Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for Mafia III

Common Sense says

Mature violent adventure has tech issues, yet still fun.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 13 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 10 reviews
Adult Written bySam B. November 20, 2016

Just let your kids have some fun

I bought this game for my son. My son had been asking for this game since the day it came out out and he convinced me to buy it for him, so I bought it for him. At first I was very worried about this game and that it would not be suitable for my son. I watched him play it and it turns out that the game is not that bad after all. I can't lie there is a fair amount of swearing and the game is very violent. Although if you are worried about these things for your child like I was, the player has the choice to do whatever they want. So in that case your child does not have to cause havoc and destoy most of the city. Instead they can drive around and explore the city and hack things. (although your child may not want to do that if they are asking for this game). I disagree with the common sense media overall review because they gave this game a five for sex. I disagree with this because I have watched this game myself as my son plays it and so far I have not found any sexual content. Although there is a fair amount of sexual language. But this only happens if you play the story mode. If you like to explore the city you will not experience a lot of sexual content but you will encounter some swearing. I know many parents like myself worry about sexual content, but they did keep it to a minimal here, and removed a high majority of it in comparison to the previous mafia games. Honestly, it's a great game.Overall I feel that parents should buy there kids this game if they don't have a problem with the things I just mentioned. Just get it and let your kids enjoy the game. Hope this helps :)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written byWilliam M. February 1, 2017
Parent of a 10 year old Written byMartin N. December 6, 2016

A good but Violent game

the setting is a fictionalized setting of New Bordeaux in the late 1960s you play a Half cast vet who is returned from Vietnam only to get into more trouble with the various gangs Parental advice good points can drive cars boats explore a virtual city Bad points set in a volatile period in US history where racial divisions were commonplace so the game uses the N word to describe Africa Americans a lot of gun play overall Mafia III is a game for older teens and is not kid friendly
Parent Written byCJ B. November 27, 2017

NOPE JUST NO!

Its good but its full of sex, violence and EXTREMELY strong language. Maybe if you child's mature enough then maybe 16 or 17 but its got stuff bout the KKK and the N word and the C word. This is just mg opinion but I think that its VERY BAD for children under the age of 18

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written bydarthsitkur January 9, 2017

Way better than mafia 2 and one of the best games I've ever played

I'm still enjoying the heck out of mafia 3, it's a great gangster and revenge story and it's got all the 60's isms too such as the cool outfits and the fast cars, a great soundtrack, great voice acting, and plenty of bloody action, suspense, gore, brutal kills, and drama to go around, do yourself a favor and go buy it now, get the deluxe edition though, it comes with the family kick back DLC which has awesome goodies
Parent of a 12 year old Written byRyan L. February 20, 2018

Very good game, but for Daddy!

I bought this for my 12 year old son after he really wanted an interactive driving game. I had my husband play it first so we could make sure it was ok... Let's just say, it got put into Daddy's game pile. It's a very cool fun game, but it's definitely very mature. The violence, extremely brutal kills, and extensive rotten language(i.e. n word, c word, and all the normal swears) are one thing, but the sexual content is major. There are Playboy mags that you pick up and look through, there is a photo shoot with topless woman rubbing up on each other, and a lot more. Plus the characters frequently discuss sexual situations, things they would like to "do" to certain women, and things that may happen inside one's pants should he encounter an attractive lady. All in all, very graphic, violent, and crude... BUT... If you are old enough for these things, it is a pretty fun game!!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 9, 12, and 17 year old Written byDavid H. December 17, 2017

Meh

Terrible game with a lot of nudity and language. Honestly I feel like they did better on the reveling pictures than the actual story. I let my 17 year old play this but won’t let my 12 and 8 year old go near it

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMatthew W. March 7, 2017

Same as grand theft auto

It's a lot like gta but lots of technical problems. And crashes
Parent Written byBobby J. November 26, 2017

Good Fun Action

A bit too crazy but overall good.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byKid's Click 10 July 6, 2018

For a tween looking for a great open world shooter.

Ok, Common Sense Media is only telling half the story. Take for example I disagree with the 5 sex rating... unless you play the story mode. The free rome doesn't have anything questionable sex wise. Lots of swearing but if you can trust your child not to repeat what they here your in the clear. Quite a bit of violence. Some missions focuses on drugs such as cocaine, LSD, and heroin bur what CSM did not tell you is that Lincon Clay wants to stop this. Though still not recommended for somebody under 12.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byBombardierBob August 14, 2018

Mafia III Unlockable Classic Playboy Magazines

ESRB on PlayStation Network Store has it M 17+. This month the game is free for PSN members. My son downloaded it and I had no problem with him playing the game as long as I monitored him playing. Usually the adult content parts he skipped through them till he picked up a couple Playboy magazines in game that he unlocked the full magazines that he could read and not some sort of animated version but full magazines that were published. I had him delete and uninstall the game as he is not 18 and the ESRB is wrong on this game as published porn to buy and view is 18 and online content of pornography is also by federal law 18.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bySnugglewaffel November 12, 2018

Fine for kids 12+

I personally think it is fine for children 12+ the blood is like out of a movie. The language is infrequent as well. For all those parents worried the game is not good don’ t listen to the ones that are against the game it’s just a dare they had to do . I know this as I am one of there friends playing truth or dare with them. It overall isn’t a violent or sexual game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Parent of a 12 year old Written byJack R. November 1, 2018

This game is the best for fairly mature children over ten years old.

This game is SO good, but it should only be played by kids whom are fairly mature because this game has sexual language, (its not that bad) and what you need to be aware of is that there is the N and C word because it takes place in the time where racial profanity was big against native Americans. This game is also violent but it is not as bad as the movie Logan. (If you don't know what it is you can look it up.) Those are the only bad things about the game but other than that, this game is one of the greatest I've ever played.

This title contains:

Ease of Play