All teen and kid member reviews for Infamous 2

Kids say

(out of 40 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bydeaven81 June 17, 2011

(Spoilers) Outline of game content

This is a very deep gaming experience that is a must play game. I have played both the evil and good sides of the game all the way through (excluding side missions) and there is a lot parents need to know. Regardless of the path you take you still kill a lot of people and creatures. Although on one side it is for the good of others, and on the other side it is with selfish motives. (Spoiler alert) If you play the game good your character sacrifices himself for the good of man kind generally saving all of humanity, This good path has positive messages and influences, although violence is used for entertainment (all non graphic).on the other side of the games moral compass, there is a completely different tone and general theme. You are encouraged to kill civilians and cops, while not gory it does seem graphic and has a very emotional, aggressive effect on you that younger audiences should not experience. (More spoilers) In the end of the evil career your character makes the extremely selfish similar to that of magneto in xmen. That humans are an extinct race and that people with powers are the future. Although you don't play it your character sets out to destroy humanity and save those with powers, with the goal of killing billions of innocent people. At the end of the evil career your character does kill his best friend in an interactive way that you take part in. This game is amazingly deep and you do get very emotionally tied to the main characters which you can end up betraying. Depending how you play this can be a very positive experience or a very emotional dark experience however I do recommend that every one mature enough to experience this game does.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old June 22, 2011

Infamous 2

Not as good as first but still minted the language is nothing people won't have heard before.
Teen, 15 years old Written byHydra77 October 12, 2011

Great Sequel to a Great Game.

inFamous 2 is a decent ''superhero'' action title featuring protagonist Cole MacGrath traversing New Orleans inspired 'New Marais' facing various moral choices one example being ''destroy the village to instantly defeat all enemies at the cost of numerous civilians or face your enemies and spare the civilians.'' These decisions greatly effect the outcome of the game. Things to watch include intense fantasy violence (however blood is rare and gore is absent entirely), brief and comical sexual references scattered throughout such as one example in which a female ally common-deres a civilian vehicle justifying her actions under 'federal penal code' provoking a reaction in which the protagonist chuckles about the similarity in sound of the word penal to penile. As mentioned above a 'red-light district' is featured though the venues located therein cannot be interacted with, making for a more humorous than raunchy addition. Alcohol in the form of beer is consumed a handful of times in cut-scenes and 'hangovers' are referenced briefly. Highlights of the game include stunning graphics and an engaging storyline, highly recommended for teens and young adults but not recommended for children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 26, 2011

s

Good game. has to much killing and in the redlight district. there is a sign saying Nude Girls even though there is no nudity in this game
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySaad1Khan November 15, 2014
As all time I say i can't believe ESRB's ratings there some T rated titles that 14 or 13 years old teens should not play and some games rated M and a 15 year old can play it respectively and generally.This game comes in that case.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old March 8, 2013

I have not played story, only free roaming

Awesome game with endless varieties of powers! Controls are simple. Blood is barely noticeable except on the screen when you are injured. It does have a fair amount of violençe, but 9 year olds who are just a bit maturer than others have to get this game! Lightning powers are AWESOME! You gan glide across the open world city on power lines! This game is super fun! The inappropriate signs you can easily avoid anyway.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byI'mBatman March 25, 2015

A moderately inappropriate action game

Here is the entire game in one sentence: A fun, story oriented, third person action/shooter game. New Marias is a different setting to Infamous I's Empire City. It is interesting but doesn't make you feel like your actions effect the city. The story on the other hand, is the opposite. It is an exiting, heart-breaking, well written adventure recommended for all. Unless you are not Mature enough to play it. Although a more light-hearted tone to Infamous I, it still has pretty bad swearing, drinking, and suggestive themes. If you are a Mature 10 or 11 year old, it should be okay, but otherwise, wait until you are 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJdw3po July 7, 2013

Great sequel to super hero RPG has some deep twists and turns.

Infamous 2 is a great sequel to a great RPG. Your reputation ports over from the last game so, weather you choose to be good or evil you won't have to start from a blank slate. The series protagonist cole McGrath is forced to flee the city the original game took place in: empire city, to a mock New Orleans called new Maris. Cole will uncover startling truths about the super powered "meta humans" showing up everywhere after the empire incident. Like the first game you will be forced to make moral decisions like: how to deal with antihero protests or weather to capture or kill your fallen enemies. This game, like the last runs on a strict karma system ie, good acts gain public favor and are harder to complete. Whereas bad acts are easier and give you more power. Violence is a little worse than the last one, such as a new mele weapon more brutal electric attacks. Language is about the same as the last one with words such as, sh*t, da*n, h*ll, son of a bi*ch, and a**hole. Sex isn't much of an issue besides a few neon signs that indicate strip clubs or porn shops. There are a few sequences witch indicate the use of alcohol or drugs. This is a well executed sequel to a hit role playing game I recommend it for kids 13 and up.
Kid, 12 years old July 9, 2011

