Common Sense Media says

Over-the-top alien bloodfest for mature audiences.

Parents say

(out of 24 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Parent of a 11, 11, and 14 year old Written bycautiousmom777 August 27, 2013

Amazing first, second or third M game.

This is an absolutely UNDERRATED game, My 11 year old asked me to get this game around when it came out, This was his first M game so obviously I was very cautious about what he saw and played, we struck a deal and he was allowed to play with my moderation. I am going to cover my opinions on each subject and if it's okay for 10 and up children. Violence: First of all, the only thing's you'll really be fighting is aliens. They're blood is completely unrealistic and they use childish-like weapons such as "ray guns" and lasers. The player mainly uses unrealistic weaponry also such as "the dubstep gun" and several other weapons. It can get scary due to the aliens creepy faces, but that's about it, he is also a very powerful superhero and can use superpowers to defeat enemies. Sex The game is hardly sexual. If anything it's around the same sex in the "iron-man" movies, Not really much to put here, but if you have been through the birds and the bees with your kid's, this is nothing. Language The language is the only part that is "iffy" about the game, my son has played the entire thing, and I have only heard 1 f-word and an occasional b-word Drinking and drugs No alcohol in the game at ALL there is one side mission is where you deliver an alien drug to testers for it, but that's about it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Parent Written byDescartes1971 February 9, 2014

Hysterical - and WILDLY INAPPROPRIATE

My wife purchased Saints Row IV for my 14 year old after reading the reviews here. And having finished the game myself, all I can say is: what are you other parents thinking that this is appropriate for 13? The game is funny and mostly cartoonish, but has more sex, language and violence than the average Rated R movie these days. 1) The sexuality in this game is over the top. Short of any actual nudity or simulated sex, there is a lot going on here. The lead character openly asks for sex from his team (male, female, and robot - so be prepared for some switch hitting). There's also a small portion of the gameplay that occurs in a strip club, and lead character mid-mission decides to participate in amateur night while there. There are prostitutes that open solicit activity on the street, and there are XXX video stores on a couple of corners. Oh, and I would be remiss if I forgot to mention the enormous, floppy dildo-shaped baseball bat. 2) The language is as bad as any video game I have ever played. Just about every word you can think of, it's in here and in your face. And it's constant, not occasional. 3) The violence isn't actually all that bad, compared to some other games. There is a Mortal Kombat-style kill in one part of the game (i.e., yanking off your opponent's head with his spine). And there are a couple of kills which involve stomping your opponents head until it caves in. But it pales in comparison to some of the gorier games out there (like Gears of War). So the game is actually really fun and immersive, but parents: please don't let your kids snow you into thinking it's okay for them.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byMrpertt August 26, 2013

Nice job

Nice game that is great fun for hours and hours with little wrong technically and great graphics.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bysupergamerdady August 22, 2013

7 hours of hilarious and fun gameplay!

this is a hilarious game. to start it off you are the president who is also a super hero and you are fighting aliens. there are also great weapons such as the shark gun, the dub-step gun, and the various customizable weapons i would recommend this game to any teenager with a mature attitude. there are some sexual things but they are actually quite funny such as the dialog with your team mates which is a play on mass effect 3 where you can romance any one on your crew. i played through this game pretty quick and have to say its a terrible game if your looking for a challenge but, if you're looking to just have fun this game will entertain you for hours on end.
Parent Written bygingero October 29, 2014

Not for kids!

My 13 year old has been playing Saints Row 4 -- I knew it would be violent but the parents' ratings said OK for 13, and I'm fine with cartoonish violence now that he's nearly 14. We talk about the violence and I'm comfortable with his level of understanding of the difference between real violence and fake violence in a fantasy setting. But what I'm not comfortable with is violence combined with gratuitous nudity and sexuality that's clearly meant to titillate. Fine for adults, but not for kids. Grown-ups get the difference between pretend sexuality and real sexuality, but kids don't -- they (hopefully) don't have the real-world experience yet. I just happened to catch a scene while my son was playing, in which the main character, a nude and shapely woman, is seen from behind, stumbling along a dark passageway, falling against the walls. She bends over (to throw up?) and we zoom in on her butt for a few moments. Hmm. She staggers into a control room, where she is confronted by a beefy stormtrooper-type character, who whacks her in the face with a big gun, knocking her backwards to the floor. She then rolls around on the floor, and we zoom in on her cantaloupe-like breasts bouncing hither and thither. A bit of pixelation has fuzzed her nipples and butt crack, but basically what you have is a 13 year old watching an apparently injured and vulnerable fully naked women getting knocked down by a big burly guy. You might make the same argument my son made: but the violence is gender neutral! The same thing happens if the main character is a guy! Yes, but the game designers know that the audience is 99% male, and the woman character is made to be extra sexy with lots of opportunities to view her unnaturally curvy body up close as she is being assaulted by oversized male figures. Not a healthy message for a young teen.
Adult Written byGamerMedic July 11, 2015

