All parent member reviews for Saints Row 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 23 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 16 year old Written bythebeastparent August 25, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

just get this version

just get the platinum hits version it has no sex mini game and sounds of people in the act and plus it has not as much violence.
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written byGood Parenting ... June 29, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not such a bad game after all

I personally think that this game is one of the best games you can play. Some other members say that the game has "Too much sexual content, use of drugs, or foul language." But that is mostly because they have had a negative outlook on this game from the start. All you have to do is tell your children that they should not be looking up to the characters in the game and that what they do is very bad and anyone who does this will go to prison for a very long time so you should not try to rein-act the events in the game. And if they have played rated "M" games before then it's not like it's anything they haven't been exposed to before. I am just saying this because i was in their position a few times as a child and i know what it's like.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byrandomjoeys June 16, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Its sad

This game is just one of the many games that feed the bad moral fires that bad parenting ensues. There are too many little kids that play these games. its sad...
Parent Written byKFChead123 December 3, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Iffy, but ok for 12+

I got my 12 year old son this game, and i was hesitant, but i turns out to be a fun open world game that ended up being an ok choice for my son
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Adult Written byEducater June 27, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Trust

It does not have sexual content It just have a few women walking around in a bikini Just like being at the pool and then it only kills people when you do it yourself you dont always have to do the missions you can just drive cars and dress your player up funny my 11 year old daughter has it and all she does is just drive cars and dress up her player sometimes you just have to trust your kids Im 39 and I only have one kid and I trust her shes not all that good but I trust her and it desnt have sex in it. All you have to do is turn the language and sexual and drug activity out with the filter. It doesnt even show drinking and drugs and all that stuff. So really it is actually a Rated T ( Teen ) Game which is not really bad and the best thing about it you can skip scenes also .I give this game a E.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bysaiyamtoblue11@... March 28, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It's really not that bad

i got it when it first came out yes you can kill inconet people but you don't have too. it is basicly about a group of people trying too clean up the city by making all the gangs go away for good
Parent Written byx124234 August 5, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
this game is not as bad as commonsense media makes it look. you only have to kill cops in the first level when you break out of prison. theirs almost no sex in this game. you can go into a building and have sex but its no worse than the sims 3 and other than that theirs just references. i watched my 14 year old kid play this and this is fine.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byBadrolemodelgame December 3, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Too much opportunity for violence.

This game is way to violent. I watched a 12 year old run around for hours running people over, shooting old people in the face, blowing oxygen tanks up that old men are walking with, and any other type of violent things you can think of. He put codes in to make people kill each other and to make bodies fall from the sky. It reminded me of a movie called Rampage. This movie is NOT suitable for anyone under 17-18, no exceptions.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byxboxlover86 June 17, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Like gta, but much less content

this game is a great solution to kids who want to play gta. This game, especially the greatest hits version has no nudity or graphic content, it does have quite alot of cussing though
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byOCC_Sean May 6, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Adults and mature later teens only

For me the dad: I love playing the game...It is an outlet and I know what is fake and what is real For my kids: Absolutely not.. I have told my son he can't even watch me play this game. I will let my son play COD and other shooters like that...But this and GTA are off limits at least until mid teens
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byOo XxX COD XxX oO April 8, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

GTA based game

I love this game... cant wait for SR3! Parents... your kids see much worse in movies so video games are not the option.
Adult Written bybigant March 13, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
portrays criminal behavior as normal Only appropriate for adults Lots of sex , drugs and prostitution + N-word and constant F bombing. Random violence on innocent people also if you know its a game and the no remorse is not the norm, its ok. no way for pre high school kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bybigdaddydawg742 January 25, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfect for 13 and up

I think this game is good and there is not much drugs in it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 7 year old Written byFinder July 31, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Cleaner than GTA

My son just turned 13 years old and for his birthday i got him this game. This game does have strippers and pole dancers in it, but there is no nudity at all. You can not get involved in sexual acts with the prostitutes on the street. The cussing in this game is nothing compared to GTA. You will mainly here your charactor cuss if he gets shot at. He or She uses frequent uses of f**k. The violence in this game is just as bad as the violence in GTA. I would rent this game first and watch your kids play it before you buy it. This is a very good game and i would recomend it to anyone 13 and over.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byKevin Quire November 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A Toned Down Version of GTA IV

This game is far less violent compared to Grand Theft Auto IV. Basically the entire game is like a toned down version of its counterpart. There is fare less swearing violence, nudity etc. I would recommend a teenager to play this over Grand Theft Auto any day.
Parent of a 12 year old Written byKids should be happy June 29, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Its over all a good game

We want our kids to be happy right? And they can still be happy without you losing sleep if you read this and understand. My oldest son is Twelve, he has the game,and he says that he likes it for being able to so many fun things in the game, not for the drugs and murder, and sex. I have played it and it's not bad compared to what goes on in the real world, most of the disgusting, vile, terrible things that go on in the real world are never even spoken of in this game. and the things that do, they probably have already been exposed to. And i know what you're thinking , it's that even if they have been exposed to it before why should they be exposed to it even more. Well you're answer is, they really shouldn't, but, they know that it is wrong, and i know that it rarely happens in the game. So I hope that I have changed your point of view because i put a lot of effort into making our children happy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byjoshua123awe July 12, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

saints row no

bad game for kids i would never let my kids play it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byemily4873 January 8, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

saint row 4 shafe for kids

it is good for parents kindd good for kids about 13 up is good
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 12 year old Written byHockey_Mom1245 January 31, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great for kids who can handle it

My son got this for christmas he is twelve and it hasent been affecting him in any way, most of the stuff he alrwady knows from school, friends ect anyways. It teaches him that all this stuff is BAD and the police will come after you for it. If your kid is dumb (yeah, some kids are stupid, deal with it) And will do what anyone tells them to do, This might not be the game for them. If your kid has an IQ of over 50 he might be able to put the peices together that whatever the player is doing in the game is illegel in real life, and you can only do that in a game. My son loves the game and loves me for buying it for him.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 13 year old Written bysoccer mom 43 August 17, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

The game is not as bad as people think

We are a christan family with a 13 year old son. I watch as my son played and there are pole dancers but they are fully clothed. This game is not as bad a people think it is.

Pages