ONLY 3 STARS COMMON SENSE

i just got this game today and as soon as i got home i put it and my ps3 and had a great time playing one of the best video games ever ( i have not won it yet that shows how good it is) and i am so mad at common sense for giving it 3 stars it is better then the first and don't listen to this review parents the game is not that bad so go and buy this game for your kids they will have a great time.
Kid, 11 years old March 29, 2016

Awesome

The best infamous game.The story is very good. You can be good or bad. I have only played good but you save civilians, inspire them to fight back against bad guys, and you could stop bad guys non leathely. If you are bad you kill citizens and kill bad guys in brutal ways. If your kid is mature he/she can play this.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byAK-fighter July 11, 2015
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byGabe.Paredes May 25, 2015

This game is great

First off, let me just start by saying that my parents are not the type to let me waste away in front of a screen for hours, shooting enemy after enemy in a bloodbath. I got the inFAMOUS 1 & 2 collection early this year, and I strongly recommend your child play the first of this series before the second, as it puts a little more perspective on the moral compass aspect of the game. However, I wouldn't call it mandatory. This game can be both good or bad, depending on how your child plays it. Your character is whats called a "conduit" which is basically a human wielder of strong elemental powers, in your case electricity. You have the option of being a hero to your city, or a selfish and irresponsible jerk (who can blow stuff up). I myself have played through both storylines, and let me just say that it hurts do some of the stuff you do when playing evil. However, the good side turns you into a definitely positive role-model. Your scars will heal, and your clothing will slowly turn whitish and have a light tone; evil, your skin pales, your scars worsen, and your clothes rip and turn red. Civilians will cheer for you and even help you fight, as will police. On the other hand, taking a bad turn will cause them to often attack you, and say negative things about you. The violence in this game isn't very graphic, as there is no real blood other than tiny black spurts that are all but invisible. As for swearing, I know d*mn is spoken a few times, with I think two uses of sh*t, and the occasional hell. I think it varies depending on the path you choose. This is of course mainly during cutscenes, and when the protagonist and some side characters are speaking. There is one character who wears a top that is a bit revealing, and if you choose to be evil at one point you slap her butt (meant to be comical, not sexual), other than that, its good. All in all, if you trust your child to choose the right path, this game shows what a true hero is, and a role model we could all strive to be like. I won't spoil the ending, but it lets just say, "Sometimes, I hear folks talkin' 'bout Conduits and humans like they're totally different. That's bullsh*t. Cause there ain't nobody with more humanity than Cole MacGrath"
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Kid, 11 years old August 9, 2014

Infamous 2

This is an amazing game with a great story. The violence against enemies is not that bad. I don't really agree with running around killing innocent civilians and there is actually an upgrade called "Bystander Bonus" which gives you bonus points for killing civilians. If you are worried about this side of the game just tell your kids not to be evil. I haven't played the evil story yet but I have played the story for good and the ending of evil. SPOILER ALERT!!!!! At the end of the good story cole is in a boss battle with the beast, the weapon you have to use to kill the beast sadly kills you and all the other conduits around the world. At the end of the evil story you join forces with the beast as he walks through new marais killing everyone in sight, you then come to a rooftop and nix is there. You then go into a battle against her and eventually she dies and her body stays on the ground for the rest of the level. Then Zeke your best friend comes with a pistol and shoots you, the emotions I was feeling at this point in the game were so sad I was almost crying, you kill Zeke. The Beast tells you he is tired and has had enough killing and he passes his powers to cole. The game then proceeds to a cutscene where cole is show killing millions of civilians and talking about how he was given powers to stop the beast, but now, he is the beast. This is a great game and the violence isn't that bad, but the evil story is very very dark.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byDavidHi August 9, 2013

More to it than you might think

There's more to this game than first meets the eye. On the surface, yes, it is a superhero game with typical mild superhero violence that you can use for good or evil. That's expected though. The further into the game, the darker things can get depending on how you play. I'm not going to spoil anything, but both the good and evil endings were incredibly emotional. These are the only games that have endings that have left me stunned by how emotionally hard-hitting they are. Tweens and young teenagers might have trouble coping with everything that happens. Definitely not for younger kids. On top of that, there is a surprisingly large amount of language for a T rated game and some pretty revealing clothes on one character. If you are a mature teen, play it and love it, if you are younger, wait a year or two or just be prepared to deal with some tough stuff
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old June 18, 2013

Really Good!

My rating for it - Rated T for Blood, Language and Violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byBionic Reviewer May 3, 2013

Different Moralities, Different Choices, Different Ratings

Ah, Infamous 2. It's hard to pin a straight age rating on a game based so much on choice. I'll start with what it is. In the opening of the first game, Cole MacGrath was an ordinary guy, going as far as calling himself "the guy nobody notices". He delivered packages in the town Empire City. But one package exploded, ravaging his hometown and granting him strange, electrokinetic powers. One thing lead to another, and a giant being of lava attacks Empire City. Infamous 2 opens with him in Empire City's docks, getting ready to leave. A brief tutorial fight with the lava giant (known only as "The Beast") leaves the beast slightly wounded and enraged, and Cole's powers drained. He, his friend Zeke, and a special agent named Kuo leave for a Louisiana town named New Marais, to find the scientist who can amplify Cole's powers. The game then revolves on him amping up his abilities to defeat The Beast once and for all. Along the way, he can help the citizens of New Marais....or kill them. Every person you come across is attackable. Defeating enemies will grant Good Karma, while slaughtering innocents gives (obviously) Evil Karma. Cole's appearance will change depending on which patch is chosen. Good Karma will give his powers an electric blue coloring, while Evil colors them with a redish-orange hue. Karma will also affect the plot, and whether or not Cole obtains additional Cryokinetic or Pyrokinetic powers later on (technically, choosing one powerset grants Good or Evil Karma, so it depends on player choice. Advise your young heroes to side with Kuo, if they want Heroic Karma and Ice powers, and Nix, if they want Evil Karma and Fire ones). Combat is a blast (literally)! You choose between various Lightning Bolts, Electric Blasts, Lightning Grenades and Rockets (made of electricity, not metal), and devastating Ionic powers to use in combat. Aiming is relatively easy, and Melee combat even easier (just tap square). In Melee (or close quarters, for the less digitally inclined), Cole wields the might Amp, an oversize tuning fork capable of channeling his electric powers in satisfying combos and finisher moves. Cole's foes (that I've encountered so far, haven't finished it yet, might edit when I do) include masked soldiers, hazmat suit-wearing supercommandos (with Ice powers), and Lovecraftian monsters (think Cthulu, and you're on the right track. They have rats with mouths that open into three parts, giant armadillo type creatures with clawed tongues, and a godzilla-like mutant with glowing pink eyes all over it's body). Minor blood is shown when Cole is shot, some splatters on the edge of the screen depending on health level, and occasionally enemies bleed when struck with the Amp. One combo involves the Amp being rammed through a foe's neck, although surprisingly, no blood is shown. Skeletons are visible when foes are electrocuted, and creative players can "torture" enemies by electrocuting water as they stand in it (a guaranteed kill). Cars can also be Telekinetically thrown at enemies and citizens alike, and for every mugging or abduction in progress stopped, players can also murder innocents, kill street performers, and rack up a ton of property damage (which doesn't give any Karma, good or bad). Phew, okay, combat down, now on any disturbing imagery. Cutscenes are comicbook-esque, but feature large explosions, minor blood, a first person view of masked vigilantes standing over a downed citizen, and (memorably) a man transforming back from being a mutant. The right side of his face is covered in eyes, and his left cheek is a part of a jaw covered in fangs. He is also naked, although nothing is shown. A scene of a makeshift hospital full of terminal patients could be disturbing for some younger viewers. The Beast may seem scary, and one ending results in Cole electrocuting one of his friends to death. A "red light district" is in the game, some neon signs advertise "nude girls", and others depict scantily clad female silhouettes. No nudity is shown in game. Some revealing outfits are shown (worn by Nix and, later on in the game, Kuo). In short, Cole MacGrath can be a hero, but Superman he ain't! He can be played as either an anti-hero (think, modern incarnation of Batman) or a sadistic thug. Remember that it's a good alternative for kids begging for Grand Theft Auto, even if it isn't the lightest-hearted of games.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 27, 2013

AW YEAH THIS GAME IS SO FREAKING AWESOME

i played the demo of this game at target and e.v games and it is awesome all what you do is run around san francisco killing badguys
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byRedMercury January 18, 2013
LEARNING

Education with Conductivity?...

I guess you could consider the game educational due to the fact that it only lets you electrocute enemies with conductive materials which may make children stay away from electricity near light poles, power lines etc. There are consequences in the game if you do something bad while you will be rewarded if you do something good like Skyrim. Overall it is nothing that a kid cant handle.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old January 12, 2013

Sweat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Major violence and some blood. Extreme sexuality and some nudity and plenty of swearing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byJarHed January 3, 2013

It is okay. Not for me

If you like little side missions, and chose if you want to be 'good' or 'evil'. Then this is the game for you. In Infamous you get to chose your path, so to speak. You have the options of being a good hero or an evil villain. I recommend parents to buy this but ensure your child is making the "good" choices in the game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages