All parent member reviews for Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots

Parents say

(out of 23 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Adult Written byKevin Lighter July 13, 2009

An amazing piece of art, but for those a little older.

MGS4 is possibly the best game of the decade. As an avid gamer and hard core nerd, I love video games, but this one takes the cake. ALSO: With the smoking bit, yes, while the main character smokes, it shows how much it hurts him. If you use cigarettes too much, you die, and during those loading screens, it gives messages saying, "SMOKING IS BAD FOR YOUR HEALTH." Plus, it has most other characters saying, "Snake, (The main character) you need to stop smoking. It's going to kill you." So take that little bit of into consideration.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written bydr.andrewsmith August 1, 2010

a

Great game! It is appropriate for kids 12+. The object of this game is not to kill. Snake just want to secure peace. He doesn't want to kill, (players lose points for killing.) It is important for kids to know that the army doesn't kill just to kill, they have to kill the enemy to make them not kill innocent people. The game is violent, and moderately gory, but in the options menu, you can turn off blood.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byTDSplays December 6, 2015

If you have a PS3, buy this game.

This is, without a doubt, one of the best games of the decade. The graphics are amazing (for 2008) and the story is awesome! Snake is a moderately good role model. He wants to stop war and kill his twin (who wants to keep war at large). This game is one of the installments in the Metal Gear Solid video game series, which has been around since the late 80s. For the actual violence, it's not much. You get points deducted for killing henchmen, and even when you do kill, it's not gory. This is one of the mildest M-rated games out there, and if it weren't for the (infrequent) strong language, it would probably be rated T. VIOLENCE: 4/10. Speaking of language, there is some swears, but nothing a pre-teen hasn't heard before. "F**k", "S**t", etc. LANGUAGE: 5/10. There's no sexual content in the game, but there are some women who wear tight, revealing clothing. SEX: 2/10. There is some drug use (Snake smokes while the game data is installing) but, he'll die if he smokes too much. If you DO die from smoking, there's a message saying that it isn't healthy to smoke. DRUGS/ALCOHOL: 4/10. There's also an online mode, but it's not really a big deal for privacy. In conclusion, buy this game if you have a PS3. It's amazing, and though there are a lot (and I mean a LOT) of unskippable cutscenes, it's worth playing. TDSplays Rate-O-Meter: 10/10.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written byabrahm February 8, 2011
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byJefferry April 9, 2008

M? For what?

I have a 12 and 14 year old son. They both desperately wanted this game for their playstation 3. Even though I have never let a rated M game get beyond the front door, I decided to try it out. So I rented it and play through it for a couple days. This is my ratings. Violence: IF blood is turned of (which I required to let my children play it) then its less violent then uncharted, heavenly sword, and warhawk. half of the time you dont even kill enemies, you tranquilize them, knock them out, or just sneak by them. Sexually content: I noticed nothing harmful to anyone 10+ Language: Lets put it this way, you here more swears at a day of school then in this entire game. Message: The main character is saving the world from a dictator who is trying to control the whole planet. So overall, if you kid is 15+ and getting good grades and does get agressive, I think you should let them perchase this game. Also keep in mind that if blood is turned off, then it probably would be a T game.
Parent of a 17 year old Written byJesusrulz666 July 26, 2010

Beautiful

Ok. This game has non-stop intense violence. I just wanted to make that clear. Beautiful 100% Great game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Adult Written byIndeed March 20, 2012

Adult themes that should be introduced to Youth.

With the Metal Gear Solid series, everything said must be taken in context. I believe that the messages portrayed in the game should be exposed to kids, how the main protagonist Snake is always in an internal battle, how he realizes that his life of fighting is something that he does not wish upon anyone else and how his actions will potentially change the world for the better. In theory, this is on the same level of the piece of literature "To Kill a Mockingbird" in which it uses harsh language but to convey a strong message. It may be a bit violent for some yet the blood and general killings are there to convey a message. The third entry in the series did a much better step and actually placed you among those whom you killed in a segment, therefore the less you killed within the game, the easier the segment was to complete. I believe the Metal Gear Solid franchise always a good buy and that you should first play the game and then talk over the messages as it can create a diverse conversation. All in all, Snake is simply following the agenda of a government. He is a soldier following orders of a group, it is not the character that is evil or has a bad attribute, it is the organization that has used him. Snake is a positive role-model in the sense that his new role in MGS4 is to disarm the PMCs causing havoc in parts of the world. He is a peace-keeper whom is haunted by his past.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byBlueDragon7100 April 19, 2013

Its ok, no one under 14 or 12 so should play it.

Its a good game, better than Halo. You play as a old soldier who is seeking to destroy Nuclear Weapons of Mass Destruction, and make the world safe. Its a hard game to follow if you want to understand the whole storyline and what the goal is. the main character's name is Solid Snake, who is old in this game unlike the others that star him. He smokes, and subtly uses the word D**n. He uses a drug that is more of a medicine, and there is at least a few real world brands mentioned. It IS a war game, but the main goal is to sneak past the enemy as to not set off the alarm. You do kill people, and the bosses may seem scary to younger people, and possess supernatural powers caused by a old experiment to make a better preforming soldier. It says in loading screens things about not to smoke and not to play video games for more than an hour without a break. There is blood, as you expect from a war game, and you can find some semi-nude pictures of ladies. I say anyone under 10 who hasn't played Halo or Call of Duty can't play until they are at least 14.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 18+ year old Written byJeefDouglas September 12, 2015

This game is a good game that breaks the steriotype that the military kills everyone becuse you accualy get less points for killing

Educator Written bygame defender January 15, 2012

awesome

this game is truly amazing. you really have to be a fan of the series to understand the plot. one of the greatest games out there
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written bymaanu123 July 3, 2011

Great game

This review by chad sapieha was largely innacurate. Unlike most games which is shoot shoot boom boom, Your child need not proceed with needless violence. The entire game, yes entire, can be beaten by tranquilizing and knockiong out enemys. Along with that, the message for the story is largely war is bad, etc etc.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byBrastelei December 19, 2010

Deep Immersive Experience with an Incredible Story

The winner of several Game of the Year awards, Metal Gear Solid 4 is a great way to end a great series. This game is full of incredible action/tactical gameplay, an incredible story and a real movie cinematic experience. If you own a Playstation 3, this should be in your library. This game is not a hard M, but it is an M. There is a lot of realistic violence, and although the blood can be turned on and off, the people react in a very realistic way. Some cutscenes are particularly violent, but include cyborgs, or biological robots. There are also some disturbing elements to this game. Four "beauty" characters have Post Traumatic Stress Disorder due to extremely disturbing and violent events that are told to the player in the game. These "beauties" are also violent, ruthless antagonists. Certain characters also have bizarre tendencies (with one character who likes to lick the blood off of the blade he stabs people with). This game has some sexual innuendo, characters in low cut shirts, and a hidden easter egg where you can take pictures of tightly clothed women in provocative poses. This game's story is philisophical and complex and is intended for mature audiences. Overall, the characters fight for what is right and even the seemingly antisocial Snake is shown to have a heart. Amazing game, don't pass this up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Adult Written byGeoff. January 13, 2009

What are you other adults thinking?

This game is M...sure, but think about the education that the other kids/teenagers will learn from the game.MGS4 is just as violent as MGS3, except when your blood splats on your screen (but that only happens if you suck) come on parents, let your kids live a little. your friendly neighborhood reviewer..Geoff
Parent of a 11 year old Written byEzio3946 July 19, 2010

OMfrickinG this game is awesome!

i have to say that this is the 2nd best game i own (the first being just cause 2) its a bit violent but it isnt as bad as C.S says it is. the blood doesnt spray. the only real thing i disliked was when snake smokes. Please note that i am against smoking in every possible way. i dont do it and i refuse to buy them for ANYBODY!! that was so off topic any ways i love the game and recommend it to everyone as well as all other metal gear games. thanks for reading everybody!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written byPirate fan February 14, 2010

Probaley the best game ever!!!!!

As you can see i havent rated this game because i have not played it. It looks awesome and i really wanted to say for all the metal gear games (ive played 1-3) that theyre not that bad. I mean a game thats awesome and teaches the some what younger kids (10+) that smoking is bad. And because of the reviews im rating this game 5 stars which ive rated the third one. Message to all parents: metal gear is bascily a sneking game with some voilence.
Adult Written bySon Gokuo September 20, 2009

Greatest in the franchise

Very good story line and graphics. Not suitable for younger gamers.
Adult Written byDemonOni December 29, 2009

MGS4, simply outstanding

Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the Patriots, is one of the PS3s finest titles. Fans of the series will undoubtedly indulge in the confusing yet brilliant storyline and come to appreciate the fantastic gameplay. However, the game definitely isn't for everyone. The extremely lengthy cutscenes contain mammoth amounts of dialogue and for newcomers to the franchise, it will be extremely difficult to understand and appreciate the game's plot and Snake's struggle. Not the most entertaining game for the kids in this regard. Parents, go by the rating on this one. Albeit not overly voilent, it's a mature game meant for mature audiences. As for the smoking, the game warns players of the dangers of smoking and discourages it, but as a core component of Snake's character, it had to be in the game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byjohnwalden87 July 29, 2010

Love it!

I have been a fan of the metal gear series myself for a few years now, and I would have no problem with my 2 year old son playing this game, if he could learn how to use the controller.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byKevin Quire November 27, 2009

Fine for anyone 11+

I really don't understand why this game received a Mature rating, violence and sexual themes are not a problem in this game. There are small blood splatters here and there and maybe a curse word or two, but this game is not as bad as the ESRB made it out to be. I would recommend it to anyone eleven and up.
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written bythunder1 July 12, 2009

Fine for 10 and up.

Ok. Commonsense.com says this is only appropriate for kids 17 and up. Thats not true in the most. I have a 12 year old kid (just turned 12 not to long ago) played this. I played with to make sure nothing to bad was in the game. We played through the hole game and I didn't have to stop it once. Violence:Theres a little blood. You can find this much blood in e games now these days. Yes there are games but go see transformers and there are guns. Violence 9 and up (also blood can be turned off) Drugs: Snake does smoke but go outside of walmart and people are smoking. Drugs 5 and up. Sexual violence: All you see at one point his a girl wearing a bikini. Turn the tv on to a kids show on tv such as icarly and The main character carly wheres a bikini (swimsuit but same thing) at one episode. I think Icarly is worse then the "sexual themes" in Metal gear solid 4. The rest is ok. 10 and up and this is fine.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages

Pages