Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Get age-based picks

Parent reviews for Mortal Kombat X

Common Sense says

Incredibly violent fighting game has buckets of blood, gore.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 33 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 82 reviews
Adult Written byDainish2114 May 28, 2015

Please read before wondering why I put age 13 and up.

I picked up Mortal Kombat X the day it came out, and have pretty much been playing it ever since. The game is very off putting by the way the media likes to talk about it. All the media likes to talk about is violence. That's it. Is the violence bad? Well, of course it is. It's Mortal Kombat. But one thing that people need to learn how to do is look past the violence in some games and realize that behind the violence, there is, often times, a very good game. That is the case for Mortal Kombat X. When you look past the violence, there is an excellent beginner and hardcore fighting game hidden beneath it. The gameplay is some of the smoothest I've ever seen in a 2D fighting game. It performs excellently on my Xbox One, and from what I've heard, it performs excellently on the PS4 as well. The character balance is great, and I have yet to find out which character is absolutely overpowered (maybe Shinnok). The combos are relatively simple to perform, especially if you are new to fighting games. Mortal Kombat is probably one of the best fighting games to introduce to a person new to the genre, because it's probably the simplest of its kind. I'm not going to go into any game modes, as this is a website designed for parents seeing whether things are age appropriate or not. Parents, I wholeheartedly understand if you don't want your kid to get this game. It is as violent as everyone makes it out to be. But remember, Mortal Kombat may be famous for its blood and gore, but one of the key ways to getting a video game famous is by being a good game. Mortal Kombat is famous because it's just excellent. My little brothers play it for that very reason. They love it because it is fun, and they are diving deeper into the gameplay and figuring out the complexity and technique hidden under all the simplicity. Sure, they might find the blood and guts amusing, but they play it because it's a fun game. We didn't pay 60 dollars for blood and gore. I would encourage your kids to look past the violence in some video games, because when you do, you end up having a very good game. One more thing before I close. I have a recommendation for any parent not wanting their kids to get Mortal Kombat X. If you child has an Xbox 360 or a PS3, there is another Mortal Kombat game on it that's just called "Mortal Kombat." What makes this game stand out is that there is an option to turn off blood and gore. Turning off blood and gore also turns off fatalities, which are brutal finishing moves that you can pull off with a certain button combination. Mortal Kombat X does not have this option. This Mortal Kombat game that I described is excellent as well, and received generally positive reviews and was praised by the fans of the franchise upon its release.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Parent of a 10 and 10 year old Written bynateroo8 May 29, 2015

Awesome Game

This game has some blood and gore but it is great to keep your kid distracted for multiple hours;), if u know what I mean. Turn off the sound for cussing and it's good. I let my ten year old twins play and they love it.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byShambonzies April 9, 2016

Its not real

It's fine if youre kid knows its not real
Adult Written bytyler G. May 23, 2018

Very clean not gory at all :)

Mortal Kombat is a very kid friendly game and is fun for the family to play together. :). Had a wonderful time playing with my 5 year old daughter on Wednesday morning. My daughter enjoyed the friendship and love shown through the characters emotions.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written bySantaRosa12345 April 9, 2016
Parent of a 9, 12, 14, and 17 year old Written byESRB April 28, 2015

MK 9 appropriate?

Its a fun fighting game, although it has lots of blood and gore.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byAdamFox February 2, 2016

Over the top Graphic Violence...But Entertaining

This game contains some cursing, but nothing as bad as Call of Duty or Grand Theft Auto. I barely remember hearing it and I played through the story mode. However, the F-word is used. The violence in this game is over the top, but its so unrealistic that anyone with a functioning brain would know this game is not to be emulated. You can rip limbs off, rip guts out, blood flies everywhere and the game "rewards" you for killing your opponent off in a very violent way. I think this game is fine for anyone 13 and over and possibly younger if you don't mind your kids playing games with blood/gore
Adult Written byKyle B April 28, 2015

Fun but... not for kids

I have played lots of games that has violence but this game is way too inappropriate. some reasons are that you can cut people's body parts off, the fatalities are way too gory and also that language stuff too. You should just stick with the non-gory arcade version

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Parent Written byPhoenixMan May 26, 2015

Good game but gory

This is one of the best games that activision has made. I have a 13 year old son and he asked me if he could play MKX. I said I would look into it. I did and found it was, yes, gory but I find that Kenshi and Scorpion are great role models... at teaching you not what to do.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCarson aw May 8, 2015

Entertaining but Violent Fighter

You've probably heard of Mortal Kombat before. It's been around since the 90's, and is known for its violence. It's also the reason video games began to get an age rating. This is no exception. Final kills are brutal and some of the bloodiest around. MK gets a pass though, because of its history. The content is only for teens who can drive to get it themselves. Altough violence isn't my main issue... Violence in video games isn't as damaging to kids as sex and language. Make sure your teen is mature enough to not be affected by both.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byOmega C. April 7, 2017

NOT FOR LITTLE KIDS

Mortal Kombat has been the best game ever in my book but now the fatalities x-rays and brutalities are getting more and more graphic this game is only made for the audience over the age of 18 not under the age of 18

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 6, 8, and 11 year old Written bylola_loise April 27, 2015

Pretty good

Though rather violent, its very cartoon violent, totally unrealistic looking. I wouldnt let my young children play it, however, there are far far worse games out there and would let a teen play it
Adult Written bybasketballmaster October 20, 2015

why

ok why why 13 are you kidding me really there are decapitations people losing their arms and legs and people splitting other people in half people who say 13 are just dumb ok i said it dumb sorry but it is so true i don't really care if they are responsible or if they know that it is fake and not real

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJet spooky ansari A. October 14, 2017

Doesnt matter the age really

What my dad told me is that it only depends on how mature You are the game includes people getting brutaly murdered And some language i am ranked up to a level 20 now and The game will not be fine by with some parents and some Will not agree with my father and I understand that and this was ment to be put under a kid review

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Adult Written byhafezmg48 January 16, 2016

Extreme violence but fantastic game

I have not actually played this game myself but have played the mobile version, also seen the walkthrough and cinematics, and watched people playing it on PC. This game is totally messed up with huge amount of gore, blood and viscera. The worst part is Fatalities and Brutalities or X-ray actions. As and example when the winner wants to finish the loser(fatality), he puts his hands in losers mouth and grabs the jaws and suddenly GSHHSHSH it will tear his upper head apart and you see the whole process... or other which punches through the chest and grabs the hurt and feeds the hurt to its owner... IT IS SO VISCERAL AND VIOLENT THAT YOU CAN NOT IMAGINE. If I where to rate the game I would say it is for guys over +20. Because even +18 teenagers will experience mental problems with these kind of violence. But truth be told it has a magnificent game play and best graphics ever. also variant and plentiful combos and actions make it a very cool version of mortal kombat. I read in the reviews that a parent said he turned of the blood and gore and it makes it suitable for +13. If that is true then so far so good. I have not tested it that way. Hope it helped

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written bydarthsitkur May 30, 2015

MORTAL KOMBAT (theme song plays)

This is the goriest, kraziest, bloodiest, nastiest, most sadistic, and most out of control game I've ever played and i LOVE IT, this makes all the other MK games look tame and it even topped sunset overdrive for crying out loud lol, now I would really love to see a HARD R Rated mortal kombat movie with all the blood, guts, gore, brutalities, and fatalities UNLEASHED, the other two movies were too sanitized and watered down, BRING ON THE GORE FOR THE NEXT MOVIE!!!!!!!!!!
Adult Written bydick t. March 26, 2017

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Language
Adult Written bysmartguy123456790 October 7, 2018

TOTALLY NOT VIOLENT AND SUITABLE FOR MY 1 year old toddler

i think this game is great for young kids to follow in these peoples footsteps as their role models and teach them not to be violent, but kind in actions by punching and kicking people, great game for all ages even young children

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byjacobgamingeye0 July 4, 2015

violent game

this is a very violent and gory game. language is used ocassionaly. 11+=fine.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Adult Written byaidanl April 8, 2016

No sexuality!

Blood and gore is well, disgusting, and strong language isn't the best. But you can skip the interaction dialogues! The main part about it is that there is no sexuality. If it did it would say it in the box.

This title contains:

Ease of Play

Pages