All parent member reviews for Grand Theft Auto IV: The Ballad of Gay Tony

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 31 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written byJulia Richards January 23, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Yes turn off the bad parts

My son really wants to get this game. He is 13 years old. I said yes because ive heard it got great reviews. I was watching him carefully playing it and luckly there is a setting where you can skip sex parts and no F bombs. My son didnt want to turn those parts off ut i made him so if your a parent on the border of buying this game game for your kid, id say get it and turn off all bad settings!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written byMy Kids Are Fine February 22, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
The Game Is Good And If You Dont Get Your Kids This You Really Boring And Not Letting Them Hve Any Fun Stuff
Parent of an infant, 2, 4, 7, and 11 year old Written bylindsey678 February 2, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

BAD PARENTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

IF YOU LET A KIDS 14 AND UNDER PLAY THIS GAME THEN YOU ARE BAD PARENTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bybobby joe222 April 22, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

perfect for infants

its the best game ever
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byFireFire April 1, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Grand Theft Auto: TBOGT

This game is involving oral sex which is not good but there is positive moments where you will be able to save friends but there is shooting, counter attacks, Punching, kicking and not hard to play. You can go into the maisonette 9 you will see drinking and smoking, the language used is f**k , s**t , b*stard, p**sy, but in one mission there is 6 uses of c**t and used in a bad context. This game is full of innuendos! You should be 14 to play this.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 and 13 year old Written byShnitzel January 29, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Totally educational

get it for yourself and kids
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 18 year old Written bydhghh December 22, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

poop

this game is good for 2 year olds because it teaches them the abc's
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 13 year old Written bycatholicsreviews February 24, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

horrible

looks bad for kids
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byGregH94 March 30, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Good fun

This is actually more fun than the original GTA IV and TLaD, although they were pretty good too. I like how the brighter, more Vice City-like atmosphere of this game contrasts with GTA IV and the other episode TLaD. If you're a fan of GTA, get this. Make sure you press pause when your mother walks in the room, though. The sheer number of unneccessary F words, and if I'm not mistaken, a couple of C words, mean that this game could easily outswear the South Park movie! The game also contains strong violence and some scenes of sex, but if you're familiar with GTA then you'll know what to expect.
Adult Written bydavid spark March 12, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

fact

most parents don't buy there children this game because of sexual content and nudity it is opitinal for someone to do it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byhelper + February 9, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NO MORE GTA GAMES!!!

to me it all is just crap
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator Written bygame defender January 14, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great!

its a pretty solid game. the graphics are good the story line is stable. im just glad that no one brought up homosexuality as an issue. because i would of got real defensive
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bySir. Don Harvey July 30, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Is it suitable?

It is a game children love playing. It IS suituble for about 9&10+. If your child understands these things are bad, and not copy the swear words, its fine and suitable (It also shuts them up!!)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written bysam jones July 19, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

good game

the game is really good nothing they dont know you can have anal intercource and do hookers but its optional
Parent of a 13 year old Written bywatchitorgameover89 April 25, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

13 is ok

This game is beast but shouldnt be played under the age of 13 mostly becase of the content that it has.My son Jerimy asked if I would get it for him well i researched it and saw that it was inappropriate for someone his age so I sat down and asked him if he new that things in games should not be done in real life and understanding that the language used were words that he should never say..he said he new and i just rented the game for him.so far it's not as bad as some people think but I would HIGHLEY suggest that you talk to your child or teen about how its a game and should not be done in real life.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 17 year old Written byzainu March 13, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

Released on: 10/27/2009, Price: $19.99, online enabled ESRB Rating: M for Blood and Gore, Intense Violence, Strong Language, Strong Sexual Content, Use of Drugs online mba
Adult Written bygame wise inquisitor February 23, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
this game depends on weather you dont want your kids being exposed to nudity,drugs/alcohol,violence or harsh language or if you don't mind.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written byShady565 February 4, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Love it

Great game for everyone. No complaints from me. Nothing my kids dont know already.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byBlueandboo January 31, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

bad

I just cant stand the messages
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written bypiddlewhack123 October 14, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

11 and uppers

My 11 year old, Cameron loves this action packed, funny, open-world game. Okay for 11 and up (nothing they won't know anyway).

Pages