Seriously other reviewers?

Who in their right mind thinks this game is okay for 12 or 13-year olds?! I was 18 and happened to be at home when I first picked this up, and it was probably my twentieth M-Rated game. My mom still came in the room and was pretty surprised at the sheer amount of swearing even though I'm an adult myself now. There's a mission where you get high with your friends and then go on a super-powered killing spree. If you buy the DLC "Enter the Dominatrix" has you beating leather-bound BDSM fetishes with giant purple dildos (and eventually riding on velociraptors, but that's not really inappropriate). There's also a weapon called "the rectifier" which is launched up the butt of your target and can make them explode with upgrades. Having sex with all of the main characters is treated humorously as well. (And is a partial shout-out/mockery of the romance systems in Mass Effect 2 and similar games, which would be lost on younger kids). Now I won't deny that this is a hilarious and insanely fun game, I can't count the number of times I actually had to pause and wipe the tears of laughter from my eyes, but between the giant wobbling breasts of the female characters, constant swearing, over the top silly violence, and pop culture references to movies and games younger kids might not even have seen or played it's really NOT for kids. But if you're about 17 or older it's great fun to smash things with super powers and see all the hilarious hijinks the Saints are up to in this wacky fourth installment of an awesome series.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byPakistanPEGI December 17, 2014

No one under 18

Should be rated AO. Strong language(A--hole,f--king,f--k,sh-t) Strong sexual content Intense violence use of drugs
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byHenry Tipman August 26, 2013

Action packed adventure!

This game is a fun filled action game which will keep you occupied with hours of gameplay which will have you fighting aliens to running the country. The only drawback that I can see in this game is some mild violence and language with some referencing to alcohol and smoking, But overall is a harmless fun game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byJames566 September 29, 2013

Very good game!

It is a very good game with hilarious moments and gameplay. Usually when parents see a game about "gangs" they immediately think of Grand theft auto. Believe me, its not near as bad as Gta. If the kid has played games like Call of Duty or even Far Cry 3 than they can definitely play this. Though it has a little bit of vulgar language that's probably ok if they've played "M" games before. If he is not used to this than you shouldn't buy him/her the game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 12 year old Written byAndrew Turner August 26, 2013

A good title

Saints Row 4 is another classic addition to the series but with a twist. Instead of being another cliche game about a gang this addition is set during the time of an alien invasion and you play as the president of America. The only downfall I would give to the title is the minor gore and the overdone cinematic scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byEllen Aged 11 August 20, 2015

Love this game

Fantastic game! great graphics! I JUST LOVE IT! I reckon this is the most make believe saints row ever it has superpowers and not as much swearing as Saints Row The Third and more make believe! I play this game all the time! There is a strip club but it his hidden and not that many people would want to go there (I think haha)
Parent Written byBattleVet75 October 5, 2013

Great fun for teens and sci-fi fans alike.

This game has some of the cleverest writing that i have ever seen in a game. The jokes are fresh and clever, and all of the homages and references to sci-fi movies helps with the clever humor. The game is also basically one big spoof to The Matrix and Independance Day( the alien attack on the whitehouse at the beginning is a hilarious example of this). The violence in this game is fairly strong. You can kill pedestrians in the game, but it is in a simulation, so they are not real. The villain, Zinyak, destroys Earth, killing the whole human race. The enemies that you fight are aliens, and they pool red blood and have bloody bullet holes when killed( the red blood really resembles human blood). There are options to have sex with your crew members on your spaceship, but nothing is shown. The language is very strong, with tons of uses of every cuss word possible. The game has a very over-the-top and funny story. There is also an online co-op mode which allows you and a friend to play online. And fighting aliens with another super powered friend is a good time. The only downside is that the map is recycled from the third game. Overall, this is a hilariously good game for 15 year olds and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 11 and 15 year old Written bymark_hill_22 December 11, 2013

my review

When my son showed this to me at gamestop, i immediately made him put it back, but the people at the desk told us about this site. it was mainly just the sexual content and partial nudity that was iffy but he explained that the partial nudity was the option to remove all your clothing but with "explicit parts" censored and that the sexual content is just some mild references and some innuendo, which you can only see moving under the blanket and giggling. one of my highschool friends had this game and let me try it out, and the only major concern was the frequent language, although not always extreme. there is one scene where one of the aliens is reading a "adult" magazine and snickering to himself, but only the cover is shown, which just has a young woman in a bikini. honestly, he's 12 years old, i think a lot of people forget how mature their children are and don't open their eyes and relise that they are almost adults. the reviews submitted by commonsensemedia are extremely exaggerated and most people don't relise is that it is written and can be updated by any member and any overly strict parent can submit an overly exagerrated review. i would listen to a teen who just makes it sound like my little pony rather than this sites "common sense". HOPE MY REVIEW HELPED!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byDoomzdayishere October 5, 2013

Give Pause

The game is series of quests that are simulations. So all of the outlandish behavior is set in a different context. I doubt the developers intended it this way. There are aliens, which are depicted in a humorous manner. They are dealt with in fictional method with earned given comic book type powers to defeat.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byDuck-Face August 26, 2014
Parent of a 12 year old Written byRonWilliams October 14, 2013

Not That Bad!

This game is amazing and not bad at all for children. Yes you can romance anyone on your crew(sex), but it doesn't show ANYTHING there isn't even a scene. The screen will just go black. As for the violence you're fighting aliens with laser guns. I don't think that's a problem. If you have a problem with the sex then you just have to trust your kids. And I really doubt your kid wants this to have sex anyway. All in all, its a good game and a lot of fun.
Adult Written byTDSplays January 2, 2016

Saints Row IV

Saints Row IV is a fun game directed at adults but can be played by teens. It's a hilarious game with unrealistic events (alien invasion) but that doesn't stop the fun. It doesn't take itself very seriously, and instead of being a gang leader (like the past 3 games), you're (A) the President of the United States, (B) a superhero with powers, and (C) the target of an alien invasion! Now let's get to the content. VIOLENCE: There's not much here. It's no as gory as the past games and the only real gore is when (SPOILER) you kill the main villan by ripping his head off with the spine still attached! SEX: Like the Mass Effect games, the sex scenes are off camera, and when on camera, very, very, very obscured. Kissing is common and there's a lot of sexual imagery (there's a baseball bat that looks like a penis). LANGUAGE: There's a lot of language in this game. F--k, S--t, Damn, Hell, B---h, Ass, etc. DRUGS: There's a mission where you test an alien drug that boosts your superpowers, but there's nothing else. POSITIVE MESSAGES/ROLE MODELS: None. None at all. EASE OF PLAY: The game is fairly easy to play, but some of the controls are wonky. Well, thanks for reading my review and stay tuned for more!
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byETG Games January 16, 2016

Perfect Game For Mature Kids

This game is a very good game, you only have to do the first mission which is not very violent to get into the game, then your kid can freeroam without having sex and killing people. If your looking for a GTA that is good for 12+ this is it... Does have a lot of swearing though
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much swearing
Adult Written byPug2015 July 10, 2015

I have not got the game yet but I'm thinking about it

Parents don't be afraid to get your kid this game it's not that bad I know I'm a kid but still it's not that bad sex isn't a big factor violenc there is human and alien enemies some blood and gore yes strong language but that's no big deal I will get the game soon and try it out do some research on YouTube its a perfect m game
Parent Written bySuperKameGuru May 15, 2015

Fun game, great for kids, played with my toddler, who thought it was hilarious. Double thumbs up!

Play this with your kids, your kid's kid, or your great-grandchildren.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use

Pages