All teen and kid member reviews for Halo 3: ODST

Kids say

(out of 98 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byScarabHunter9725 July 5, 2010
A Very well put together game. Too short gameplay, but a good i guess "sequel". Firefight mode is fun and the multiplayer add on is great. As far as kids go, it has a little blood, but not to the point where it is terribley graphic. The flood in Halo 3 is much worse. Swearing is a little ronchy, but no F*** bombs.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byFrogster September 24, 2009

Good Game for Teens and Up

I agree with this CM Review and think it very accurately described the game. The campaign does not last long, but most people are getting it for the Coop Firefight mode anyway. The entire Halo series is good for teens, including this game. Parents might be afraid of the M rating but it isn't very accurate for this game. Kids WILL hear swearing on Xbox Live, never let anyone younger than 13 on voicechat. I think that the CM review missed something though. The ODSTs in this game are good role models, depsite their sole use of violence. The enemy Covenant aliens are evil and hell-bent on the destruction of the human race. They are powerful and it takes a selfless group of soldiers to fight against them for our protection. I think the (minimal) violence is warranted.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 16, 2012

Halo 3 Odst

It is good because is not that kind of games that you can reflex-it in real life like Call of Duty. In Campaign you are going to fight with Aliens and there blood are of color purple. In Multiplayer you are going to fight with Sparthans.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 28, 2012

Mature???????? Should be Teen

This game is great for kids 12 and older its not like GOW or COD it barely has any blood..... VERY FUN GAME
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBA Ninjamonkey May 20, 2012

I'd recommend to 12 year olds

I started playing this game when I was 11 so I'd recommend this game to 12 year olds or a mature 11 year old. Swearing is not very common but they say words like " H--L, D--N, Bas---d, Bi--- and A--. Its got a bit of blood but not over done like Call of Duty or Gears of War.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byHalopro November 21, 2011

The Truth of The Game

OK so I read some of the reviews and thought to myself "none of these give a complete picture" Halo is a vast universe of games movies and comic books, its full of sacrifice, secrets, and heroes, one review can't hold the huge amount of information on this subject, I would recommend checking out halo wiki for more info. Let me just clarify a couple facts covered in this article, the covenant is not some crazed alien race out to destroy earth, that's only part of it, the covenant's government is run by self proclaimed "prophets" they've banded together several alien species to aid in finding ancient "Forerunner" technology, the Forerunners were a race long before humans who controlled most of the galaxy, their empire was prosperous and grand, until they ran into a alien parasite known as " the FLOOD" the flood is a creature that consumes living organisms and and turns them into a zombie like state, the forerunners fought a long war with this creature, but after losing so much, they decided the only way to destroy the flood was to take away its only life force, so they built huge ring worlds known as Halos, these were built to self destruct and destroy all life in the galaxy therefor starving the flood of its life force, their plan was to activate the rings from a safe location and then reseed the galaxy, sadly this never happened, the rings activated, but the forerunners were never seen again. now the covenant "prophets" believe that the forerunners built the ring as a portal to elevate themselves to a god like status, so they've made the entire point of their religion looking for these rings in order to start "the great journey" but when they finally run into humanity in the year 2525 the prophets soon learn the error of their ways, instead of admitting their mistake the decide to cover it up bye declaring that humanity is an affront to the gods and must be destroyed, or else "the great journey" won't happen, this sends the military into a blind rage, they attack our planets with with extreme force, we don't stand a chance against their advanced technology. that's what the game centers around, that's why were fighting, O.D.S.T or Orbital Drop Shock Troopers, are a brave group of soldiers who more or less sky dive out of ships orbiting the planet, they land in key locations, to help in special operations, what do you think good role models? and seriously since when is blood violent? its inside you right now, if your child doesn't know about blood their gonna be in for a huge shock, oh its just killing aliens! hurray death of other species! language shouldn't be an issue trust me try theirs way worse at school, kids drop F*** bombs all the time, over all this is a great game most kids just want this for the forge any way, although I wouldn't recommend voice chat on Xbox live for any one under 14 though.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old October 11, 2011

awesome 12+

it ful of thing hell bent on killing anything they can and having the world for them self so you are a odst spuad who are fighting for there lives.great game 12+ firefights are awesome (im not aloud to play the campain but you may the game is 100% awesome!best halo ever!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old August 17, 2011

very good game, and very appropriate for kids 10 and up.

Very well game, not too bad and language isn't too much. Although it's nothing racy, there is a scene where two soldiers are arguing and the girl kisses the guy. And towards the end of the game, there is a cutscene where the pair are standing next to each other, holding hands. And although this isn't much, sgt major johnson (THE TOUGHEST CIGAR-CHOMPINEST MARINE IN HALO!!!) is frequently seen smoking cigars. And the aliens called the covenant could scare kids under 10. (Although i didn't get scared, that's just because i'm not easily scared.) Overall, i'd give this game a 5 out of five.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byminaj August 6, 2010

alien

i like the whole concept but there is a bit of language in there
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 14, 2013

halo

its quite violent
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byhappyharry September 27, 2009

Alright 4 teens

Very fun but (unlike the others in the series) has more swearing. But has no blood but is a little violent
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old May 3, 2016

not bad

Well its bloody but not that bloody they swear frequent d--n and ba-----d but not extreme f-bombs and stuff.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 11 years old August 27, 2013

fun game

the other halo games are funner than this one. this game only has some shooting aliens and the aliens shoot you and kill you. but parents, this game is not as bad as your thinking. i would say that it is fine for kids ages, 2-3 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 29, 2012

Rubbish game

This is the worst of the series and it would be better if they left the HUD the same it would be brilliant. Violence is the same as the others in the series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byred316 September 17, 2012

good game

It is a great game with very little language and alien blood, with a small bit of human blood.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bymr bannana September 5, 2012

halo 3 is not bad

this is a fun alien game. its not a bad game. yeah it has shooting and maybe one or two bad words in it, but it turns out to be a fun game for 9 and ups
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 6 years old March 23, 2012

No M: T instead

This game is a very fun one, especially if you are a halo fan. The game is first person like most shooting games are. The game is however not appropriate for kids under 14. Although I think it was unfair for microsoft to put an M for mature on this game I think it should only be a T for Teen. Overall the game is a very good one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 8, 2012

not the best

defiantly not the best game that bungie has made. i thought the story line was very hard to follow because it kept switching who you played as. the violence not to bad only one monster explodes when he is shot. it was also very hard to see things and becomes very frustrating. its not very often people swear, and gets more fun at the end. my advise is if this is more than 15 to $20 don't buy it get a different game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old December 4, 2011

if you wanna play this game its only 25 bucks

this game is very fun it does not have much violence, but its a great game
Kid, 12 years old November 30, 2011

halo3 odst

i think halo is great game.yes there is some blood but nothing bad.the language isn't bad i mean hulk ultimate destruction has worse language.

Pages