All parent member reviews for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

Parents say

(out of 33 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Adult Written bybucsfanerik April 9, 2008

Best game in history!!

Its fun for the whole family all though its not multiplayer.
Adult Written byparentof3 April 9, 2008

not that bad

Well, my son recently begged for this game saying it wasn't as bad as the other titles in this series. I soon found out it really wasn't. It does have violence and a bit of language, but I couldn't find hardly any sex in the game. SO if your child is begging for this game I would just think of how mature they are and if they could handle it first.
Parent Written byPlague January 8, 2010

GTA: Vice City

Not as good as GTA 3, but still fun. As long as they have the Rino tank in the game, im a happy guy.
Parent of a 11 year old Written byJ C November 17, 2009
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 11, 13, 15, and 18+ year old Written byTheTrueParent May 29, 2015

Great Game with Minor Disablities

Grand Theft Auto: Vice City is a great game with practically no sexual content and minor profanity. The violence is at an iffy iffy level but is appropiate for anyone higher than 11. Any parent saying over 14 is completely wrong. I have four children and my youngest is 11 years old, he has GTA Vice City and San Andreas with an exception of GTA IV. He hasn't shown any signs of trying to copy any of the actions he sees on screen. He knows the difference between right and wrong: Sex with a prostitue is wrong! Stealing a vehicle is wrong! Killing Innocent People is Wrong! Heck, killing anyone is wrong! Unless your an angel fighting evil. Hahaha! The game is suituable for 11 and over. I PROMISE YOU!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byYes April 9, 2008

Unbelievable

As long as your mature teen has some understanding, then he/she/it can play this game, but I don't get why parents are stupid enough to let their kids even under 10 play this. I mean, would a first or second grader be amused by all the violence and people having sex? It shows too much portrayal of it, but as usual, it is likely to be a joke. This is almost on par with Conker's Bad Fur Day.
Parent of a 11 year old Written byrockindad April 3, 2011

It's better than what they have now days

I honestly think this a good game for kids.Me and my son play it whenever we get a chance to.the reason it says strong sexual content is because there is a strip club.but you can't even get into one until you beat the game.and trust me, it takes a really long to beat it.it dosen't have sex nor nudity.it just has girls in bikini's. but hey,it's alot better than what they have now days.
Adult Written byScoops April 9, 2008

While highly controversial, not the least redeemable.

GTA: Vice City has bee a favourite whipping boy of anti-game activists ever since it's release. I find that to be unfortunate. Make no mistake: This game is one of the more extreme games available to the general market, and not appropriate for most kids. However, even in Vice City, there are things you could discuss with kids, should you allow them to play it. Why does a character like Tommy Vercetti (or his film counterpart, Scarface's Tony Montana) become a glorified cult hero? What causes urban gang violence? These questions deserve discussion, though playing this game is still not likely to be wise for most kids.
Parent of a 9 year old Written bylnas2012 September 29, 2012

NOT FOR 9-14 YEAR OLDS!!!!!!

My 9 year old is being pressured by his school buddies to buy this game. I was not informed about this game before my son began begging for me to buy it for him. My answer is this game is definitely NOT for kids!!!!! Do NOT allow your underaged kids to play this game. I will continue to let my 9 year old BE a 9 year old. lnas2012
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bymark-ostlund April 9, 2008

No redeeming value - reinforces violent, criminal behavior

Bash innocent people with a baseball bat and steal their car. It goes downhill from there.
Adult Written byThatblack1 April 9, 2008

Lets be real about this

This game does not deserve the flak it is getting. I will say this, you MUST be mature and explain things when/if you want to get this game for your kid/teen. Politicans fail to mention that in this game YOU have FULL control of you actions. You can go through the whole game and just do the mission and enjoy the very well written story. Or you can do a murderous rampage or stealing and killing for no reason, thats FREEDOM for you. I've beaten this game and the previous GTA without going on rampages.
Educator and Parent Written byModernNija94 August 23, 2012

grate

now I'm 19 and I first played this game when I was 7 so I'm telling you rite now that this game is one of the better gta games that being said it is also not rely a game I would rrecomend for a first M rated game
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byPharsalia April 9, 2008

OMG Violence

OK, I'm 18, and I enjoy playing this game very much so, and so does my 15 year old younger brother. I have been playing violent video games since the age of about 11 I'd say, when my grandfather purchased Doom2 Hell on Earth for me. You know what? that was the coolest back then blowing all the monsters up and stuff. But I NEVER even thought of taking the game out of the game and doing something stupid like shooting a bunch of people cause I could do it on my computer. But back to GTA yes it is violent, but its not as pointless as some think. You don't just go around shooting people and stealing cars. There is a really good story behind it all. To sum it up Tommy just gets out of jail where he has been for 15 years and comes back to Vice City to take it over. The game really is great when it comes to the story so I think you ignorant people should actually play the game before blowing up on it. And another thing, the game is rated "Mature" after all, and most store won't even sell M games to young kids with out parent permission. So you would assume that the parents would be aware if their frail little boy is playing this game.
Parent of a 5, 13, and 18+ year old Written byGameHelper January 19, 2009

People Put on Your thinking caps

People keep saying that this gameis horrible.Well think about it if you say the game is horrible then you are insaulting the company who made the series and all the people who like this game.Content is mild but thats the only thing.Lots of companies have made worse and Rockstar is 10/10 for companies that have made graphic games.Thats not bad for rockstar.So if oyu know your kid won't act like that go buy them this game!
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written bythemom404 March 3, 2015

M content can be overlooked if not avoided.

GTA V is a sandbox style game, which means you have almost complete control. This allows your child to completely avoid all M content. Sex is a big part of why i didn't want to get this game for my kids, but it turns out that like drugs sexual content can be completely avoided. and if you play your cards right you'll only see girls in swimsuits. But violence is another matter. Although i let my kids play this game i completely disagree with it. Luckily my children are good people in real life so they know that all of GTA V is just wrong. so i guess if your child is mature than GTA away.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byconcparent April 9, 2008
Parent Written bysimpsonsfan22 February 23, 2016

Great game

Gta vice city is great I love it omg it's awesome
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Parent Written byGame'nWatch June 25, 2012

Not as bad as they say it is

Vice City takes place in the 80's, in Miami. This title is a lot more brighter and funnier than GTA III. The character's swear very oftenly, but the worse they say is the f word. This is the cleanest GTA out there. The violence is identical to GTA III (cartoonish and unrealistic), although the sexual content is knocked up a notch. You have to do missions for a porn director, but the missions don't have any sexual content in them. The worst you see is a man in boxers and a woman in a bikini talking to each other suggestively. The cutscenes are not mature though-- they'd be allowed in a T rated game. The prostitutes are nothing to worry about, since they only serve to regain health when there isn't a hospital nearby. You see no action going on, the prostitute just sits in the car and the protagonist sits on the driver's seat as your health slowly regains. The game also never even mentions prostitutes-- my son didn't even know there are prostitutes in Vice City. Overall, Vice City is the best GTA in my opinion and features an amazing soundtrack (even Micheal Jackson is in the soundtrack!). Vice City is just too good to miss, so if your son is 13 or mature, get it for him!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygamer12 June 11, 2012

good

this game is not that bad it is not for learning
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byharshafriend4all July 20, 2009
i love it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages