as bad as they say but its not for younger ages under aleast 14 more 15 and up, More it counts on maturity becuase the sex is found early but you wont find the other muses unless you go searching for them for kicks and almost every kid now knows more than enough wrong ideas from that so its not as much a problem as you would think.The game contains Voilence and some Sex(muses but only non sexual nudity)Violence isnt really that bad,you can stab in the face and things like that but nothing is ripped apart or even maimed in anyway except maybe bosses if even that.THe Nudity is a sex mini game but nothing explicit compared to Tv nudity now.All the game shows is Breast(can see on any Anime or Manga, even cable tv)It never shows the lower area just a glimpse of her naked body but its covered besides the breast.
Teen, 16 years old Written by3-6-29 April 9, 2008
it's a good game.
GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!