Kid reviews for Persona 4 Golden

Common Sense says

Mature RPG with turn-based violence, sex, and profanity.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 3 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 13 reviews
Teen, 16 years old Written byCloudIsC00L723 December 8, 2012

CSM has done it again. This game doesn't deserve a "Not For Kids" rating.

To start off, this game is NOT very violent. While the storyline does involve around a series of murders in a small Japanese town, the murders themselves are not shown and while some of the bodies are shown (one hanging on a telephone wire), no blood or gore is shown. The turn-based fighting is frequent but never ever graphic. However, some persona can be pretty bizarre/dark in appearance. As for sexual themes, THERE IS NO SEX in the game other than some topless persona, some that look like male genitals, some implied/suggested nudity and flirting here and there. But honestly, it's nothing I haven't heard about in high school and believe me, your teen has probably seen/heard a lot more explicit sexual content already in movies. Heck, CSM gave the movie Taking Woodstock "iffy" for 15+ and it has graphic nudity and they also gave Monty Python's Flying Circus "iffy" for 13+ and it has topless female nudity (mostly illustrated). Flirting is also very common in a normal high school. As for language, while swearing is frequent, it's fairly mild for an M-rating and I've heard worse in high school (such as the occasional f-word) and sometimes my teachers use s--t. This game doesn't go beyond PG-13 levels of swearing so it's really nothing to worry about. There's really one thing iffy in the game I can point out and that is that there is a long scene in a club/restaurant where some of the teen characters appear to be drunk. While a couple characters were wondering if the drinks they were having were liquor, one character explains that alcohol hasn't been served at the club they're at for years and that they're probably just "drunk on the air". One (drunk) character also insists that she ordered soft drinks. The drunk characters later play "King's Game" (similar to a drinking game) but no alcohol is consumed. Overall, this game is great (if challenging) for older teens and up. I really hope the ESRB comes out with a "Teens 15+" rating just like they did with the "Everyone 10+" rating back in 2005 because several other reviewers for the original Persona 4 and I agree that this game doesn't deserve an M-rating. I can see reasons why the ESRB gave this game an M-rating but it's nothing compared to games like Nier, Dragon's Dogma, and Bioshock. One last note is that the Japanese ratings board rated this game "C" for 15+. I hope my review was helpful and have fun saving the town of Inaba!

This title contains:

Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bysaibhandari January 3, 2015

Great game, the CSM review is wrong!

Yes, this game has sexual themes at times, however it is never graphic in the portrayal and usually comes in the form of innuendo. There are issues involving sexual orientation (Kanji), assumed parental expectations (Yukiko), the loss of someone dear (Yosuke, Dojima and Nanako) and the commercialisation of sex in the media (Rise) amongst others. Drinking is rare but not absent. Anything in this game will be watered down animated versions of stuff in other M rated games. There is no blood in the combat and it is made very clear that you are fighting for a good cause. The game puts forward a very positive message of accepting yourself, good and bad parts, and not trying to hide who you truly are. As well as this it is encouraged in the game to form close bonds with those around you including your cousin, uncle and friends at school - showing how friendship can help in real life. It's not very easy to pick up in terms of gameplay and for those with short attention spans, this may not be the game for you. P4G is a really fun game (approximately 80 hours long) and whilst definitely not for younger kids, I can definitely see those in high school and above enjoying this to the maximum and taking positive lessons from it. It is very Japanese as well so if that's the type of thing your kids like then they will probably like this too :)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byThe game breakdown December 3, 2014

Amazing rpg has some adult themes

This is one of the greatest games I have ever played, and I think that many people should play this game, its social system is great and well developed and so are its battle system, story and characters, this game features absolutely no gore or blood, some mild profanity and some sexual themes, I can see why the game got an M rating, but it is a very mild M rating. If you can get your hands on this game, do it, you will not regret it.
Teen, 14 years old Written byKemada September 19, 2016

A touching story about a highschooler moving from the city to the country side of Japan

For the sake of time, I'll be talking about the things I have told other families to keep in mind. Persona 4 keeps their player entertained with characters who seek simply to "Find the Truth," "Never accept lies," and tells the player that the flaws of human nature is what makes them what they are today; they may fall, but they always pick themselves up. Though the Persona series are all about, "Normal high school teens involved in a crazy incident," the characters themselves are anything but. They all go through troubles, such as Yukiko Amagi's business running an inn, or Teddie's feelings about being what he is. Though some may not have much relations to these characters, the ones that do gain a lot from hearing their stories. The last thing I have mentioned, is the sexual content in this game. I, personally, have no problem with this, since I hear sexual things in my school, and somewhat sexual content in the shows I watch, but I do fear for the pure children. Though it is very small, the game sometimes shows off girls in swimsuits, but that's pretty much it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byDetailed Kid Reviews March 20, 2016

CSM has gone too far! This game should not be 18+.

