All parent member reviews for Left 4 Dead

Parents say

(out of 27 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bySaratovApproach15 June 8, 2014
 

Very fun 1st person shooter.

First of all. Some parents may hesitate to buy this game for their kid(s). You go to the store and your son asks for this game, you look at the back and see the "M" rating. Blood and gore, intense violence, and language. You say no. You go home and decide to look into it more. I'm telling you this. THIS GAME IS A ZOMBIE GAME. YOU CAN NOT KILL OTHER HUMANS. You use a variety of weapons such as Pistols, Shotguns, Assault rifles, hunting rifles, Malatov cocktails and pipe bombs. Yes it is violent but you have to remember you are killing zombies in self defense. YOU CAN NOT HARM OTHER HUMANS. There is some swearing. S**t and d**m are the worst. There is no f words. The only time I hear swears are when I accidentally shoot the other survivors. You can not harm them but they do get mad at you. This game may be scary for kids. You can hear scary piano music in the background and the muffled sobs and screams of a zombie witch. Blood and gore are not that bad you can blow off limbs but I don't see any blood because it is so dark most of the time. A very large zombie called the Boomer explodes in a cloud of blood and bile that attracts a horde of zombies when you shoot it. Some people may say there is drug reference because pain pills can be taken to boost the characters health... This game isn't bad and is one of the greatest zombie games. It is over rated. I think it deserves a "T" rating. Oh and there is no sensuality and no sexuality. The characters barely talk in the campaign.
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 11 and 12 year old Written byjustdoitman May 14, 2009
 

ESRB is off the mark with this one.

I have two sons. One is almost 13, and the other is 11. Now, the thing is, both of them can play this game. I bought it for them. I see nothing wrong with either of them. They know that the game is fictional, and none of them have scary nightmares or anything. I even play with them sometimes. Left 4 Dead is just a teamwork game. It stresses on the fact that if you play just for yourself you won't survive. This is different from many shooters in the fact that you aren't shooting real people, but zombies. Although this may seem pointless, it is a game just for fun. This is also another reason I bought it for my kids. So this is what I think. If your kid is able to handle any T or M shooter, and you've bought one of them for the kid, buy this game. It's a GREAT game, and it is good, I believe, for children 11 and up. Of course, if your kid walks around the house as if he has a gun, and makes references to video games all the time, you don't want to buy him this game. Actually, you don't want to buy him any shooting games, because that can ruin him. But if your son/daughter is normal and knows that the game is fictional, buy it. It's not even a scary game, at all. Even for my kids. When a zombie comes right to their face, they don't flinch at all. And these are kids who were afraid of Scooby-Doo Vampire movies at age 8. Trust me, get this for your kids. They'll love you for it.
Adult Written byJuggernaut93 May 4, 2011
 

Good for teens and adults, just make sure the little ones aren't around when you play.

Left 4 dead is an exciting and well-made first-person survival horror game. It's a great game, but concerned parents need o be aware of a few things. Firstly, the theme of the game itself. Left 4 dead is about 4 friends teaming up to survive a zombie virus outbreak that has transformed most of humanity into bloodthirsty, agressive fiends. These creatures are fairly grotesque, most looking like pale, gaunt humans with blood on them, while others sport gross mutations, such as a creature with pustules all over it's head and back, with a long tongue it uses to catch prey, and a big bloated zombie that explodes in a shower of blood when shot, which attracts other zombies. Thes and other monsters may freak out some kids, and even some adults. Secondly, this game is quite violent. You can blast of f zombie limbs, heads, etc. This is quite graphic. There is no violence against humans, just zombies and mutants. There is some occasional cursing, usually s*** and d***. I personally don't find the game too offensive, as you are not allowed to shoot fellow humans, but instead must help them to battle the undead. In short, an excellent game for teens, and maybe some Tweens, depending on what you want your children exposed to.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byfather of a 5yr old March 9, 2011
 

cant believe what im seeing

All though i do have and enjoy this game i cant believe what i see here!!! these reviews are from mostly kids! to much violence desensitizes children from the real thing this i know to be fact. this game is for and meant for only adults and not for children in any fashion. im not sure on how these kids are getting there hands on these games from parents that lets the kids play or from parents who buy the game for there kids? there's something wrong here . EVEN THOUGH IT MAY BE A FUN GAME ITS STRICTLY FOR ADULTS. this shouldn't be in the view of children! i see this way to often and think that the parents of children are desensitized in the sense that it shows with the reviews done by the children. is it up for debate on violence in video games? im not sure but i do know we are every day becoming more of a violent race. and cant help to think there's a reason for this ether the violence on TV or in video games and the possible neglect of,ignorance,or something else involved in the stew but this game isn't for children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bycallofduty5 April 8, 2010
 
Great zombie killing game i loved to play it via xbox live so if u have kids of 14-15yrs or up buy definetly the game theyre gonna love it also very hilarious game PEELZ HEREEE
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bygamenerd323 October 21, 2009
 

Great for teens

Despite the gore and violence, this is a great game, it's easy, it's fun and it's addictive. I would recommend this for 14+. It's fun but violent.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent Written byjcjason January 14, 2012
 

not for kids

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written byLloydB December 16, 2009
 

Good for teens but not for kids.

This game is an action packed 1st person shooter with a not so great story line. The game itself is not horrible, but you could do with out all the swearing. The game is violent yes but what 1st person shooter are you going to find that isn't. There is no sexuality or sensuality in the game but there are allot of s words and d words in it that may give parents a second thought to buying it. Limbs flying blood splatters are the big point that would concern me but knowing that they are zombies kinda helps me know that my child will not just love the game for killing real people but just zombies. All and all this game is a good game for teens that just like action packed shooter games. Not suitable for children under 14.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byFreedomFromCens... June 8, 2009
 

Valve Does it Again, Left 4 Dead Leaves you Pumping with Adrenialine

Valve never ceases to come up with great games, and Left 4 Dead is no exception. Fast-paced zombie survival action, gritty, dark environments, and intelligent AI keeps you on your feet at all times. With three other friends, this game becomes a must have for multiplayer. Nothing beats surviving a zombie apocalypse with all your friends to help you with it. Yes, parents this game is violent and bloody, but most 13 year olds or older should be able to handle it just fine. But, guess what, it encourages fast paced teamwork with friends!
Parent of a 10 and 14 year old Written bypamikef February 17, 2009
 

Fun! Fun! Fun! Fight the Zombie Horde!

My son (10)and I play this together. He is not afraid - no nightmares. This game stresses the importance of teamwork - live together/die alone. It's a great game that has a high replay value due to the fact that the zombies spawn in different places, so it is a different game each time - especially with the live online play where you can play not only a survivor, but also one of the zombies. Highly recommended if you are into survivor first person shooters. I wouldn't recommend it for all kids my son's age, but he's very practical and not easily frightened. You need to know your kid.
Adult Written byro623 January 16, 2009
 

M rating for another reason too!

Although the M rating is warranted solely for the gore (shooting violence, zombies' bodies/heads exploding), even the review above doesn't mention a graphic in-game poster in one the levels showing a (human) topless woman, up close (and you HAVE to walk past it too). So even if your teens can sort out the violence and zombie aspects of the game, keep in mind they'll also be viewing what many would consider porn as well. (Stranglely, the review above doesn't mention Anything under the Sex category, (because there isn't any in the storyline of the game?), but keep in mind that it is "plastered on the walls"... ;-) )
Parent Written byMewmewfancycakes January 30, 2012
 

...

This game is very entertaining. My two children play this who are 12 and 18. They both know it's not real and don't have nightmares or anything like that. This game may be fun but they curse ALOT. Which include f--k, and b----h. Those words I don't like, which is why I don't like them playing all the time. And super violent. So many weapons, too much. Overall good game but at time disturbing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written byleft 4 dead January 22, 2012
 

left 4 dead

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byConcerned Citizen #1 January 16, 2012
 

Game content falsity.

No grenades. Just pipe bombs. Sorry violence category.
Parent Written by1112751 November 14, 2011
 

good game

not a bad game but watch the langue sorry i cant spell
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 19 and 22 year old Written byBill567 October 10, 2011
 

Some gore, not as much as you would think from the cover though.

A fun shooter for kids 12+. I mean as long as those kids know that it isn't real. My kids love this game and I sometimes play with them. Don't judge this one by its cover, it really isn't all that gory and they don't drop the F bomb like Call Of Duty does.
Parent Written byRegular Dude July 28, 2011
 

For adults only

I love this game, but it's definitely NOT for kids. The language is over the top and sometimes quite shocking. The gore is intense. The theme is scary. It's a fantastic game, but for adults only.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written bydtsa78cfgs9rovw April 20, 2011
 

great game for teenagers

great game
Parent of a 17 year old Written bythomas1foot February 25, 2011
 

Great game but gruesome at times. (During multiplayer)

This game is fun for older kids but would not reccomend it to under 10's definetely.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bydrummer66 December 13, 2009
 

parents should get it for kids

It's an awesome zombie shooting game, even my mom and dad thinks it's awesome, the language isn't that bad and there's nothing bad about the game, i've played this game for while and might get left 4 dead 2. some kids might get scared of the zombies though. but you learn a way to kill zombies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value

Pages