Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for Just Cause 4

Common Sense says

Over-the-top shooter has mindless violence, no consequences.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 10+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 5 reviews
Adult Written bylongington December 10, 2018

Fine for Teens!

I’m a Christian dad of two boys (12 and 14). I didn’t know what to expect from this game when my boys asked for it, but I decided to let them get it and see if it was bad. After watching them play and playing a bit myself I learned that this game is more fun than violence. Just Cause 4 has a lot of enemies to fight but this game is about blowing stuff up and doing cool tricks with the amount of vehicles and gadgets you have. You have a grappling hook, wing suit, and parachute that you can use to traverse the world. My sons and I had tons of fun using these in the world and flying around in the many vehicles. There are many enemies in this game to fight but there part of an evil government that’s trying to nuke the island. Your most definitely the good guy. Another thing that I learned was that the profanity in this game can be disabled in the settings. Theres also little blood from the enemy soldiers. This game isn’t really about killing people but instead doing cool stuff in the massive world and creating your own fun. Just Cause 4 is definitely a great game to pick up for teens during the holiday season.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byscoops26 December 10, 2018

good open world game

common sense states there is mindless violence. the truth is that the main protagonist (the person you play as) is actually trying to liberate a region held by a mercenary group known for violence and brutality. there is little to no blood. the only blood you see is when you hit the ground or little spurts come out when you shoot the enemies. this is not grand theft auto 5 violence that can be seen with civilians. in this game theres no blood when you shoot them they simply fall to the ground and after awhile disappear. what I have the most fun doing is creating big explosions with the many gadgets you have to play around with not to mention the great scenery and vistas. This game really should be rated T for teen

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written bySam Marrick December 10, 2018

A clean, tween-friendly explosion fest :). A great X-mas gift for youths who love action.

The minimal blood is covered up by explosions and the cartoonish vibe. All the violence is for FREEDOM!!!! I heard like 1 F word in the whole game. Like Just Cause 3 with more variety and mechanical depth. And somehow MORE mayhem! Im shocked my PS4 didn't explode! This is the gift that'll assure your kids love you forever! When they're mad cuz you grounded them, they'll remember "But they did get me Just Cause 4! ^_^ ❤".
Adult Written byscoops26 December 10, 2018

good open world game

common sense states there is mindless violence. the truth is that the main protagonist (the person you play as) is actually trying to liberate a region held by a mercenary group known for violence and brutality. there is little to no blood. the only blood you see is when you hit the ground or little spurts come out when you shoot the enemies. this is not grand theft auto 5 violence that can be seen with civilians. in this game theres no blood when you shoot them they simply fall to the ground and after awhile disappear. This game really should be rated T for teen

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Parent of a 10 year old Written byGrandmastermilo7 December 10, 2018

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byOKjang December 16, 2018

Boom

It is a very high quality game and some violence however not that much not showcasing very little blood it also does not include very much swearing with about only 3 words in the whole game if your child is mature enough they could cope with the language of 3 swear words and the little gore as well as a few explosions get them this game and they will love it here in the Uk you also get a good deal at game with a steelbook edition for only £54.99 Great Game would recomend for any pre-teen 9 and up for a gift You have also got to remember the game is single player though and provides no multiplayer experience Give your kid freedom over what they play if the like the game and it is within a reasonable amount of swearing gore or violence get them it if they like it. This does not Just aply for this game it aplys for many 18s and 16s too give you kid more freedom parents

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byIriddi January 29, 2019

Read before rejecting for your child

This is a very nice game.It was violence but without blood.I think it’s ok.It has some bad words but I don’t think it’s a problem because the children at this age don’t know them
Adult Written byNeimhly December 16, 2018

Great Game Great For Kids

The Game has like 2 swear words which your young kids wont even know what they are characters don't bleed. However there is a large explosive world for your kid to experiment in. Buy It Just Cause

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written bySCOTTISHJOKER December 16, 2018

Best Game Ever.

It has minimal swearing (about 2 or 3 words in the whole game) and when you fight people it has little gore with no blood coming out however it has explosions. If you think your kid is mature enough to play a game like this let them play it and you will have no regrets.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byDandC23 January 26, 2019

A lot of Fun! Fine for kids 11/12+

I personally love the Just Cause franchise. I think that Just Cause 4 is another great game with a lot of chaos! You can fly planes, drive cars, and sail boats! And the main thing you do is cause chaos! Heck, you can fly a plane into a tornado. Although there is a lot of violence, killing, gunfire, and explosions, it’s is pretty good. Although you can kill innocent bystanders, it is nothing that graphic. You basically just shoot them and there’s blood and they fall dead to the ground. Same with explosives, they fly up into the air and hit the ground dead. That’s just basically what it is like. Other than that and a few cursing and drug use, (some AI’s will be smoking or drinking) the feeling of using a rocket launcher at a enemy’s car or causing a huge gas tank explosion is so cool. I think that as long as your kid can handle killing and explosions, they would be fine.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byJokerwastakenso... December 16, 2018

What an Experinece Playing a Just Cause Game

There is little swearing with only about 2 or 3 words in the whole game. It has no blood when attacking other people. However it does have a lot of explosions. As the main object in the game is to cause as much destruction as possible. Love this Game and You will love it too trust me on that one. Maybe 7 is a bit of a push but you will know when your child is ready and my child is ready I am sure however for the average child I am pretty sure about 9 or 10 would be a correct age to play it at

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byBNEVEB December 16, 2018

Explosive Simulator

I am fine with my children playing this and also the violence is about 3 out of 5 there is one or two swear words throughout the story if you do not like explosives do not play this or let your kid play this however if your kid is mature enough then they could play this from about 9 or 10 up also if your kid has recomended this game they are probably ready to play it becuase they will know about game well.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play