Come on, CSM, you don't have to rate every M game 18+! I guess I have to tell you the truth and set things right. Let us start with the completely unreasonable 4/5 for violence. Persona 4: Golden has the violence of an E10+ game. If you don't want your kid to witness Final Fantasy-style turn-based battles, then this game is not for you. There is sometimes blood on the floors of the arenas you fight in, but it is not a big deal. I am giving violence a 2/5. The swearing is what you would find in a T-rated game. In other words, cursing is not a problem, getting a 3/5 from me. However, P4G does not shy away from sexual content. Some of the personas, which are creatures you fight with (think Pokemon) wear skimpy clothing. None of the personas are completely topless, something CSM failed to clarify. These scantily clad personas are more like art museum nudity, and not porn nudity. There is sexual banter among the investigation team (the batch of main characters) but this is PG13 stuff. The biggest issues with sex in P4G are in Mara, a persona with the appearance of a male genitalia riding a chariot, and a boss fight with a colorful pole-dancing persona (I'm not kidding) who dances in a manner that young children should not witness (she rocks the pole very well, though). This persona talks about "bearing it all" and other stuff like that. One of the characters is homosexual and talks suggestively to boys with words like "pussycat" in a bathhouse. Sex is the biggest issue in Persona 4: Golden and deserves the 4/5 that CSM gave it. Alcohol is also a 4/5 for the same reasons as in the CSM review. Characters are visibly drunk and slur their words. In conclusion, Persona 4: Golden is not an edgy game. In fact, in my 60 hour play through I racked my brain on why the game is M. P4G plays almost exactly like a T game, which explains why it got the equivalent of 13+ in Japan and the UK. I'm convinced that the CSM reviewer of video games is different to that of movie reviews, and shows bias to games with the M rating. As long as your child can handle alcohol and personas shaped like penises or dancing on poles, 12+ should be fine. What did you think? Did my review of Persona 4: Golden "help you decide", "have useful details", or "read your mind"? If so, please give each of the choices below a good clicking (not the flagging choice, of course). Goodbye and thank you for reading my review!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byDrummer1 December 9, 2015

Good game but it has some themes

There's a level where you have to explore a strip club and there's a part where your team gets drunk.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySaad1Khan November 20, 2014

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byESRB65 May 28, 2016

A Learning Experience For All

Okay I do People think Persona 4 is M Seriously????? I think If your 12+ You should be able to play it. Look at all the Youtube Gameplays of the Game and My Cousin has it he loves it. Might get a ps Vita for my son for his birth day this July. ESRB takes there Jobs a little bit TO seriously. Sorry If you people Disagree with Me. This game is A OK of 12+ if your any younger NOOOOO!!!!! To early
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlitz_Kid September 18, 2016

Good game

14+

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byclankfandom100 February 9, 2018

Yosuke Hanamura is best boy

I started playing Persona at of the age 13, it's a really good game and if you trust your kids to not swear because of this game, then I'll say go for it and buy this game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bySirmat September 13, 2017

No positive role models?

I don't understand why Role Models has been brought down so low. There is violence in this game, but it's no worse than any other RPG. In some sense, it's even better that others, as rather than hunting wildlife, the heroes fight Shadows (based on the Jungian archetype).* The only problem with this game I have is the serialization around the teenaged cast (hence my bumping this up from the ESRB's 15+ to a 16+). However, for the most part, this is shown as a negative, so it's overall okay. *(The only example of direct violence against a human person is portrayed as a bad choice, leading to one of the worst endings in the game)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Teen, 13 years old Written byStar Wars lover02 August 24, 2017

Awesome game but only for mature 12 and older

I played this many times but the first time I was 8. Yeah 8. Anyway, overall the worst part would be the strip joint scene but no nudity the girl only has on a bikini. The next worst part would be the gay sauna where the guy is only wearing a towel but again no nudity. The next worst part is the princess castle when the girl says she's going to (score herself a hot stud). Lol Overall great game if you like to play games with violence, partly sexual themes,humorous characters and cussing, then never say the f word though surprisingly.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bymicpap25 April 23, 2017

Nothing worse than what teens hear in school.

This game has been thrown into an M rating for the common, "it has innuendos so it must corrupt my children" philosophy. There is nothing worse than what kids hear in an eighth grade health class. Violence is minimal (most pg 13 movies have some blood), so that's no problem. There is swearing, but once again nothing a middle schooler hasn't heard. Alcohol is an existing problem. The main offender is the sexual content, and the reason I say 13 and up- don't give this to kids unless they are mature enough. My bottom line is, however, that most kids will have heard all this if not worse through the education system, and since I notice a growing majority of 7-year olds on M rated shooters, the upcoming generation won't have a problem ;)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking