Parent reviews for Max Payne 3

Common Sense says

Gritty action game overflows with gore, sex, and profanity.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 14+
Based on 12 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 18 reviews
Adult Written byjohnsmith73 June 22, 2012

Game ON for ages 14 and up!

Like others in the max payne series, there is alot of slow motion violence. some of it contains blood, but it is not anything kids havent seen in call of duty. There is some sexual content, but it is not very strong. he walks through a strip club in one mission and you see dancers wearing skimpy outfits that reveal cleavege but no nudity is seen. on the back of the game it may say partial nudity, but that is because the ESRB rating system identifies it as "any act of revealing body parts,sideviews, or wearing revealing outfits." so it can be mis-leading to alot of parents. there is some language but it is pretty mild. other than this, the story of the game has good morals and a good character. in the quest to save his wife from a band of terrorists he manages to only kill when he has to, and only men, no women or children. my child is 14 and i watched him play the whole thingi thought it was almost as good as watching a movie. i hope this review helps.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byadam56 July 17, 2012

Fun Game.

By the age of 13, 90 percent of kids will have seen examples of most of the things in this game. For those who purchased GTA 4, this game is definitely okay. And the sexual content is primarily in a cutscene, which is easily skippable if you know what point in game it is.
Adult Written bypredator x ogy June 29, 2014

give it a chance

I am a dad I have a 10 yrs old child and have played max payne 3. I think it is good it has lots of numeracy and you can skip rude content . If you go to the strip club it says warning put in pin code. The only rude content is on multiplayer. I make sure my child doesn't play online and he turns down the voice volume so no language can be heard. It is safe if you stay of multiplayer . co op campaign doesn't have rude content ever so you can play campaign with your friends it is super safe. Drugs are in multiplayer.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byjoshua martinez June 28, 2012

not for kids.

this third sequel max Payne 3 is a good third-person shooter game ever but to think of it even though max Payne 3 is worth $60.00 and it's fun to play but to me it's only worth rented it because once you beat the game you'll see what i mean and plus there are so many Collectables that will keep max Payne fans busy and one thing in mind parents max Payne 3 is only for adults and parents you need to know that max Payne 3 earns a m rating for a good reason this game has a lot of intense violence filled with lots of shooting and much more and in addition to the violence you will see lots of blood and gore there's also sex and nudity filled with naked strippers and prostitutes females there's sex scenes shown like in chapter 7 in a cut scene when max walks inside the building a men and a female are shown grinding and thrusting on each other expect a lot of non-stop constant strong language used and there are lots of drugs, drinking, and smoking used.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byBattleVet75 October 6, 2013

Outstanding game, but it is mature.

Max Payne 3 is very well written, but it is made by Rockstar, so it will be edgy. The game is very violent and bloody, and the whole game revolves around a hostage situation. Max Payne is given the job of a body gaurd for a wealthy family in Brazil. That being said, the wife of the noble man is kidnapped and taken hostage, and the game follows Max's journey to rescue her. Max is a decent role model as he is trying to do his job and bring the girl back alive. The violence in the game is very graphic. You can shoot civilians in the crossfire without consequences. You will see extreme blood splatter and blood pools from dead bodies, complete with bloody bullet holes. The most violent scenes are in cutscenes: the first is where you see a man with his arm severed after an explosion, and the other is when a man sacrifices himself and suicide bombs a group of enemies, in which after you will see bloody, dimembered bodies and gore. There is some strong sexual content in the game as one mission has Max visiting a brothel to meet with a cop. In this mission, players will see people having sex in the background, complete with thrusting and full bottomless nudity. There is also a nude striper. Language is very strong with the use of every word in the book. Overall, if your 16 year old wants a fun game with a very outstanding story, than Max Payne 3 is a good choice.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byRun boy run. August 15, 2012

I love this game, but its dark, super violent, and filled with swearing as well as some sex

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bygamerkid789 January 31, 2014
I got this game for $19 at walmart. Awesome Bullet time kils but has some gore.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Adult Written byJennifer Sanders December 27, 2012

Max payne review

This game is truly a great work of art, coming from a counselor. I first learned about it from one of my patients who said he got it for christmas. I was appalled at first look. This game teaches teens and pre-teens about what is going on in the world. From natural disasters to economic crisis, max payne does alot of teaching. But dont worry, this game doesnt tell your child things you dont want them to know about. The game is appropriate for children 12 and up, unless the parents are sensitive to the violence. There is violence in this game, but nothing unheard of. You have guns, and yes from time to time you have an option of killing someone. But it doesnt show any guts or brains spilling out (it shouldnt scare your child). The game says that it has"partial nudity" and "sexual content" buts its always fully clothed women. There is never a scene in the game with a naked woman and if there was i would know, i watched my son jason play the whole game through, which of course he hated but i needed to know what this was all about. And yes, i bought it for him.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byGregH94 June 7, 2012

Great

Good, non-stop action single player, the multiplayer is also great. If you like the Die Hard movies, you'll enjoy this game. Contains graphic violence and very strong language.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byMatt The Gamer May 25, 2012

Great Game But Not For Kids

Serious privacy and safety concerns: This is the first game in the series to include multiplayer support, so gamers can play against one another online -- and if desired, chat with one another openly via headset microphone in an un-moderated and un-monitored setting. Really Common Sense? Just because you can interact with people online doesn't automatically mean you're going to come in contact with, let's say "bad", people. Overall, this game is very entertaining but due to the violent, sexual, and profane content, should not be played by anyone under 17.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMaaah July 28, 2013

forging awsome to the limit!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byEziotheAssassin August 16, 2014

Gritty, violent crime game focuses on drugs.

Max Payne 3 is a lot different than the other Max Payne games, especially with Max's character development. Dealing with the depression of losing his wife and daughter, the game focuses on Max's addiction to painkillers and alcohol with many depressing overtones. Outside of the cutscenes of Max boozing and pill popping, the game's combat is pretty brutal. The game has over-the-top elements such as bullet time and slow motion shootdodging, but when the game goes into it's kill cam mode the enemy can be shown with the bullets hitting them very realistically with blood spurting out of the holes in their body after they are dead. As for language, this being a Rockstar game, the game is filled with tons of F-bombs being used by every character in the game. Sex and nudity is frequent, especially in one level where Max walks into a bar/club in South America and the camera pans in ways to show people engaging in sexual activities with prostitutes, breasts and butts being visible.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking