Kid reviews for Minecraft: Story Mode

Common Sense says

Famous blocky adventure has a generic story to tell.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 19 reviews

Kids say

age 8+
Based on 60 reviews
Kid, 8 years old October 30, 2015

Best telltale game in the world

Minecraft story mode is a special spin off game to minecraft. If you are thinking of this as a sequel to minecraft do not buy. This is a episodic adventure game where the player fallows a story that is made based on the choices the player makes. There is some mild cartoonish (bloodless) violence such as sword slashing. But if your kid has played the first minecraft you should worry about the language which never gets worse then u would hear in a pg movie. The reason I gave the game a higher age rating because it is half movie and it might bore kids. Overall minecraft story mode is off for 1 to 4 iffy 5 to 9 and fine for 10 and up

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Kid, 8 years old November 28, 2015

mine it up

endercon is a big fair that you build at.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old November 18, 2015

An Amazing Game!

Minecraft story mode is like original Minecraft but with a point to it. In the game you pick a character and go on adventures with your friends. The game is played out by choices you make. There is little violence, for example in real Minecraft if an animal, monster, or human get hurt they will flash red. If they die (only the monsters so it's not sad) they will just disappear. The language is very low. The game says crap once or twice and that's about it. The game does show teamwork and positive messages.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written by11legos November 2, 2015

A actual story!

the game is worth it's price. It is a animated story that you choose what happens. It has dialogue then you pick what you say. you also have to move and talk to other people and save the world.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old November 25, 2015

minecraft story mode review

It is a bad game because it ruins the game minecraft and nothing disturbing .

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old November 28, 2015

Surprisingly Dark And Violent, Especially For Minecraft.

This is a Minecraft Based Episodic Game By Telltale Games. Obviously, it doesn't have anywhere near the violence, sexual themes or strong language of the other episodic games by TellTale. But it is still quite violent for something that was made for all ages, sort of like the LEGO Movie (LEGO Movie is still less violent). Violence: I would have given it at least 2. The Witherstorm destoys much of the world and kills some NPCs. The girl Petra gets Wither sickness, and could potentially die. Rueben almost dies after being caught on fire, and gets attacked by a zombie. He then gets a black eye. Jesse gets attacked by a spider, but then Petra rescues him. Sex: None, at least none that I saw. Language: Fairly frequent use of "Hell" and "Crap". The characters also talk about a type of "Super TNT" called the "Forbidi-Bomb". They say that "Dropping the F-Bomb" Could cause serious damage. Overall, Its a good game, but the violence is fairly intense for Minecraft.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 9 years old April 2, 2016

It matters what swearing is to your family

I think that if your kids consider freakin' or crap or stupid or hell as a swearing word don't buy it for them.
Kid, 11 years old March 25, 2016

Great Minecraft Game!!

This is one of the best games I've played. The story is great, the lines are hilarious, but there are some things younger kids might not like. I'm 11, but I'm not dumb. One thing I'm going to say is don't get this game for your kids if they're not familiar with Minecraft, because there are many references to the original Minecraft in it. Expect me to be sort of a smarty pants, but I don't want to be the kid that says, "this ga me is good go by it" Ease of play: Because this is by TellTale games, there is more story and dialogue than actual play time. The player makes quick decisions of what to say during scenes. But don't get me wrong, there are times when you can play by yourself. Violence: The Violence is very similar to original Minecraft. If someone is hit they flash red. If a creature (but not you) is killed, they dissapear into smoke. The fights scenes may be more intense due to the fact that the game is much more realistic than the original. Language: I was a little surprised when I found out the language that was in this game. Crap is said about the entire game. Freaking is also used but only a couple of times. H*ll is only used twice(But in the same scene, so it is over quickly). D*mn is used once(Twice if you make a certain choice). I'm not exactly sure, but I thought they used piss once. But none of the language would go over a PG rating.(There is a joke about the F-Bomb though) Scariness: Monsters rome around and scare people. A giant 3-headed monster(named the Wither) destroys the world and eats people. Though this is Minecraft, everything is blocky and cube like. So this brings the scare factor down. Taking longer than you'd expect, eh? Don't worry, I'm almost done. Characters: Jesse is the main character. (He can be white, black, or a shade in between. He can also be female.) He/She is brave and intelligent. Jesse looks up to a team of heroes called The Order of The Stone, and wants to become a hero as well. Axel: Jesse's best friend. He is basically the comedy relief, making pranks and jokes 24/7. But once you get him fired up, he stays like that for a while. He's kind of whiny too. Olivia: Also Jesse's best friend. She's kind of tomboyish and has low-self esteem. But she is brave and will always help her friends. Petra: Total tomboy. She will use violence for a lot of things and is never afraid. She fights for her friends. Drugs: There is no drugs in the game, but Petra makes a trade with a mysterious man in an alleyway, kind of like a drug deal. So yeah, this game is for the entire family, really, you will love it. Not for sensitive kids, though, because SPOILER ALERT SPOILER ALERT There are deaths of characters. Also if your kids think swearing is the worst thing in the world and if somebody swears they are bad....wait until they're older.(Why I rate 11+) BUT WHEN YOU GET THE GAME, MAKE SURE IT SAYS "SEASON PASS" WHICH MEANS YOU GET ALL THE EPISODES FREE!! Plus, it's only $30.00

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 11 years old January 8, 2016

AWESOME

This game is amazing. This game has some violence . People get attacked by a witherstorm. There are monsters that you fight but no blood. There are extremely sad death scenes for multiple characters. They even made an adult youtuber cry. So be prepared for sad parts. This game has a huge fear of failure. People get very discouraged. Also there is some bad language but nothing more than a pg movie. The game revolves completely on your decisions. I played the game once and played it again and then it was so different that I went to different areas than the my first game. This game is awesome for most ages. BEST GAME EVER
Kid, 11 years old December 16, 2015

Great minecraft story with pleasant and nonpleasant people

Minecraft story mode features lots of almost scary violence and disturbing images of cartoon pixelated monsters. some of the violence includes using swords, fire, bow and arrows, and more weapons to kill monsters. there are some curse words such as hell, crap, and damn. there is no sexuality or suggestive content only minor flirts. the violence also does not contain blood or gore. there is brief alcohol consumption and language though. S**T is also used once. I rate this game T-Teen 13+ some peril strong scary cartoon violence and scary disturbing cartoon images language suggestive humor and some brief use of alcohol

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byCoolpool785 December 29, 2016

GREAT!

One of the easiest games to play, most of it is just choosing what to say. Language is frequent in the first episode though, But nothing worse than a PG rated film. They use "crap" about five times and"h*ll" twice. In the third episode, you have the option to say: "That's a crap-ton of Endermen." And in episode 4, Soren says "[email protected] thing." This has to be one of the most "potty-mouthed" E10 rated game I've ever played, but it's nothing worse than a PG rated movie. The violence is nothing worse than the actual Minecraft. Never any "Drug use" or "Sexual content," but someone thought that the game was Sexist by how a girl character is smart and a boy character isn't, but that doesn't mean anything, just because one male character is dumb and a female character smart. But in chapter 7, Ivor calls a female character "exquisite," but in my opinion, this is just to show he has a crush on her. Overall, it's a good game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byDe_queen October 6, 2016

Easy but fun

I think 5+ coz it's easy fun and anybody can play but under 5s my not understand some of the puzzles

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old January 17, 2017

VERY BORING!!!

This game is VERY Boring!. DO NOT BUY! go get Books! or something! this is very boring!. and its hard to find out what to do!. DO NOT BUYYYYYYYY go get Books or something! and its soft of Violent!. it shows you cutting off creepers heads. VIOLENT!. i recommend this is not for Little Kids!. my brother let me Play it when i was 8. when i Saw the creepers head Fly off i just gave it back to my Brother

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Kid, 11 years old July 20, 2016

The best game ever!

No blood and gore under any circumstances. The quotes and voice over are simply amazing. But... "Dropping the F-Bomb"? Not funny at all.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Kid, 9 years old December 25, 2015

Mahaer's Gameplay

I played From episode one to four, and i heard a few c-words from episode one to three. Great story, I am not sure about other telltale games, i have not played them. i think Minecraft story mode is the best for little kids. It is easier with minecraft than other games. I recommend you buy the season pass instead of buying every episode when it comes. you might never know when they will come out, so if you don't buy the season pass, kids might be irritated you have to buy them, or beg you too much, or even quit from playing. overall, this is a great game you have to buy.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Kid, 11 years old March 13, 2017

Good gameplay but buggy

It is a good game with good gameplay and has the generic feel as your are in Minecraft although if you don't want your kids exposed to words such as cr*p and screw then don't buy it for them

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Language
Kid, 11 years old March 13, 2017

Great game

The game minecraft story mode is a fun game when you decide by making choices what happens in the story and how it ends it is a little more innapropriate because in this game very now and then characters do curse

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 8 years old October 26, 2016

This title contains:

Positive role models
Kid, 11 years old October 14, 2016

This really isn't minecraft!

I know people have been complaining that this game isn't like minecraft, and while its true that the only thing(s) to do with minecraft in this is the blocky. atmosphere and a few references to mc materials, blocks etc. You have to remember that this wasn't even made by mojang (the creators of minecraft), instead by telltale, so most of you will know what to expect. Swearing isn't really a problem the worst thing ever said was, IT WAS THAT [email protected] COMMAND BLOCK! Violence isn't really a problem till ep6. The story of that episode is that you are invited to a mysterious house where you meet a bunch of youtubers. Eventually you find out that someone is a murderer and you basically have to find out who it is (I won't spoil it if you don't know who it is). The real problem is how they are, the first person is killed by poison darts, the second is suffocated in sand, and the third and final was either fed to spiders or stabbed in the back (depending on what choice you made). Ep7's story is that you end up in a weird dimension full of these seemingly mindless people, long story short you find out that an evil robot called P.A.M.A (similar to G.L.A.D.O.S from portal) has enslaved them with a technology chip thingy, you destroy P.A.M.A, free everyone, credits roll. theres nothing to bad in it except P.A.M.A's voice is a bit disturbing and you're friends are also "made useful" and they seem terrified while it was happening. Midgame you get to save one of them and when you do they say something like "it was so horrible" or something, that doesn't sound too mad the game wants you to know, that they know that they knew they were enslaved during it was happening. I'm not going to go into detail with ep8 it was basically just hunger games, if you didn't like that, you won't like this and if you did like it, you'll like this it suffers from the same problems as that does and vice versa. WOW! this is probably the longest review I've done thanks for reading this far!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 16 years old Written byCrispandCrunch January 19, 2017

Disappointing. I Am very upset.

I Purchased this game from steam. Episode 1-3 or so were nice, but than it started to suck. In episode 4 It got to a point I spent 1 hour or more on a single riddle and get my eyes pink. Than in episode 5 It was also hard. Impossible i'd say. About 2 weeks later I finished the chapter, gasped and very disappointed to see what is next... Apparently, If you buy this piece of crap game in steam than when you get to chapter 6 you need to buy a DLC To contiue. D...L...C.... And it costed 15 USD. Now, I wasokay with it if it was cheaper, because Minecraft Story mode itself costed 25 USD On steam. 25+15=40. It would cost me.... 40 dollars.... Just to get a stupid other version of minecraft. I Loved minecraft until some stupid updates came and ruined all the fun. I Played minecraft for like 2 years, and it came to an end. And about the DLC, The DLC Did not ever work. I bought it and it won't work. So yeah, this is how I was scammed 40 dollars for the crappy game known as Minecraft story mode. Very disappointing. I Would have been happier if I Got it from the ''Minecraft Story Mode: The Complete Adenture'' disk, but my friend said it doesn't work on PC And my X-BOX Broke and that won't help. Buy this at your own risk if you are doing it wrong steam, and on general, do it on your own risk so your child does not kill his eyes... Apart of that. It's appropriate for kids.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness

Pages